We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great guest house”
Review of Clune House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clune House
Ranked #2 of 13 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
LANARKSHIRE
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great guest house”
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Stayed for one night, very friendly, excellent breakfast, recommended local hotel for evening meal & allowed our dog to stay too

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNE1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
56
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Terrific hosts, lovely lodging, very personable. Had a computer available for our use. Stayed in four B&Bs during our trip. This was first and best! Wonderful area of Scotland to visit. Would love to return.
Thanks, Linda

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanAntonioRoseTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Mary and Bruce are the gold standard for hospitality, friendliness, courtesy, good food, and everything else that you would want to make your holiday memorable. They went out of their way to insure my enjoyment of the area. They gave places to see & driving tips along with their own maps and brochures . The food was wonderful along with my room being neat and clean. I will from now on judge all B & B by this one. Your every wish is theirs to grant. I would for sure stay there again whenever I am in Scotland and recommend Clune House to all my Friends.

5****
Helen

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bullrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

A great little B&B in Speyside, hand for walking, cycling and touring. Mary and Bruce are as friendly and helpful hosts as any I've encountered, keen to look after their guests and help them enjoy their stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P_H003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2009

After a long days cycle finding this bed and breakfast proved to be a delight. The owners and family are all very pleasant, eager to help and very knowledgable about the local area. The room is pretty much everything you would expect from a b&b and the breakfast was excellent. If I'm in the area I will definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peteh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2009

My partner and I along with another couple and their toddler recently decided to get away from the city. We stopped for a night in Newtonmore on our way to the West Coast and Hebrides. Having stayed at Clune House before we didn't hesitate to book it again. Its ideal for going at whatever pace you like, whether up at the crack of dawn for a days walking or lazing around just enjoying the fresh air. Very helpful staff (including Holly the dog!) and clean comfortable rooms. Everything you could ask for really.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2009

A friend and I stayed at Clune House while on a cycling holiday, our room was large, very comfortable and well equipt. What makes Clune House extra special are the little details like homemade goodies in the room when you arrive and a spa bath in the bathroom, it's most definitely not the standard level of B&B. Added to this, Mary and Bruce, and of course lovely Hollie, couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was fabulous, with lots of choice and delicious food. I would definitely recommend Clune House to anyone visiting the area and it would be my first choice next time I visit.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaMacGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAINBOW54, Owner at Clune House, responded to this review, 5 May 2009
Thanks for the lovely review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us we are also very glad to hear that you arrived home safe and sound and hope that your knee is on the mend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.5 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
297 reviews
2.8 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
199 reviews
2.4 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
464 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clune House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clune House

Property: Clune House
Address: Clune House Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clune House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michelle and Keith would like to welcome you to their newly refurbished Guest house here in the picturesque village of Newtonmore situated here in the Cairngorm National Park. All our rooms are fully en-suite including one with a spa bath and include a double, twin and a family room we cater for pets subject to room availability and all our rooms come with free view TV, WiFi and hospitality tray. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clune House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clune House Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing