We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food”
Review of The Glen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Glen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

spent 1 night at this hotel, the staff was really friendly and the room was also very comfortable
had dinner here too and i highly recommend their dinner service
breakfast was very nice too
for those visiting Newtonmore, don't miss the Wild Cat trail...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

We ate at the Glen twice and also attended their quiz night. Loved everything we ate especially the Arbroath Smoky Fishcakes and the Black Pudding starters. The children's menu was great just smaller versions of the adult meals and not the usual nuggets and fish fingers. The staff were brilliant, really friendly and courteous. Couldn't fault anything at all.
Go go Castleford Tigers!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had dinner here and were well impressed with the amount of choice on the menu. The lamb shank was delicious and the fajitas were very nice too. Prices were reasonable. The staff were extremely friendly. I would definitely recommend it- great choice and good, decent priced food,

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank champkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

A pleasant friendly pub, with a good range of drinks. Had a great time there at Hogmanay! They have quiz nights fairly often which were good fun. The staff are friendly and chatty. A more traditional pub in Newtonmore than Braeriach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Pleasant service, good communication and comfortable room for the price. Food overall not such good value but convenient. Good location and lively bar with decent beers. Room heating not easily adjustible.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Recently stayed over a Friday & Saturday night, found it to be good value with their set B&B rates and was very impressed with the hotels evening menu and the quality of food on offer. We chose this hotel to be based near Cairngorms for snow sports but was pleasantly surprised that the Nevis Range is located only about an hours drive away from the hotel. To sum up our stay, really good base camp for a sporting weekend away and provided a great sleep and good food!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Screenname109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The room was basic, clean and warm. Shower antiquated a hose attached to two taps. When we enquired about food we were advised there was a big birthday party on and we should therefore book between 6 or 7 or after 8.30pm. Not sure why the demand for food was high as the quality was poor and the service was disjointed. People were courteous enough but would give this a miss in future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goldfinch1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Badenochtraveller, Owner at The Glen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

We are so sorry that this reviewer did not find everything to their satisfaction. We strive to provide a comfortable nights sleep for all our guests. Our beds (King in this room) are the same as used by the Gleneagles hotel and, yes, whist the shower is over a bath it is fully functioning and provides plenty of hot water. The room also boasts a 32" flat screen TV with 12 channels and complimentary tea/coffee/hot chocolate. The room is due for refurbishment in the Spring. All things are however relative and the guest only paid £ 55.00 for this room including breakfast for two people! A deluxe room was available for a small supplement but the guest obviously did not wish to take this option. On the night the reviewer stayed with us ( a Saturday) we fed just short of 100 people including a large birthday party for local regular customers and judging by the comments from dinner guests (and the amount of gratuities) everyone had an enjoyable evening and thoroughly enjoyed their food. We only wish that the guest had chosen to discuss their issues with us at the time when we might have had the opportunity to rectify or mitigate the problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.4 mi away
Balavil Hotel
Balavil Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newtonmore
253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
683 reviews
3.3 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kingussie
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingussie
488 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,316 reviews
19.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glen Hotel

Address: Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range: £64 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant Edwardian Hotel is located at the heart of the Scottish Highlands, the magnificent setting for the popular BBC series, 'Monarch of the Glen' which was filmed only a few miles away. Quite apart from the breathtaking scenery, lovers of outdoor pursuits are spoiled for choice the Monadhliath & Cairngorm Mountain Ranges lie nearby golfers can enjoy the diverse challenges at Newtonmore, Kingussie, Grantown-on-Spey & Boat of Garten and opportunities for walking, cycling, fishing and other activities are just too numerous to mention.All rooms offer satellite TV with 12 channels, tea/coffee making & are non-smoking. BT Sports is available in the games room downstairs.The Glen Hotel is a family run hotel which benefits from a high level of repeat business from both the tourist and commercial sectors.Our informal dining is 'good honest pub grub' and is widely accepted as being good value for money. In addition, we are one of the few establishments in Scotland to hold the prestigious 'Eat Safe' Award - your guarantee of safely prepared food served in an efficient manner.We have featured in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide for the past 9 years and we have been voted CAMRA 'Regional Pub of The Year' 5 times in the past 9 years.And you won't loose sleep either! Our beds have been replaced recently with those similar to what you would expect to find in a 4 or 5 star hotel and are complimented by luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets and superior quality duvets.If you want out door activities the we can help! Given a little notice then we can assist with organizing golf, shooting, fishing, mountain biking, riding and much, much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Glen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Hotel Newtonmore
The Glen Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing