We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning scenery!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newtonmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highland Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Couldn't fault the welcome and accommodation. Stayed in Ash- lovely, warm and clean with a great view from the living room. Really easy to find and surrounded by stunning scenery. Loads of things to do around and about, would definitely return!

Tom & Andrew

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

Recently back from a few days at Crubenbeg (Larch Cottage). We took our cocker spaniel and we all had a great time walking in the hills and forests, in and out of lochs, streams, water-falls and muddy "bogs" - well that was the dog, not us. Larch cottage is a lovey cosy cottage for 2 and a great wood burning fire, and fantastically comfy massive bed. Great location, and would thoroughly recommend the destination. If travelling from the South, the House of Bruar is a must visit. Thanks to all concerned for a great stay. KJ, Steven and Finn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiRSTEN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed in Larch which is a one bedroom cottage, although there was plenty space for the two of us and our baby daughter. We only were able to stay for a long weekend, although would have loved to stay longer - the place is amazingly relaxing, and of course on the doorstep to some fantastic scenery with loads to do on the doorstep.

Would love to come back, especially in the winter - the cottages have wood burners so will be cosy when it's cold outside!

Would highly recommend Crubenbeg to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duncthejag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had a stay here last summer. Our cottage was very large for just two. A very spacious bedroom, a bathroom with shower and bath, a fully equipped kitchen with all the comforts of home (even more) and a sitting room with a good table even for boardgames. The only thing we missed was a place to sit outside. If we visit this area again this is definitely our place to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobWendy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crubenbeg, Manager at Highland Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Rob & Wendy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are happy to hear that you have had a lovely time up here.
Unfortunately Larch & Pine cottages are the only cottages that do not have a patio or a private garden. When you come next time we will try to give you Ash, Birch or Cedar cottages, these cottages share a large garden and each have an outside table to sit and enjoy a lovely day. I bet you have seen that already!

Also there is a swing seat into the large garden and a bench that overlooks the pond and we are still thinking of some improvements in this case.

Looking forward to see you next time!

Your Crubenbeg team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

2nd visit stayed for 1 week in August. Great weather, my 6 year old daughter caught he first trout on the small lake in the back garden. The Accomidation was exceptional yet again, everyone very friendly, only issue, it went to quick. Clean and ample rooms with great facilities on site and locally. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed in Hazel Cottage in july and had a wonderful time and wonderful weather. As soon as we walked in it felt like a home from home. Good quality beds, linen and towels were provided and we especially liked all the little touches, like books, games and dvds. The cottages are dog friendly but you would never know as they are really clean. We spent most of our time in the garden which was lovely and peaceful.
The electric is paid using an honesty box and there were a selection of pre-charged cards in the cottage for different amounts. Very simple.
Although in a rural location the cottages were well signposted and easy to find. Just 5 minutes along the road to Newtonmore where you can find a supermarket, petrol station and pubs offering evening meals. Just 20 minutes up the road and you're in Aviemore.
I know they are updating the cottages, freshening up the kitchens and bathrooms etc and that was the only "down-side" to our holiday. We stayed in Hazel before the dishwasher was fitted so I was left with all the dishes!!!
We thoroughly enjoyed our week and can't wait to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blossom_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here in May 2010, in Hazel cottage. A very beautiful, warm and cosy cottage with a real good homely feel to it.
Kids loved the bedroom upstairs, we slept in the master bedroom downstairs which had a lovely big bed and a en-suite with bath.
Everything spotlessly clean, the kitchen was 'bijoux', but had everything we needed.
We had our own little terrace, which we couldn't use in May (snow, rain, sun, ... every season in 1 day).
Would highly recommend this cottage.
Kids loved the 2 ghosts that live here ... though our youngest was a bit scared after me reading him the ghost-story, he still remembers after 3 years :)

Room Tip: Hazel cottage is perfect for families with 2-4 children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nessie3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newtonmore hotels
4.9 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
686 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
313 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
#2 of 13 in Newtonmore
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Tigh an Each
Tigh an Each
#7 of 13 in Newtonmore
22 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dower House Newtonmore
Dower House Newtonmore
#6 of 13 in Newtonmore
25 reviews
4.3 mi away
Eagle View Guest House
Eagle View Guest House
#5 of 13 in Newtonmore
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Holiday Cottages

Address: Crubenbeg | Cairngorms National Park, Newtonmore PH20 1BE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Newtonmore
Price Range: £300 - £510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering accommodation Aviemore, top quality, family-run self catering accommodation near Aviemore. For luxury holiday cottages, Highland Holiday Cottages is Number 1 in Aviemore and the Cairngorms. Here at Highland Holiday Cottages near Aviemore in the Cairngorms National Park in Scotland, we offer amazing 4-star luxury holiday cottages. We are only twenty minutes drive to Aviemore. We have all the holiday cottage luxuries that you would expect on your holiday in the Highlands. We are pet friendly, self catering accommodation located in the Cairngorms National Park, in the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highland Holiday Cottages Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing