We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Ensenachos
Nearby Hotels
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria(Cayo Santa Maria)(Great Value!)
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Memories Santa Maria(Cayo Santa Maria)
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Perla Blanca(Cayo Santa Maria)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ocean Casa del Mar(Cayo Santa Maria)
Golden Tulip Aguas Claras(Cayo Santa Maria)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
IBEROSTAR Playa Pilar(Cayo Guillermo)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (5,745)
Filter reviews
5,745 results
Traveller rating
2,599
1,927
766
303
150
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,599
1,927
766
303
150
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafooditalian restaurantmain lobbysanta claraa la carte restaurantspiano bargolf cartspa areafamily sectionsurf and turfdvd playerbeautiful resortadult poolbring a flashlightchickenother resortslow tide
Filter
Updating list...
1,744 - 1,749 of 5,745 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here for a week in early May 2014, with Air Canada vacations. Overall, we had a great time - I'd give this place 3.5 stars if I could. The property is lovely, beaches are gorgeous, and pool area was fun. Yes, the resort is a little old, but is well maintained for the most part. Rooms were clean, staff mostly really nice. The food was just fine - we were always full, drinks were plentiful.

Things to know:
Group check-in process was long - they only have one machine to scan passports, so they start everyone that arrives in buses off in a conference room, to keep people from clogging the front desk. I would suggest get your room assignment in the conf room, then take your welcome drink and go straight to the front desk, stand in line to get your passport scanned, and make sure you directly ask them if your room is ready. Then ask when it might be ready. Then check back every hour.

Food was overall decent (even for vegetarians) and there are plenty of condiments and spices ketchup, Tabasco etc. if you need it for each meal. Have low expectations, and don't expect that things like bread and pizza will be like what you get at home. Fresh fruit and fish dishes at the buffet were amazing, and they do a pretty good job of mixing dishes up throughout the week for some variety.
A la Carte dining: Go on your first day to the customer service room downstairs (perhaps while you are waiting for your room!) to book all your a la Carte times as they book up quickly, and expect to wait awhile there to talk to a customer service rep - there always seemed to be a line down there, and also for the money exchange. Our favorite a la carte was the Mediterranean, beautiful view, the nicest service and great food. Check with the a la carte restaurant directly if you don't like the time you are given by customer service - we were given very late night slots for two of our meals, but when we walked in and asked, they were able to seat us at a reasonable hour.

Don't bother: We spent quite a bit of out of pocket $ to go to El Colonial in the Grand Villas one night - it was not worth it, don't waste your $ and time. We had hoped for a quiet romantic evening; however it was the same food, same soiled tablecloths, same wine with just a little fancier (but not faster!) service than you'd get at the buffets.

Our room (adults only spa section bungalow, 2nd floor) was very large, and nice and clean. Pillows and bedspreads smelt a bit musty when the AC was off (had two power outages). Daily maid service and overall cleanliness of the room was great. It was very quiet, we didn't hear any of the other guests at all. Bar fridge was refilled daily - take the water out of the fridge or they won't replace it. We received one bottle of rum in the room during our stay. We brought our own dry snacks from home for the time we spent pre-dinner, just hanging out on our balcony having a cocktail and enjoying the early evening; we never tried the room service but heard from other guests it takes ages.

We spent time at both beaches and most days at the adult pool. If you want shade, go very early (before 8 a.m.) and put your towel and some identifiable stuff like a magazine on your chairs, and tip the pool or beach guy to keep an eye on it for you. After 9 a.m. you are not likely to be able to get shade - and that was in off season! I can't imagine what that must be like during high season. Beach towels dried out great overnight if we hung them on the balcony, so we didn't bother trading them in.

The pool bar at the adults-only side was really fun, we brought insulated cups with us which the bartenders would happily fill up for us with any concoction. Great vibe there and really nice staff. If you want quiet, go to the quiet pool beside the Spa. We did not spend anytime at the family pool other than to check it out; looks well laid out and lots of fun options for kids; that pool also seemed to have people reserving their spots very very early.

Spa: If you paid for the upgrade to the Spa area (which we would highly suggest!) you will get a voucher tucked into your door's lock a few days after you arrive for a healthy discount off services. We did the couples massage, it was a decent massage, with each of us located with on opposite sides of a beautiful room.

Tipping: No one ever made us feel like they were expecting a tip, which was nice. We did tip moderately for good service, one or two pesos, the money exchange at the hotel was good about giving lots of small change. Sometimes service was slow with or without a tip, sometimes amazing with or without tip - it just depends on the person. Some really really lovely people work there, and some seem to care less. We did bring some small gifts to give away but found it hard to hand them out as we didn't want to carry them around, and we ended up just leaving most of them with a tour guide at the end to give to a local school, which may or may not have happened. We would not bring gifts next time except perhaps small things for the maid, or we'd look into a charity ahead of time and work through them.

Front desk: Do not expect North American type customer service for any issues, or quick resolution. We had one issue that we raised, that was eventually really nicely resolved by management, but we didn't get a lot of love from the front desk. I'd suggest just asking directly for management if you have a issue, and then be prepared to wait for an answer.

Wi-fi was almost impossible to access for us. They sell access cards at the front desk, and ran out of cards most days we were there (which is what "no wi-fi" means); we managed to get one card late in the week, and were only ever able to access the wi-fi once for about 10 mins even though the card is supposed to work for an hour. However, some people seemed to be able to access it just fine. Wi-fi was strongest right in the front desk room, and it is nice and cool in there as well. One of the guys we met had bought the Cuba travel package from his Canadian mobile provider and he had solid data access the whole time, for about the same costs as buying a few of the wi-fi cards. We'd do that next time.

The small gym is just fine for a workout, and if you are a runner it is about 2 miles from the Spa end of the resort to the other Grand Villas end (we'd run through the Villas and just do a loop through and back), and the connecting road on the resort is nice and quiet in the early morning.

We did the day trip by plane to Havana which flew in & out of the very small airport quite close to the resort, it was a very long day but really worth it.

Arrival/Departure Info: Air Canada Vacations did a really good job organizing things, and their onsite orientation session was actually quite informative. My suggestion would be they hold orientation just after people arrive, perhaps in the large conference room while people are waiting for their rooms, instead of the next day when we'd already figured out a lot of what they said. We did pay for the VIP service at the airport on the way home, and thought it was worth it - you get priority check-in, a separate lounge with decent sandwiches and drinks included, and you depart right from the lounge to the aircraft. There are two rooms, once you are inside, the bar is in the noisier more crowded room - just go past the bar through the glass door to the room at the back, there are couches and it is quieter and cooler, and the bar tender will serve you in that room too (eventually).

Iberostar should invest in:
- Online booking system for the a la carte restaurants that guests can access to book or change while they are at the resort, and at the very least, put an extra copy menus out in the customer service area so that people waiting can review them and decide where they want to go
- Another passport scanning machine and a consultant to help them fix the check-in process
- Training for the front desk staff
- More shade options at the beaches and the pool
- Deep cleaning of the pillows and bedding in the rooms to remove the musty smell
- New menus at the restaurants (the duct tape hiding the previous resort name is wearing off)

All in all, we had a great time; we'd probably go back, although I would look at other options in the area as I heard there were some really nice alternatives. However, we met many repeat visitors who have tried other Cuba resorts and swear by this one!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos V, Director General at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest
First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time for writing about your experience at the IBEROSTAR Ensenachos Hotel. I am very sorry if this experience did not match your expectations and by the fact you have not been satisfied with your stay at our hotel.

Together with our corporate offices, I have read your comments and we will definitely work on improving the points you mentioned. We are aware of the limitations and the inconveniences this brings to you, our guests. All of the suggestions have been shared with our staff and we are implementing more of the special thematic corners you mentioned.

Please do not hesitate to contact Mrs Lisbet Perez to the following email jefe.rrpp@ensenachos.co.cu in case you decide to come back

Warm regards,
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This trip is well worth it! The hotel was great. The staff is super friendly! It was our first time to Cayo Santa Maria and I'm sure it won't be the last. The beaches were absolutely amazing! There are two separate beaches here. Meganos is the closer one which has a restaurant, bar ,music and staff that exercises with you, plays games and teaches you dance. Ensenachos beach is further but wow.... What a beautiful beach! It's super shallow forever! Very quiet there. They only have a bar there. Worth checking out.
The food is what it is. It's Cuba! Lol. My children and I had no complaints! The seafood restaurant is definitely worth going to.
If I had to complain about anything it would be ....
Take all your meds that you would think you needed. They have none of these items in the gift shop. Also, personal hygiene items...ladies! Otherwise you'd be travelling to the doctors off the resort.
The bus ride is 1 1/2 hrs long to the resort. But it was ok. We were tired so we slept.
And that's about it for the complaints. Oh wait....Mosquitos! Bring your repellant !
Fabulous trip! Can't wait to go again!

Room Tip: We were in bungalow 30. Very close to everything. They also have an adults only section and if you stay there, you get $50 off a massage! Worth it! I won one for a game we played. Awesome!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos V, Director General at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest
On behalf of all our staff at IBEROSTAR Ensenachos we would like to thank you and your family for choosing our hotel for your vacations. We are glad to know that we were able to make your days with us wonderful. We hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Best Regards
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We visited May 14-21 with two children aged 4 years and 6 years. Travelled with Sunwing to/from Toronto, had a standard room in the Park Section.

General things:
Bus ride is 1.5 hours – be prepared for a long drive though the bus has A/C and bathroom. There were no beverages for sale on the bus, and the beer stand guy was out of beer when we loaded the bus. Emailed the hotel before we went to request a top floor with king bed and two small beds for kids. We arrived and had all but the kids beds but bc we arrived at noon we asked housekeeping and they made up the chaise lounge for 1 kid and brought a single bed for second kid. Water pressure good (better than home!) and lots of hot water, separate shower and bath tub good for cleaning kids up at end of the day. The drainage was very slow from tub and the room smelled of sewer gas at times (probably bad plumbing installation). A/C worked well and ceiling fan worked well and was quiet. Bed was OK, maybe a bit on the hard side with some springs sticking out but we have definitely slept on worse. The room had a 32” tv with Canadian channels, Disney channel and English cartoons. DVD player worked (we only brought one dvd) and didn’t really need it as channel selection for kids wasn’t too bad. They enjoyed cartoons in Spanish as well! The mini fridge worked and was re-stocked daily with beer, pop and water but leaked some condensation water into the tv cabinet. The bathroom had facecloths, shower gel, bar soap, hairdryer. The bathroom has a separate little closet for the toilet – good for sharing the bathroom (the bathroom is nice and big). There is a separate large closet with mirror, clothes hangers, drawers and safe (nice place to store the water toys so your room doesn’t get too messy). We had a lizard in our room on day 5 and 6– we never caught him nor saw him again so we hope he left on his own. He helped keep the bugs away.

Kid Stuff:
The kids club is a separate building on your way to the main pool and water park. It is new, clean and well designed. It has three large rooms (one activity room with ball pit, toys, desks for art), a tv room with soft little chairs for kids, and a games rooms with 2 WII and 1 Playstation (though 1 WII was broken while we were there). All three rooms are air conditioned and comfortable, and there are washrooms for the kids). There is an outside playground and little pool which is only used if a parent is with a child at the kids club. The kids club is open from 10am to 5 pm and is staffed by 2 girls daily. There is no set schedule of full day of activities as we have encountered at other resorts (Iberostar Lindo/Maya in Riviera Maya) however if you wish your kids can stay at the main “clubhouse” or go with 1 of the staff to the beach at 10:30 for beach activities (no water activities). You can ask that they bring your child to lunch but you have to ask for this before you leave them in the morning so they can plan to have staff available at both the clubhouse and for the trip to lunch. Our kids preferred going to lunch with the girls and other kids than with us. In the afternoon they will do either a kids party outside the clubhouse with games and cake or pool activities near the main pool. You can ask for your kids to be part of the pool activities or to stay at the clubhouse and they have staff at both locations. The girls were very friendly and helpful (Ismay, Yesmel, Ledy, Lizbeth – all are lovely ladies and our kids loved them). There is an evening kids club 6:30 to 10/11:00 in the lobby building (near guest services on the lower floor). It has a tv (which disappeared early in the week and wasn’t seen again), table for drawing/coloring, some books and balls. A good place for kids to hang out for a short time if you wanted to run around and do a few things or go to supper (though I think the kids would be bored if there too long). At 8:00 the girl from this kids club does the on-stage kids show (another staff person steps in the cover her during his time). There was a clown as part of the act two nights which kids loved. There were the typical resort songs/dancing – chi chi waa, superman, etc…

Water Park & Pool:
We picked this resort partly for the new water park (2 years old) which we thought our kids would love. They did love it and had lots of fun on the water slides and pirate ship – until the weekend arrived. On Fridays, the “weekenders” arrive for the weekend. They generally take over the entire resort and especially the water park. These huge families (both in physical size and in number 20-30 people) are extremely loud and do not care that you are also at the resort. They are mostly teenagers who are jumping off the top of the water slide, sliding in tandem, climbing up the slide, throwing each other off the top of the slide, screaming, yelling, competing with each other for the most dangerous activity they can undertake at a waterpark while their unobserving parent floats along in the 15” deep water drinking his pina colada. My kids were terrified and wanted nothing to do with the water park once they arrived. I spoke with other families with similar aged kids and theirs were scared as well. Many of the moms and dads could be seen grinding away in the main pool as their kids ran wild throughout the resort (mainly the water park). It was a lovely sight! I saw one staff from the kids club tell one of the “weekender” guests that drinking was not permitted in the water park to which he then took his remaining pina colada and dumped it on the pool deck to sour. The big pool was a good size and clean. There was an area with missing tiles (about 4 ft2) which had a yellow “wet floor” sign over it for the week, and other minor maintenance issues. Staff were re-painting the pergola shade structures for a couple of days. The ledges along the pool were very nice for our kids to play on and jump off of – a great size and feature for small kids too. Lots of chairs available at the pool throughout the day, both in shade and sun.

Beaches:
There are two beaches and both are fantastic (especially Ensenachos beach), flat and shallow for quite a distance. The water was clear and warm. Megano beach is the closest, right in front of the resort. Both have beach bars and a beach waiter, but only Megano has the beach grill. No food at Esenancho beach. Some snorkelling could be done over the coral and grass right there at Megano and by the little ship wreck. Not much too snorkel/see at Esenacho…just endless view of clean white sand! In the right weather and water conditions, you can snorkel along the rocky/cliff area along the shoreline between the two beaches. There is a beach grill restaurant on Megano beach which is kind of typical of an outdoor grill. It is mainly a feeding ground for the black birds and people get to pick through their leftovers and bird droppings to find something cold to eat. It does have a pizza oven. The only thing I would recommend is the pizza if you can get them to make you a fresh one so the birds don’t get at it first. My husband liked the chicken, but again, don’t touch the buffet style salad stuff, try to get your food as soon as it comes off the grill. The Ensenachos Beach is stunning, superior to Megano with fluffy sand as deep as you can dig. You can walk (7 minutes) or take a golf cart ride over. A beach worker will help you find a seat under a palapa and wipe it off for you. There is a bar and a bathroom (no lock, no toilet paper) but no restaurant. They need a little snack bar or perhaps a Panini maker as people get hungry and have to tromp back to the resort to eat. Go to this beach, do not miss it, it is one of the nicest beaches we have ever visited. Both beaches at this resort have some protection from the wind as they are in small coves – lovely even on windy days. You can snorkel near the rock outcrop at one end of the beach, but otherwise no real snorkelling on the beach – unless you want to see lots of sand.

Drinks:
This is my biggest gripe about Iberostar Esenachos. Forget getting anything made in a blender. The bar staff will give you beer, coffee/cappuccino, a mixed drink, or a slushy from the slushy machine but they will REFUSE to make you a cocktail blender drink even when you beg. I tried at the pool bar, the beach bar, the lobby bar…no way they would make me a blender drink. I LOVE pina coladas and daiquiris freshly made in a blender and greatly missed these at this resort. I feel that they should lose a star from their ranking for this fact alone. At other resorts (and it’s close relative Iberostar Lindo/Maya) the bartenders love to see you coming and are eager to make you anything you want….even suggest a drink to help you try something new. Other places would have a “drink of the day” – usually a blender drink – and blenders were running all day. Not this place - I could not figure out why at this resort it was so hard to get them to turn on their blenders. There was no eager smile and request for which drink you desired at this resort. My advice to the resort – GET RID OF THE SLUSHY MACHINES - it makes people lazy. The resort ran out of straws (we were told that it happened the week before) and never got any more. Seems like a small inconvenience but it sure is memorable – a straw is essential when trying to drink your slushy machine pina colada.

Restaurants:
The buffet was good (we’ve had better and worse). Food was warm but not always recognizable (labels would help). The fresh cooked fish and meat was good – my 6 year old loves fish so she had sea bass freshly cooked every night. I loved the fresh custom made sushi/california rolls one night. Some inconsiderate tourists would pile plates up about a foot high with food and clean out a bin or tray of something good so no one else could have any. Come on people, have a tiny bit of class. The wait-staff always keeps the doors open at the buffet which made the air conditioning seem non-existent. Not a comfortable place when sweat is rolling off you and the cooks. Please close the doors or turn the AC up higher - save energy and keep people comfortable. We visited the Italian – air conditioned, good service, nice food, buffet at the back for appetizers (nice break from the buffet). Also visited the Mediterranean - long walk in the dark or grab a ride on golf cart, air conditioned, good food (get the surf & turf for steak and lobster), good service, large buffet for appetizers and dessert (great quality). We really enjoyed the two a la carte restaurants and we chose them because they were enclosed and air conditioned. The other a la cartes were either closed down for renovation, open air or adult only.

Overall:
We stayed up for two nighttime shows which were excellent (Broadway and Michael Jackson tribute). We had great experiences with kids club staff. The room was one of the biggest and most comfortable we have ever had at a Cuban resort. Room cleaning service was excellent. Too bad about the sewer-like smell that wouldn’t go away. Beaches were amazing. Pool area was clean, spacious and a good layout. Buffet and 2 a la cartes were great, did not enjoy the outdoor pool or beach grill at lunch due to birds being in and on everything. I now despise seeing slushy machines behind the bar counter. There were no straws for drinks or paper towels for hand drying in public restrooms, but there was toilet paper at least in the mens bathrooms. Spa was OK, had the spa pool all to ourselves for a couple of hours, good spa prices compared to Mexico, and had a light relaxing massage. They sprayed for bugs morning and night. Lots of vegetation so lots of bugs. Kids loved counting the sand crabs out at night along the pathways. Watch out for the golf carts along the same walkways. Resorts really need to design separate cart-ways and pedestrian ways…the two just don’t mix. Signage was lacking…you can get lost easy for first day or two. Since Cuba and maintenance just aren’t two words that go together, please do not lean on wooden railings…I did on a little bridge over the fish pond and the whole 8foot section tumbled off into the pond. If management wants out of country guests to be happy and continue to return to their resort then they have to do something about the unacceptable behaviour of the “weekender” guests which makes others highly uncomfortable. I must add that we have experienced this trend in Mexico and Panama as well. While we all deserve a holiday, whether we are from Canada or Cuba or elsewhere, we all deserve a respectful atmosphere where everyone feels welcome to use any and all of the resort facilities.

All in all, I would go back for the right sale price. It has a lot of features I like…but there is always a pile of little things that seem like an easy fix which can really make a better impression.

Room Tip: Email ahead of time with special requests and hope for the best
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GLP_Peterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos V, Director General at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your suggestions and comments about your stay at IBEROSTAR Ensenachos, we are glad to know that you felt welcome since your arrival. I will forward your suggestions to our Departments and they will take them into consideration. We hope you can visit us again someday.

Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed at this resort February 2014 for a week. I went based on the reviews on trip advisor being steady and consistent. Well...when i arrived at this resort I was blown away. For Cuba, this property was amazing.
Positives:
- Gorgeous well maintained grounds...gardeners are great!
- The staff at this resort are lovely. The breakfast crew were amazing at the main buffet and everyone was friendly.
- Our room was ground floor and at first we were skeptical b/c of bugs but all week it was spotless and well maintained (functioning bathroom and huge perfect shower)
- Huge family pool area with great water park for kids
- Unbelievable beaches (yes there are 3!) and 2 are perfect exercise walking distance.
Megano beach is fun for families and has the restaurant on it which makes for a convenient lunch. This beach is convenient and beautiful.
Ensenachos Beach is better for swimming b/c you can walk out further. Tons of space though to lay anywhere you want and plenty of palapas.
- Not difficult to find a place for romance
- Great local live bands/music every night in the main foyer.
- We walked to the Dolphinarium. Sorry to sell out the tour operators but if you walk to the dolphin place WHICH IS NEXT DOOR 3 mins down the road, you can catch the dolphin show for free with the price of entry. The bus from the hotel comes JUST after the show is over ...so you have to wait around until 2-3pm to see the next one. So if you leave before the bus then you make the show. My boyfriend and I were the ONLY ones watching it. You can also swim with the dolphins. We just watched people do it...seemed fun. You can spend all day there on the price of admission if that's your thing.
- The food > For Cuba this resort had some good food! The last resort we were at we ate burgers all week but this one we didn't have to. There were more options and the quality was better. Loved the restaurant choices you get have here too!
- Beach chair helpers > Love these guys and don't mind paying them to assist us in finding loungers on days you come late to the beach.
- Drinks on the beach > There are bartenders/wait staff that walk up and down Megano beach asking you for your drink order and they actually bring it back promptly! Great service.
- Spa section isn't worth the extra money. We stayed in the "regular priced" section NEXT to the main lobby and it was so quiet and amazing.
- There were free ice cream bars/sandwiches handed out to you ON the beach while you sunbathed. It was a surprising added bonus!

Negatives
- Nude sunbathers near the "adult only" section of the resort. The beach isn't separate, there are just nude bathers at the one end. I know I'm North American but quite honestly, does anyone want to see a grown man play frisbee on the beach (that's shared with the rest of the resort) jumping around stark naked?...blachhh. Not a pretty picture and seems out of character with a family friendly resort. Clearly the resort should take note of all the comments about this issue. Instead they just post signs on the palapas that say "reserved for nudists".
- The snorkeling was disappointing. Our last stay in Holguin was unreal for snorkeling and we expected a similar feel here. There's a shipwreck not far off the shore and we did see a lobster and some starfish...but there were no beauty reefs or unique fish.
- Don't swim in the bay next to the resort. Just don't. Ever.
- The tourist trap/shopping area. Disappointing and not worth the drive. The prices are laughable and it's not authentic Cuban stuff either.
- The lack of mixed drinks > We spoke with another couple who had gone to a resort 2 over from ours and they had mixed drink menus at the bars and tons of cocktails etc. They have none of that at this resort. Just plain mixed drinks and the bartenders don't know how to be more creative.
- Ensenachos Beach - It's a pain to get to and from but we walked every day. This is the beach with the nudes on the far end. There are bars on both ends of the beach but they could really use some food to be served here b/c leaving to go for lunch is a pain.
- We had 1 power outage during our stay but it didn't last longer than an hour
- The spa though affordable is also not very professional. Not a great place to spend money and it's evident as there was no wait, no one there.
- LONG line up all the time at the "bank". At least a 30 min wait when we were there to exchange money.
- The head guy for the beach "entertainment". He was overly aggressive playing volleyball (heckling players and taking the ball for himself at every given chance) , he was coming up behind men on the beach tickling their feet or ears when they were asleep...just not very professional.

My boyfriend and I loved this resort and wouldn't hesitate to come back (if we did repeat resort trips). The drive is long but it was fun on the way home as we got to drive through towns and see some lovely churches and experience the Cuban culture just a bit more.

Cuba is stunning and this resort did not disappoint. Memories were made that will last a life time.
A special shout out to 3 guys who nicknamed my man "Jody-hi-rolla-bipola". We had a fun time with you and hope your volleyball wounds healed as did your egos from the shark swim. ;)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel4fun15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos V, Director General at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear guest,

All the staff and Management team at IBEROSTAR Ensenachos wants to thank you for sharing your comments and experience with us and other readers. We are glad to know that overall you were able to enjoy our services. Please, accept my deep and sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had during your stay at the hotel, we will make sure that does not happen again. I will forward your review to all our Head of Departments; they will take you comments into consideration. Pls, take into account we forbid to practice nudism in any area of the hotel, as soon as we hear a client complaining about this we talk to the nudists to explain them this is a family resort. We hope we can welcome you back again someday.
Best regards,
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had previously been to this property when it was the Occidental Royal Hideaway. It's been about five years since we stayed at the resort and the property is in need of a makeover. The paint and furnishing in our room was showing its wear, toilet tank took about 15 minutes to refill, shower hose burst on our last day and some of the furniture is showing significant wear.
Overall the service was very good. Everyone from wait staff to the folks who refilled our in room fridge were friendly and accommodating.
The buffet and a la carte restaurants were generally a bit above average.
When we were there the resort was rammed with visitors. You needed to be up and on the beach before 8:00 am in order to get a lounge. The beach, by the way, was spectacular with soft, white sand, warm water and blue sky as far as the eye could see.
Overall it was a pleasant week but not a property that we would likely return to.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Luv2experience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos V, Director General at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Ensenachos we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact our guest relation manager.
Best Regards
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews