We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill break at Cedar Cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newtonmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highland Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Had a lovely family October-holiday break at Cedar Cottage. Beautiful setting, well equipped cottage. Owners very helpful. Cameron welcomed us as we were emptying car and allowed us keep their PS2 for the week - handy to have for kids when inside because of weather or not on daytrips! Owners very obliging when we were silly enough to leave our laptop cable behind. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crubenbeg, Owner at Highland Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear Cathel,

Thank you for taking the time to review Highland Holiday Cottages it was also greate to have you here for Octorber holidays.

We are glad to hear that, you and your family have had a great time over here and you could enjoy your holiday brake.

Hoping to see you back to the Crrubenbeg in a not too distant future.
Crubenbeg team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2012

loved the cottage ,it was clean,spacious,and well furnished.we found the owners helpful and friendly but unintrusive.went fishing in the lochan nice trout but not easy to catch.we will return when we get a chance and would recommend it to anyone

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Stayed for a week...was hoping for rain and wind, got showers and sunshine, lovely place to stay, will be coming back with the kids...and car....pine cottage was perfect for me and the husband, kitchen was very well equipped (husband impressed as he's a chef) Cameron was very helpful and available when needed (thanks for the lift ) . The location is perfect if your looking for peace and quite with beautiful surroundings. Mountain bikes are available (free) which we took full advantage of...also the games room....lol....pool table was a great laugh....cues need to be better...but anyone visiting will love this place. Look forward to visiting again.

By the way....brown trout....? Are you sure?

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoenix1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crubenbeg, Owner at Highland Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Hi there,

Thank You very much for your review we much appreciate your time.

It is great to hear that you had a great laugh in our games room, just wanted to let you know, we have change almost everything in it, we have new football table in and the brand new pool table is on this way also!

So next time when you come it is going to be here!
Looking forward to hear from you in a not too distant future!

Best regards,
Your Crubenbeg team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Stayed here with my partner in September 2010 & have been eager to return ever since. We stated in the pine cottage. Setting was stunning. Cottage was lovely, didn't want to leave! Didn't get a cottage with wood burning stove as they were booked up already but gas fire had same effect. Can't wait to return again but this time with baby as well as dog :) can't recommend highly enough, perfect Scottish getaway :) Eco touches are lovely too.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenNicol82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed for a week in February 2012. At first we were unimpressed with the cold welcome we got both in temperature of the cottage and from the owners. The cottage had a very inefficient wood burner, but it wasn't on when we arrived nor were the electric heaters!! The cottage took a long time to warm up, and although appeared clean, a little attention to detail wouldn't have gone a miss. Dust on the lampshades etc... The kitchen again, very poorly equipped, and a very irritating kettle - there is being energy efficient and there is pure ridiculous!! You had to pay if you wanted more logs for the fire!!! - and for the electric we used! - surely a regular supply of logs would make us feel more welcome? Oh, and we come from a very rural area of Wales and source our own firewood to heat our own home - we're not townies, in case anyone thought different. Next time we visit the highlands, we will be bringing young children, and have decided that although Crubenbeg is a lovely location, its not ideal for families! It would cost us a fortune in logs and electric!

Oh and a tip for any travellers to this part of the highlands, AVOID the Star Inn in Kingussie!! It's awful!!!!!

The best service and value for money eatery we found was the italian on the roundabout in Aviemore where you could have a 3 course meal for £12 a head! and of course the Ski and Doo in Aviemore too is a great place for a pint and to taste a wee dram :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 856mountainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crubenbeg, Owner at Highland Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Dear Guest, we are sorry the welcome was rather cold. It would have been good to have had your comments 8 months ago when you stayed. We have now removed all the Eco kettles from the cottages because of the problems you mentioned and replaced with tradional kettles. We do also, in the winter; aim put the heating on before guests arrive, but this cannot always be achieved, so sorry. We can only apologies about dust on the lamp shade, we do endvour to have the cottages pristine clean, but it seems we over look this item.

We originally offered everlasting free logs to our guest, however it was abused. We now supply one large basket of logs, kindling, matches and fire lighters for free and then additional baskets of logs at a below cost price (£5). This is clearly detailed in the T&Cs and booking letter.

We want all our guest to have an enjoyable time when staying at Crubenbeg, so we would like to offer you a %25 discount on any future stay at Crubenbeg and we will throw in free logs for the duration of your stay.

Just give me a call and we can see if we can book you in.

Kind Regards

Cameron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Pine Cottage was ideal for my husband myself and our cocker spaniel. A very comfortable cottage well equipped and we did enjoy the living flame gas fire.My husband found the shower good as he has problems getting in and out of a bath.Cameron was very helpful without being in anyway intruisive.
We will be back and recommending it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Had a lovely couple of nights with friends staying in Hazel cottage. Accomodation is excellent with everything you need provided for. Sian and Cameron on hand if you need anything. The setting is idyllic, if you like walking there are loads of places to go locally & if you are more adventurous then Aviemore is just up the road. or you can just relax & enjoy the peace & quiet. Just off the A9 so easy to find. Suited to groups of friends, couples & familys with a games room & play area. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Liz

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
18.1 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
308 reviews
23.5 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kingussie
349 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,235 reviews
4.9 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Holiday Cottages

Address: Crubenbeg | Cairngorms National Park, Newtonmore PH20 1BE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Newtonmore
Price Range: £300 - £510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering accommodation Aviemore, top quality, family-run self catering accommodation near Aviemore. For luxury holiday cottages, Highland Holiday Cottages is Number 1 in Aviemore and the Cairngorms. Here at Highland Holiday Cottages near Aviemore in the Cairngorms National Park in Scotland, we offer amazing 4-star luxury holiday cottages. We are only twenty minutes drive to Aviemore. We have all the holiday cottage luxuries that you would expect on your holiday in the Highlands. We are pet friendly, self catering accommodation located in the Cairngorms National Park, in the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highland Holiday Cottages Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing