We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel but superior for Cuba.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Iberostar Ensenachos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cayo Ensenachos
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Average hotel but superior for Cuba.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Rating an hotel is sometimes difficult. If you compare this to Hawai, Bali etc. you will certainly rate this lower than average. If you know Cuba and understand how things work there and the limitation inherent to the country then your view and judgement will probably be much higher. This is a very large hotel (bungalows) spread on a global piece of land which spreads on 3 miles. If you do not have kids, you shall absolutely take the rooms in the Spa side. The pool is the absolute best of the resort. The village which is supposed to be the luxury part of the hotel has a very average pool and is at the end of the world. Way too far from main buildings etc. As said in many reviews the beaches (2) are both 5*. Regarding accommodation, service is nice but not stellar although people are always ready to help. One main restaurant and several smaller that you need to book in advance. (Also average). Rooms (Spa) are spacious and at US standard. Aircon works well, tube and shower. We had a very poor laundry experience. Took 3 days and we got everything back not ironed and still dirty. Food.... another key subject for most. We arrived at the hotel for on week after 2 weeks of trekking round Cuba. I can only say that people criticising the food quality probably only know Cuba through 4 and 5 stars hotel in Varadero or elsewhere. My appreciation is of course different. Very nice food and very good variety for Cuba. Overall location of the hotel is nice from a beach perspective but like all the hotels on those 'Cayos' very far from the real Cuba. Remedios, the first town is at 50km, one hour drive ....

Room Tip: Spa quarter if you have kids 16+
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos V, Director General at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear guest
Thanks for taking the time and write about your recent trip to Iberostar Ensenachos. We regret we didn’t fulfill your expectations. Please, accept my deep and sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had during your stay at the hotel, we will make sure that does not happen again.
If you decide to visit, please let us know and we assure you that we will offer you the service you deserve.
Once again thank you very much for writing about your experience at Iberostar Ensenachos. Your suggestions, as well as other customers are very important to help us improve our services.
Regards
Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,258
    1,716
    689
    275
    128
See reviews for
1,464
2,670
81
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,008)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Havana, Cuba
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Beautiful beaches, transparent water and a sea full of litle fishes, amazing!! We traveled from Havana in a group of six, two cooples with two young daughters, they let us check in 3 hours in advance and our rooms were prepared, the air conditioner working properly, a big room with shower and bath separately.
The service was very pleasant.
The food was excelent at the Italian restorant and regular at the Oriental, they have to improve the skills of the Tepanyaki cookers. The people was very kind with us, the tips works well too.

Room Tip: Rooms from 3001 to 3020 at very near of main building. You can choose for SPA areas, more expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Octavio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos V, Director General at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear guest,
All the staff and Management team at IBEROSTAR Ensenachos wants to thank you for sharing your comments and experience with us and other readers. We are glad to know that overall you were able to enjoy our services, especially our beaches. We hope we can welcome you back again someday, if so, do not hesitate to contact Mrs Lisbet Perez our Customer Service Manager, email: jefe.rrpp@ensenachos.co.cu
Best regards,
Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

My husband and I along with our 5 and 7 year old travelled to Ensenachos in February for two weeks. We loved it. The beaches were breath taking and the weather perfect. The staff (with the exception of a few grouchy cooks) were fantastic. My kids still talk about the wonderful staff at the mini disco and the pool that treated them so well.

On the negative side, to claim this is a 5 star is a bit of a stretch. Check-in was a joke, the people behind the counter made such a confusing mess of everything I am surprised anyone got a room. The actual rooms are falling apart, the furniture is ragged the bedding old, etc, etc. The food definitely could have been better but having said that we never went away hungry and there was always a lot of selection.

We would definitely consider another trip as the beaches were the nicest we have ever seen but it would be nice if they did some maintenance/upgrades in the actual hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yabstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos V, Director General at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear guest
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments to us. Your comments are very important and we sincerely value them. They will assist us in better serving you and our other guests in the future.
Regards
Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Us: family of 6 adults, 2 kids (ages 4 and 9), 1 baby (16 months) in 3 park suite rooms.

Background: Canadians visiting Cuba for the first time (except 1 member).

Resort location: Superb. Remote and quiet. Just what we wanted.

Resort grounds: Quiet large but well laid out and beautifully landscaped. It was a pleasure to walk around taking in the lush tropical foliage. Had to take a cart to the Ensenachos beach from our villa (43) which was the better of the 2 beaches.

Beach: The best we've seen anywhere. Was excellent for kids, very warm and shallow. not at all crowded and lots of marine life to see.

Rooms: Only 1 room had no issues, the other 2 rooms had broken coffee maker, TV, smelly sheets. Generally clean but needs some TLC with paints peeling from doors and doors not closing properly.

Staff: Very friendly and always willing to help. However, the broken coffee maker never got replaced and TV, never fixed until we left.

Food: Dined at the seafood (Mediterranean), Japanese, buffet and Marino pool bar and we did not enjoy any of our meals. To name a few issues: rice were unevenly cooked all the time, meats are never cooked to according to order, line up for toast was always long as there was only 1 toaster at the buffet, milk at breakfast was sour more than once...etc. The best food we had was at the snack bar which was fried chicken and fries. Japanese restaurants serves up something that isn't Japanese. What a shame.

Health concerns: The baby got sick running a high fever for 1+ day (other families with small children had the same issues) possibly from playing in the pool, most of the family members (except 2 of the adults) had diarrhea. Washing the baby's bottle with bottled water was very challenging.

Overall: We would love to return for the beach but considering the food and other inconveniences, we'll look elsewhere for our next family vacation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
3 Thank FAMILYVACAY2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos V, Director General at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Clients,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at IBEROSTAR Ensenachos we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction.We hope to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact our guest relation manager Mrs Lisbet Perez , email: jefe.rrpp@ensenachos.co.cu

Best Regards
Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Nice beaches, poor service, and lacks supervision and management. Staff unresponsive to many simple requests, I.e. room near travel companions, request for bottled water (lied to about availability), room switch to be near travel companions. Often passed by empty shuttle cars despite carrying a 2 and 4 year old on the long walks.

Mold is bad in some lower level areas, the resort needed a deep clean, and lacks maintenance in many areas.

3 of 4 sick, 2 after eating at seafood a la carte restaurant, one nauseous at resort and vomiting upon return home.

Kids had fun at the kids pool, but I wont be back,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos V, Director General at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thanks for taking the time and write about your recent trip to Iberostar Ensenachos. We regret we didn’t fulfill your expectations. Please, accept my deep and sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had during your stay at the hotel, we will make sure that does not happen again.
If you decide to visit, please let us know and we assure you that we will offer you the service you deserve.
Once again thank you very much for writing about your experience at Iberostar Ensenachos. Your suggestions, as well as other customers are very important to help us improve our services.
Best Regards
Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at Iberostar Ensenanchos Jul 31-Aug 7, 2014.
This hotel is very large and there is a lot of walking. The is a shuttle to pick you up and take you to your room, beach, restaurant, etc.
You have access to two beautiful beaches -- Megano and Ensenanchos. Megano is located within a short walking distance from hotel. There is a beach bar, restaurant, and plenty of palapas for shade. Ensenachos Beach is further away and even more beautiful. There is no entertainment crew, no music and no restaurant at Ensenachos Beach.
There was never any problem getting a palapa at either beach, however, our trip was in low season.....during high season, there is no possible way that everybody who visits the beach will find shade. The hotel was only 55% full.

Entertainment -
The entertainment crew at Megano beach was very good, polite and a lot of fun. They really work very hard in the blazing sun. One young man stood out for his friendly demeanor and helpfulness and politeness. His name is Pedro. He spent much time with my children playing games and getting them involved in beach activities.

Food - Iberostar Ensenanchos food was ok. You could always find something to eat. You must set your expectation level that this is Cuba and things are not as plentiful as they are in Canada. There was roast pork, chicken and fish everyday. The only thing I did not see at the main buffet restaurant was lettuce for salad. All seven days there was no salad at the buffet or anywhere else at this resort. Our main server was Leonid. He provided our family with excellent service and we enjoyed speaking with him very much. It was a highlight to dine in his section of the restaurant.

We ate at 3 a la carte restaurants. Italian Restaurant - food was nothing special. Asian Restaurant - food is sort of Asian with a Cuban spin to it. If you are looking for true Asian food, then this is not the place for you. The Seafood Restaurant was a big disappointment because all their fish was deep fried. I ordered surf & turf, lobster & filet mignon, however the beef was extremely tough and the lobster, although tasty, had absolutely no spices and it was not served with butter for dipping or any lemon or any topping. It was very bland. But again, this is Cuba, and perhaps many things are not available.

Rooms - We were in room 3505 and 3504, main floor. Room was very spacious. Cleaning was average at best. We actually never ever saw the housekeeping staff. Stocking the toilet paper was inconsistent....some days 1 roll, some days no toilet paper. Another big issue was that our air conditioner was not working very well.

The Bad stuff -
We only encountered 1 serious problem. It happened on the day we were leaving. Apparently, it happened to other people on our flight (from the same bus driver and announcer) and if you search the internet you will see that there is a scam whereby they purposely leave one of your bags behind so that you are forced to pay $60 cab fare each way and they split the money between them.

On the day of our departure, there were only 3 families leaving from Iberostar Ensenanchos. When the shuttle bus arrived at 5:30am to take us to the airport, the driver of the bus loaded all of our suitcases onto the bus. We saw them all being loaded. The luggage is loaded underneath the bus and there is an opening on both sides of the bus. The driver or announcer waits until everybody has boarded, and then pushes one bag out before he closes the hatch and leaves for airport. The bus left and one of our bags was left on the driveway of the resort. When we arrived at the airport, one of our bags was missing! We searched for the driver, but he was nowhere to be found. We found the announcer on the bus. His name is Victor. We told him the problem and he told us that it was our fault our bags were not loaded on the bus. He was extremely rude to us, arrogant and mocking us. He said I should have been smarter and more careful. He told us that if we paid $60 each way for a taxi, then we could go back to the hotel and get our bag. I refused to pay stating that this was clearly theft, and I personally accused Victor and the driver of trying to steal our bag and blackmail us. Instead of being helpful to a tourist, Victor laughed at me. It was only then that I realized he scammed us so I flagged airport security/policeman. VICTOR (from the bus company) IS MOST DEFINITELY INVOLVED IN THIS SCAM. He unfortunately picked the wrong passenger to scam and I put up a big fight. It was only when I flagged a security guard/policeman at the airport that Victor quickly changed his story. The Sunwing representative found our bag and had it sent to the airport on a later bus. Everybody in the airport saw this whole ordeal.

Once the passenger agrees to pay for a taxi to bring their bag to the airport, the cab driver and Victor split the $120. I don't believe that the Bellboys at Iberostar Ensenanchos are involved but mainly the bus company and cab drivers. While on the plane, I was sitting beside a lady who had just got married at the Memories Resort. She said the EXACT same thing happened to them but fortunately her sister saw the bag sitting on the driveway of the resort and she stopped the bus from leaving.

Room Tip: Request a room close to the beach or pool, on a 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BK6794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos V, Director General at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. Ensenachos is a natural park rochet islet where you connot meke constructions close to the beach. Hoping you come back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The beach is really breathtaking though the service at the hotel is quite bad. I forgot to print my reservation and they make me pay $4 for 1 hour of internet just to send them my reservation because they were unable to find it through their system!!!! It upset me so much, to have this type of service in a 5 star hotel. The food is average as well as the drinks. The rooms are quite big and clean. We were there during the World Cup and we couldn't watch the matches because the cable tv went off.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meikuei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos V, Director General at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thnak you very much for your comments. Some times is difficult to get everything ok when there is no internet signal or telephone line and many other things, but we try to do our best to improve the product
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Ensenachos
6.2 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,231 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#10 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,176 reviews
1.7 mi away
Melia Buenavista
Melia Buenavista
#2 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,495 reviews
3.7 mi away
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
#12 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Ensenachos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Ensenachos

Property: Iberostar Ensenachos
Address: 52700, Cuba (Formerly Royal Hideaway Ensenachos)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Cayo Ensenachos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cayo Ensenachos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Ensenachos 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the impressive Cayo Ensenachos, Cayo Ensenachos brings all the Cuban flavour to some of the most exclusive Caribbean beaches. Holidays in Cayo Ensenachos are always great. The area features two exclusive, beautiful and quite unknown beaches. Kilometers of golden sand waiting for you and facing the turquoise-shaded ocean. Two of the beaches are bound to captivate you: Megano and Ensenachos. The heavenly beaches and the luxury hotels and resorts in Cayo Ensenachos, offer anything you might think of. Rest is only one of the attractions you'll enjoy if you spend your holidays in Cayo Ensenachos, one of Cuba's most exclusive destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Iberostar, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Ensenachos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Ensenachos Hotel Cayo Ensenachos
Occidental Royal Hideaway Ensenachos Cayo
Royal Hideaway Ensenachos
Occidental Royal Hideaway Ensenachos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing