We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hosts, perfect breakfast, the best guest house!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clune House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clune House
Ranked #2 of 14 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hosts, perfect breakfast, the best guest house!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Me, my girlfriend and my dad stayed here for two nights during our visit to Newtonmore for my cousins wedding. We were greeted by Jane and Ian who are truly lovely people would do anything to please. They really deserve every great review they get for the efforts they go to. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and relaxed :) we stayed in the room with the spa bath (great after the 8 hour drive!) bed and linen - comfortable is an understatement!! Spotlessly clean beyond belief! Jane should be very proud of her rooms. They were furnished beautifully, such a nice place to relax in. Beautiful, modern bathroom finished to a very high standard.
The breakfast was fantastic! You can help yourself to homemade musli with yoghurt, honey and fresh strawberries and blueberries while you wait for your huge, fresh Scottish breakfast! Everything sourced locally from their butcher and you can really tell in the quality of their breakfast. My girlfriend had the Scottish smoked salmon with Janes secret scrambled eggs which also looked delicious. For us to learn Ian and Jane had only been in the business a year was a true shock, you got the impression from their beautifully finished house and out of this world people skills they have been experts in guest houses for years. We will certainly be back to this great village and to this great guest house.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
52
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed here for a two nights rest whilst on a walk, west to east across Scotland, in May 2014.
The hosts Ian and Jane were amazing hosts, there hospitably was the best I ever come across in any B&B I've ever stayed in before, and I've stayed in many.
Fabulous room !!
Fabulous breakfast !!
Would most definitely stay here again.
Thank You Ian and Jane for your doing a great job for a great price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thebackpacker47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhausen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We spent two nights at the Clune House where we enjoyed not only the comfort of our room but also the friendliness and hospitality of our hosts Jane and Ian. Every little detail in this perfectly modernised house as well as the fabulous breakfast made us feel like at home. We will certainly come back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed for one night and really enjoyed it. We had the room "Loch Imrich" with an spa bath which was fabulous. The room and all the rest of the house was really lovely furnished and you can see that the couple who runs it really put effort and love into it. Also they are really welcoming and want to make your stay as perfect as they can.
We would definitely stay in the Clune House again!!! Everything was great!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We had the room with the spa bath which was perfect after a days walking.
I had a 10 hour sleep which is testament to how comfortable the bed was in our room! As others have said the B&B is spotlessly clean and has lots of little touches - including a really good hair dryer instead of the usual travel one!
A delicious and hearty breakfast set us up for another day walking and it was interesting to hear about the area from Ian and Jane. I recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naomi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Had a very enjoyable 1 night stay, room clean and well decorated.over looked the road but very quiet.. The extra touches of hair dryer and toiletries were thoughtful and useful.breakfast only one word describes it....yummy!.thanks Ian.and for exercise after the breakfast then just across road a gentle walk around a little loch...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westhill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed here for one night with my two young children. We were in the triple room, which was beautifully presented. Lovely welcome, beds very comfortable, fresh fluffy towels, everything was so clean and plenty of space. Breakfast was yum! We regularly visit the area, and I think we have found where we will be staying in the future. Best b&b I have ever stayed in, top quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.5 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#2 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
2.8 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
23.2 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coig Na Shee
Coig Na Shee
#1 of 14 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
#3 of 14 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clune House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clune House

Property: Clune House
Address: Clune House Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clune House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michelle and Keith would like to welcome you to their newly refurbished Guest house here in the picturesque village of Newtonmore situated here in the Cairngorm National Park. All our rooms are fully en-suite including one with a spa bath and include a double, twin and a family room we cater for pets subject to room availability and all our rooms come with free view TV, WiFi and hospitality tray. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Clune House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clune House Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing