We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay, couldn't wish for better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Silver End, Witham, Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, couldn't wish for better.”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had our fourth stay at Crubenbeg May 2014 and brought my parents for their first visit. Hazel cottage was superb as always. Big enough for our family with two boys and my parents to have our own space. Fran was very helpful and Sian is always so welcoming. We were lucky with the weather and had great fun watching the deer everyday outside our back door. Beautiful walks to the falls of Truim and the local mountains with our dog. Shame we had to come home but we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    41
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
144
149
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our cosy cottage "Larch" was both perfect for starting activities just in front of the door and for exploring the Highlands to every Point of the compass. We loved being very private but within easy reach for help or Information whenever it would be neccessary, due to the wonderful hosts. We will surely come back again and we can recommend this accomodation for couples, groups of friends, families or Singles. Our cottage "Larch" provided everything you can think of, and the beautiful furnishing makes it all complete.
Thank you Sian and Cameron for this wonderful stay!
Brigitte & Marcus from Germany

Room Tip: As far as we can see you cannot do anything wrong at Crubenbeg's - just choose a cottage with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Simply stunning!!
Fantastic setting, high standard and great value.
A perfect base for exploring the highlands and plenty to keep you occupied locally.
Great for cycling, walking, fishing (very well stocked lochan on site)
Highly recommended, wish our stay was longer, see you next year Cameron & Sian.
We are making this an annual holiday...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackenzie2495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Joined,y daughter, husband and her family on their usual half term holiday to Grubenbeg holiday cottages. It was everything I had been told about and more. Loved the accommodation, loved the area and had a wonderful week visiting Cairngorm mountain, loch Morlaich, Highland Folk Museam, Laggan Loch which by luck the house ws also open to the public. Early morning dog wLk always seeing the deer, ducks on the trout pond and troit fishing on the pond at back of cottage. Also son in law climbed mountained behind cottage with dog which was a first for him.
Weather was food, some showers but nothing to prevent activities and Friday was glorious and we got burnt. Sian was lovely and very helpful, would definitely visit agaim

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fannynorthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had the pleasure to share the Hazel house for three nights with friends. We was on a trip to discover the highlands and the location of the house was perfect to go East, North and West. Moreover the house was perfect we liked the lighting a fired, playing games in the warm living room and enjoying the garden with the little tarn and the funny ducks.

I recommend for family or friendship trips !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My partner and i had a lovely time. We spent Early May Bank Holiday (Fri-Mon) and we had the easiest drive on a friday afternoon up there from Manchester. Log burning Fire, fully equipped, self contained cottage with everything you might need. Electricity is extra so dont forget to enquire on arrival. We loved the fact we didnt have to meet and greet, not that we are anti social, we just really wanted a no fuss break and as it was late when we arrived we just wanted to hit the sack. There is loads of information available ie tours, maps, car/bike/quad/boat hire, restaurant recommendations etc etc.. We have decided this is our little home from home. Had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the birch cottage. Lovely, log burning fire and stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crubenbeg, Manager at Highland Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just spent another wee break in Ash last weekend - brilliant as usual! As soon as we see the cottages, we start to relax, that includes the dog! Great value for money, great views, easy reach to walks, skiing, eating-out, great for chilling-out inside too!
Back for a week in July, canny wait.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnLees60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crubenbeg, Manager at Highland Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
18.1 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
23.0 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
23.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
6.7 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 22 in Kingussie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Holiday Cottages

Property: Highland Holiday Cottages
Address: Crubenbeg | Cairngorms National Park, Newtonmore PH20 1BE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering accommodation Aviemore, top quality, family-run self catering accommodation near Aviemore. For luxury holiday cottages, Highland Holiday Cottages is Number 1 in Aviemore and the Cairngorms. Here at Highland Holiday Cottages near Aviemore in the Cairngorms National Park in Scotland, we offer amazing 4-star luxury holiday cottages. We are only twenty minutes drive to Aviemore. We have all the holiday cottage luxuries that you would expect on your holiday in the Highlands. We are pet friendly, self catering accommodation located in the Cairngorms National Park, in the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Highland Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Holiday Cottages Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing