We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you”
Review of Elmhirst's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elmhirst's Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Keene
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I'd like to publicly thank the staff and management of Elmhirst Resort. My extended family and I stayed in a 3 bedroom cottage in early June for a wedding. We enjoyed swimming in Rice lake, playing tennis and volleyball, and our youngest enjoyed the playgrounds. Breakfast in the restaurant was delicious and our server was friendly and professional. A beautiful wedding locale and a great spot to relax.
Then I encountered a medical emergency. The hotel reacted with warm hospitality and a generous spirit, enabling us to focus on the medical situation.
My family and I would like to again offer our thanks for your support. It was must appreciated during a difficult time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GMacSSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg E, Owner at Elmhirst's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thanks so much for your kind review. It was a best of times/worst of times weekend...the joy of a family occasion suddenly highjacked by an unexpected illness. We were sorry to see your stay interrupted in that way and would never want anyone to feel "trapped" at Elmhirst's.

Sincerely hoping you are fully recovered and enjoying the rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Elmhirst's Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Fourteen of us attended the Monday buffet lunch and we all enjoyed it so much. We were seated at the window with a beautiful view of Rice Lake. The food was excellent and and there was so much to choose from. The beef was raised on their own farm. After lunch we went for a pontoon boat ride, which was included with the price of the lunch, and we were shown the Elmhirst shoreline and the farm where they raise their own beef, chickens and turkey. The grounds were a treat to stroll through with such an array of beautiful flowers in every colour imaginable. It was truly a lovely summer day and so reasonably priced. I will definitely be going back and I have recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noreen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We attended a group event for 20 people. Dinner Friday was Coq au Vin which consisted of tough chicken in a broth like sauce (no spoon to put the sauce on the rice). Dinner Sat was a choice of pasta or roast beef. Beef was precooked and sliced with a slicer with slices rolled together and heated- not the prime rib we were all anticipating for sure. On a positive note the asparagus grown locally was excellent. For those ordering off the menu they may have had a better experience
Wine choices were primarily Ontario - were out of the first ones selected. food and beverage manager Susan was very helpful and identifying an alternative.

Cabins and bedrooms are a good size with a BBQ on each deck where you have an excellent view of the lake - each cabin has a dock - there are also lots of walking options in the area, Shopping in Lakeview or Bobcaygeon - recommend Bigley's shoe store - huge. Disappointed on arrival there were no coffee mugs to go with the coffee pot - discovered them in the dishwasher with lots of other unwashed dishes. Told the reception desk at check out and they did not seem too concerned and did not apologize.

Could be great if you brought your own food and possibly if you ordered off the menu. Relaxing location.

Room Tip: If you like a shower and not a big jacuzzi tub - let them know
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footballSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

As part of our holiday to Canada we spent a wonderful week at Elmhirst Resort. It is such an excellent base with so much to offer. From sitting on the deck outside your cottage with your feet up to taking a sightseeing tour of Rice Lake in a float plane.
From the moment we arrived till the moment we left all the team were very helpful and made us both feel very welcome. We got time to spend some time and chat with Peter Elemhirst the owner as he prepared a dock in the lake so that we could have our flight in the float plane.
A paddle on the lake in a open Canadian canoe, pony trek and ATV tour were some of the more adventurous activities we tried. Before taking a swim in the indoor pool, relaxing in the Hot Tub and then in the Dry Sauna.
The Sunday Brunch is not to be missed as well as the fine dining in the restaurant of an evening. As well as a couple of evening enjoying a cold beer or 2 while watching the Stanley Cup play-offs on the TV in the Bar.
Thank you to everyone for making our holiday so special.

Room Tip: As we were celebrating our 25th Wedding anniversary we were in the 1 bedroom Honeymoon cottage, but...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith_Skip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Attended for a conference. Service very polite and genuine. Food quality good and many ingredients produced on site or local. Great to see a family business continue. Bar is neat with sports and aviation memorabilia. Seaport, grass strip.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We attended the 2014 EOAR event - the Food especially the Hearthside Dining Restaurant, Accommodations and hospitality were excellent. Cottages were cozy, clean and comfortable with amazing view of Rice Lake. Enjoyed a day at the Spa, and want to say a special Thanks to Deana for making it a great day. The Elmhirst family were very warm and welcoming!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Back from a wonderful girls' weekend. Amazing private wine tasting at Elmhirst Resort was the highlight of the weekend. Peter was an incredible host. What a unique experience. Our cabin slept 10 very comfortably. Resort was easy to get to. We will go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amelia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#5 of 12 in Peterborough
379 reviews
18.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Cobourg
Comfort Inn Cobourg
#3 of 6 in Cobourg
108 reviews
14.5 mi away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#1 of 2 in Lakefield
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
530 reviews
12.2 mi away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
1,585 reviews
24.0 mi away
Westwind Inn
Westwind Inn
#1 of 1 in Buckhorn
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmhirst's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmhirst's Resort

Address: 1045 Settlers Line, Keene, Otonabee-South Monaghan, Ontario K0L 2G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Otonabee-South Monaghan > Keene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Keene
Price Range: £146 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmhirst's Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside cottage resort open year round. Fully equipped cottages with fireplace, kitchen, TV & DVD, wifi in cottage; BBQ deck & dock. Dining room & Pub on site; indoor & outdoor pools; boat & motor rentals; fishing guides; golf next door; tennis; sightseeing flights; horseback riding; walking & biking trails. Massages & Spa services. Guided ATV & snowmobile safaris; wine tasting & farm visits. Ideal for family vacations, getaways, weddings, groups & corporate meetings. Family owned & operated. Catering to international guests. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Elmhirst's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmhirst`s Hotel Keene
Elmhirsts Hotel Keene
Elmhirst's Resort Canada/Keene, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing