We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Fantastic Week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Just back from another stay, this time in Hazel cottage. Two adults, two lively boys and our labrador. Perfect week. The cottage was clean, spacious and well equipped. Sian, Cameron and Dagne were very welcoming and helpful. Lots of walks, recommend Laggan beach and Cairngorm Mountain. Weather was good, RY Brittannia definitely worth a visit if you want a day out to Edinburgh. Just about to book again for next year, can't wait.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

We have stayed at Crubenbeg twice and have had a wonderful time each visit. The cottages are comfortable and well equipped. The location is ideal as you feel you are miles away from anywhere but you know you can quickly drive to the activities in Newtonmore and Aviemore - and are really close to the Highland Folk Museum which is brilliant for children. You can't beat hot chocolate infront of a log fire!
Will be back again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Excellent cottage setting just off the A9. Very comfortable, well appointed and everything you'd hope from a home away from home in the Highlands. Location is excellent too, so much is easily accessible so it's great for walkers, skiers and family trips, especially with so much to keep the wee ones occupied.

Room Tip: If going when cold, select a smaller cottage as they're easier to get and keep warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Great facilities for kids, very well maintained and clean. bright airy cottage with well equipped kitchen - well thought through. Peaceful surroundings but possibly a bit remote for some. wifi temperamental but otherwise very little to improve. Would definitely go back.
Thank-you!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianC380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Excellent accommodaton, and very friendly people. just off the A9 was very easy to find. some great walks and not that far from the local village. would stay again.

Top tip, don't go the Happy Haggis, the food is very poor quality, cold, and small portions

Room Tip: from what i could see they are all good, but could ask for one overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stayed 3 nights in Elm Cottage over Easter weekend. It was an amazing stay. The cottage feels like it is in the middle of nowhere but is just a short drive from the A9. The whole place is immaculate (cottage, outside areas and excellent games room). The people on site were friendly and informative and left us to our own devices after explaining how everything worked and how to find them if we needed anything. Short drive to Aviemore, the Highland Wildlife Park, Landmark and many other fun places. Our dog was welcome too, which made it even better. That said, there was no hint of that "doggy" smell you sometimes find in dog friendly accommodation - surely a sign of high quality cleaning and maintenance. We will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinjaPup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

The perfect location to escape from everything! We would happily come stay every year (or more! In fact we do). The landlord is very friendly and helpful, and lent us items such as fishing rods and advised us on places to eat. If you are renting a car, there is a cheap dealer in the nearby town of Kingussie called Westend Garages who are also very welcoming. The scenery around Crubenbeg is spectacular with many lovely walks up mountains and by lakes, and the cottage we stay in is so comfy, with wood burners and sofas to cuddle up on! If you come in the summer, there is a lovely garden for children with swings, a Wendy house, places for BBQ with brilliant view at the foot of a mountain. I would strongly recommend visiting here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crubenbeg, Owner at Highland Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Dear Derryn,

Thank You for Your time givng us Your review.

We are always happy to see our returning guests, to encourage them we always want to give something that they can be happy of! Our guests are like our families and the nice welcoming is the most important thing in every business and relationship!

We are looking forward to see You and Your partner this year! I can see that you have got some very nice pictures from the time you have been here, we would be very happy if you would share them on our facebook by adding Crubenbeg Highland Holiday cottages as a place where picture have been taken!

Best regards,
Your Crubenbeg team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newtonmore hotels
4.9 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
687 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
315 reviews
4 mi away
Dower House Newtonmore
Dower House Newtonmore
#6 of 13 in Newtonmore
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Tigh an Each
Tigh an Each
#7 of 13 in Newtonmore
22 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
#3 of 13 in Newtonmore
268 reviews
4.3 mi away
Eagle View Guest House
Eagle View Guest House
#5 of 13 in Newtonmore
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Holiday Cottages

Address: Crubenbeg | Cairngorms National Park, Newtonmore PH20 1BE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Newtonmore
Price Range: £300 - £510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering accommodation Aviemore, top quality, family-run self catering accommodation near Aviemore. For luxury holiday cottages, Highland Holiday Cottages is Number 1 in Aviemore and the Cairngorms. Here at Highland Holiday Cottages near Aviemore in the Cairngorms National Park in Scotland, we offer amazing 4-star luxury holiday cottages. We are only twenty minutes drive to Aviemore. We have all the holiday cottage luxuries that you would expect on your holiday in the Highlands. We are pet friendly, self catering accommodation located in the Cairngorms National Park, in the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highland Holiday Cottages Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing