We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to beat”
Review of Clune House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clune House
Ranked #1 of 13 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Hard to beat”
Reviewed 27 April 2009

A friend and I stayed at Clune House while on a cycling holiday, our room was large, very comfortable and well equipt. What makes Clune House extra special are the little details like homemade goodies in the room when you arrive and a spa bath in the bathroom, it's most definitely not the standard level of B&B. Added to this, Mary and Bruce, and of course lovely Hollie, couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was fabulous, with lots of choice and delicious food. I would definitely recommend Clune House to anyone visiting the area and it would be my first choice next time I visit.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaMacGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAINBOW54, Owner at Clune House, responded to this review, 5 May 2009
Thanks for the lovely review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us we are also very glad to hear that you arrived home safe and sound and hope that your knee is on the mend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
57
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2009

I stayed at Clune House along the way up to John O'Groats last September and have to say that in all the B&Bs I stayed in between the bottom of England and the very top of Scotland, Clune House was easily the best. Mary provided a lovely warm welcome, the rooms were lovely and the breakfast was one of the most delicious I have ever had. Mary's home-made fruit compote was the perfect fuel for another day's cycling and I left fully rested, fresh and ready to spend more time on the road. Newtonmore looked very nice as well, definitely worth a stay if you're in the area.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardJames2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2009

Best B&B we've ever stayed in. Very welcoming hosts. Our bathroom had a spa bath (which unfortunately we didn't have time to try out). Fantastic selection for breakfast - best we've encountered at a B&B. Wonderful surroundings. Mary was very helpful when it came to planning our daily outings.

  • Liked — Breakfast selection
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank callmewhatyouwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAINBOW54, Owner at Clune House, responded to this review, 3 February 2009
Thank you for the lovely review. Hope you got to see Loch Ness before you got your flight home. Maybe be able to use the spa bath next time you come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2009

This was our 2nd visit to Clune House, as the Owners Mary and Bruce were lovely and made our stay very welcoming.

Our room was clean and comfortable and the spa bath is great for relaxing in.

Our breakie was great and there is loads of selection to chose from, however the traditional scottish breakfast is hard to beat.

  • Liked — Happy with everything.
  • Disliked — Nohing
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gareth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.5 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
668 reviews
2.8 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
203 reviews
2.5 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
473 reviews
2.4 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 22 in Kingussie
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clune House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clune House

Property: Clune House
Address: Clune House Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clune House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michelle and Keith would like to welcome you to their newly refurbished Guest house here in the picturesque village of Newtonmore situated here in the Cairngorm National Park. All our rooms are fully en-suite including one with a spa bath and include a double, twin and a family room we cater for pets subject to room availability and all our rooms come with free view TV, WiFi and hospitality tray. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Clune House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clune House Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing