We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round good experience”
Review of The Glen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Glen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Having stopped for lunch a couple of times over the years we thought we would try an overnight stay.
Biggest bed Ive ever seen.Hotel warm in all rooms including breakfast room, and we were the only guests that night.
Meals are always good here and for a small Hotel/Bar there is a huge choice.
Well worth a stopover, even if you dont stay.
These old Highland Hotels can be very hard to run(often cold and bland) but the owners here have done a good job, and are still upgrading.
Thanks for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr-TaxTax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2010

I stayed with my partner at the beginning of October, we checked in for our 3 night stay at 2pm and were immediately shown to a lovely room with the biggest bed I have ever slept in!!!

The food was fab, we had a bar meal that night and it was brilliant, you must try the "Belly Buster" dessert (share, do not attempt on own!)

My poor boyfriend got ill for the rest of the stay, and the staff were fab offering to get food atken to the room for him, iced water on tap and a sympathetic ear in the morning at breakfast........BREAKFAST, it was excellent!

My only tiny criticism was my shower in the room, it was a wee bit tricky to work and get the balance of hot/cold water, I got a scalding on my last morning. But really not a huge issue as I have stayed in hotels that have had no hot water before and the bathroom was immaculate!

I would definitely recommend a stay at The Glen, it was relaxing, fun and fab food, service and the nicest staff ever!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahMcNiven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We turned up at the Glen after 8pm on Sunday, having driven through the rain from the wilds of the Ardgour peninsula. We had not booked and the bar was very busy, but we were immediately shown to a table. The service was far speedier than I had anticipated, given how many people were dining, and the food was excellent. I had liver and onions, which is not easy to cook to perfection, but they had acheived this and it was absolutely delicious, as were the vegetables. My husband had chicken and leek pie, followed by a fabulous sticky toffee pudding (and he is a conisseur...).

The staff were all extremely efficient and friendly, and the bar is clearly a very popular choice for supper. We left restored, and I would certainly recommend the bar meals highly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sconeseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

This was my first stay at The Glen Hotel, Newtonmore and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

The owners go the extra mile to ensure that you have a memorable stay, a lot of other hoteliers could learn a lot about putting the customer first from a stay at this hotel.

Food was to die for, live entertainment was really good.

The best night sleep that I have ever experienced in a hotel. The expensive beds were imported especially to ensure of the best sleep you could wish for.

All in all a fantastic stay and I will definately be back. That's a promise.

Thank you to Chris for a wonderful experience. It was a birthday weekend to remember.

Catherine

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rin32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We stayed here one night whilst travelling south. It is a handy diversion from the main A9 but in a quiet location on the edge of the town. Our room was a bit small but had all you could need in it, including two small armchairs. As previously mentioned some of the stair and hall carpets could do with replacing but our room was immaculate. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, giving us good directions for a pre dinner riverside walk. Excellent kippers for breakfast

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BadenochHighlands, Owner at The Glen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2010

Thank you for taking time to place a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Glen.
We have noted your comments and can confirm that the carpets in the hallways and staircase are about to be replaced once we have competed the refurbishment of two of the bedrooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Glen in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

A group of 21 birdwatchers stayed at the Glen Hotel.
The food and service was excellent and the rooms recently re-furbished to a very high standard.
We needed some medical help during the stay and they came to our rescue with no problem at all.
It's always a worry organising accommodation for large parties but I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel in fact I am already planning for 2011.
Thanks Ken Reeves. www.burbagebirders.co.uk

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burbagebirders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We stayed for 2 nights bed and breakfast at The Glen Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, it did help that the temperature outside was 24 degrees! The owner was friendly but not intrusive when we arrived and we were left to our own devices which we really liked. The bedroom we were in was immaculate, I couldnt find fault with anything, my husband thought the TV was too high and I suppose it was a bit near the roof and awkward to watch if you like to watch TV in bed but that is really picking faults as everything else was perfect. The bed was huge and really comfy, the decor was lovely and furniture of a high standard. Our room was cleaned and towels changed and tea coffee etc refilled and mugs were replaced for clean ones not just wiped as you often get in hotels! Ladies you dont need to pack a hairdryer, shower gel or handwash as this is all supplied. Thick, brilliant white towels and face-cloths were supplied and smelled lovely and fresh. We found all the staff to be very friendly, the cleaner, bar staff, waitress etc all were really friendly. We had a meal on the first night which was lovely, the chef makes the best coleslaw ever! On the second night because it was so warm we found a chip shop in Kingussie and sat on a travel rug beside Ruthven Castle/ barracks (I think it was) and noted the temperature was 22 degress and that was at 9pm! On return a chap called Capone was singing and playing guitar, he sounded great but we sat outside on the picnic tables and listened as inside was packed. Locals were charming and other guests very friendly, we were saying on the way home we have never been to a hotel where everyone is so nice, it was really realxing. Perhaps the outside could be spruced up a bit, the flag poles need a paint and nice flowers in the tubs would be more welcoming, but that would be the only negative thing to say about the place. Have to mention the waitress, who worked split shifts as we saw her morning and night and was always pleasant and friendly, even though at breakfast one morning she had to attend to a family of 6 who had her running back and forth to the kitchen with various requests! She had lots of patience and we hope she gets a pay rise! We have already recommended this hotel to friends and family and will definetly be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaW72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BadenochHighlands, Owner at The Glen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2010

Many thanks for taking time to post your review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Glen Hotel again in the future.
You will be pleased to know that we are already painting the flagpoles - we have been waiting for some good weather! and that planting of the pots and hanging baskets will be completed within 14 days.
Many thanks
Chris Goodhill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.7 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
695 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balavil Hotel
Balavil Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newtonmore
261 reviews
2.9 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingussie
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kingussie
355 reviews
14 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
827 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glen Hotel

Address: Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range: £58 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant Edwardian Hotel is located at the heart of the Scottish Highlands, the magnificent setting for the popular BBC series, 'Monarch of the Glen' which was filmed only a few miles away. Quite apart from the breathtaking scenery, lovers of outdoor pursuits are spoiled for choice the Monadhliath & Cairngorm Mountain Ranges lie nearby golfers can enjoy the diverse challenges at Newtonmore, Kingussie, Grantown-on-Spey & Boat of Garten and opportunities for walking, cycling, fishing and other activities are just too numerous to mention.All rooms offer satellite TV with 12 channels, tea/coffee making & are non-smoking. BT Sports is available in the games room downstairs.The Glen Hotel is a family run hotel which benefits from a high level of repeat business from both the tourist and commercial sectors.Our informal dining is 'good honest pub grub' and is widely accepted as being good value for money. In addition, we are one of the few establishments in Scotland to hold the prestigious 'Eat Safe' Award - your guarantee of safely prepared food served in an efficient manner.We have featured in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide for the past 9 years and we have been voted CAMRA 'Regional Pub of The Year' 5 times in the past 9 years.And you won't loose sleep either! Our beds have been replaced recently with those similar to what you would expect to find in a 4 or 5 star hotel and are complimented by luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets and superior quality duvets.If you want out door activities the we can help! Given a little notice then we can assist with organizing golf, shooting, fishing, mountain biking, riding and much, much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Glen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Hotel Newtonmore
The Glen Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing