We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly & Welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clune House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clune House
Ranked #1 of 14 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly & Welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We would give this property a 5 star b&b rating but at 4 stars it is excellent value for money. We stayed here with our baby son and our room was charming and spacious enough to fit a travel cot. We were welcomed by our warm and friendly hosts, The Montgomerys, who went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The breakfast was excellent and one of the best one our trip, with good choice and high quality local produce. The ensuite with spa bath was large and comfortable and felt luxurious. We really had a lovely stay and wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butt0ns81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
54
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Recently stayed at Clune House B&B. My wife and I stayed in the "Loch Imrich" room. Beautifully decorated room with clean, fresh cotton bedsheets. The en-suite also had a Spa bath. Breakfast was freshly prepared and cooked. The breakfast room was lovely and bright with an airy feel. The radio was playing in the background but not too loud not to be able to chat over breakfast. The hosts Ian & Jane were so friendly and very hospitable. This made the stay even more enjoyable.
We would not hesitate to recommend Clune House B&B to anyone young or old visiting the local area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam_Maz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempten, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My family and I recently stayed at the Clune House while visiting the Scottish Highlands. We chose this B&B based on research on TripAdvisor and booking, and were certainly not disappointed.The proprietors, Ian and Jane were especially friendly and accommodating; they seemed genuinely concerned that we enjoyed both our stay at the B&B and our visit to Newtonmore. We were provided with helpful advice about local restaurants and attractions,our rooms were all that we needed/expected and the breakfast was delicious. Should we ever return to Newtonmore, we would certainly consider the Clune House an excellent option. Laura and family

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauralou0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife, 5 year old boy and I had a wonderful 2-night stay here. The room was plush, very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were tasty and top quality food (we are vegetarian and this was well catered for). The hosts are very friendly, pleasant and helpful. Overall we felt very well looked after and pleased to have chosen Clune House .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanAndGitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Arrived after a long journey by car and Jane and Ian made me very welcome.My room was excellent and provided me with everything I needed for my two night stay.Ian advised me of the good places to eat locally and he was spot on with them .Everything was very clean and tidy.Breakfast prepared by Ian was excellent and set me up for my day ahead. Cant praise the hosts enough for making my stay so pleasant and relaxing. I will be back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmc29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

My friend and I stayed here whilst competing in a local mountain bike event. Despite our (very) sweaty appearance upon arrival, the hosts Ian and Jane were most welcoming and this remained the case throughout the duration of our stay. Our bedroom and bathroom were very clean and tidy, adding to our comfort. Breakfast was top notch! The highlight though has to be the hosts, so a big thanks goes out Ian and Jan. Hopefully see you again soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I had a very pleasant night stay. Ian and Jane are good company and made us feel very welcome. Jane helped us out by recommending that we eat at the local hotel and to book in advance as it is popular during the weekend. It was a great shout as the place was really busy and we were able to get a table. Nice place and great breakfast. Would highly recommend Clune House.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.5 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
2.8 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coig Na Shee
Coig Na Shee
#2 of 14 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
#3 of 14 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clune House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clune House

Property: Clune House
Address: Clune House Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clune House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michelle and Keith would like to welcome you to their newly refurbished Guest house here in the picturesque village of Newtonmore situated here in the Cairngorm National Park. All our rooms are fully en-suite including one with a spa bath and include a double, twin and a family room we cater for pets subject to room availability and all our rooms come with free view TV, WiFi and hospitality tray. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clune House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clune House Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing