We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely romantic hotel with first class food”
Review of Les Petits Saints

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Terre-de-Haut
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Petits Saints
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Terre-de-Haut
Reviewed 8 March 2008

This is a really lovely small romantic hotel in a perfect picture postcard setting. The hotel is set on the hillside looking out across the bay and the view is spectacular. The hotel is full of lovely old antiques and has lots of character, as well as being exceptionally attractive. The open-air restaurant has a wonderful ambiance and the food is exceptionally good and very good value for money.

The hotel has a beautiful swimming pool with lots of comfortable loungers.

There are a number of bedrooms inside the main building but we had a cabin with a private terrace overlooking the pool, which was delightful. Although the air-conditioned bedroom was small it was very comfortable, with an e-suite (open sided, so take some mosquito repellent) dressing room and very small bathroom.

The owners of the hotel are very friendly and helpful, as were all the staff. They met us at the airport and took us back there on our departure. The little 8-seater aircraft from Pointe a Pitre was a lovely way to get to the island as we had a wonderful aerial view as we came into land. The island is very pretty - everywhere is walkable, athough there are scooters and bicycles for hire if you need them. There are also lots of restaurants, many of them right on the waterfront, but the best restaurant by far is the one at the Auberge.

I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a truly romantic escape.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MargaretGranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2008

as I sit here and write this note, I am fearful that this beautiful spot will become too discovered by too many people, but I think the remoteness of this island, and it's missing comforts to most lazy, Americans, will keep it safe for a while.

I love this place...it is magical, etheral, familial, charming, peacefull and surrounded by some of the best waters in the caribbean.

Stayed: April 2004
1  Thank bonvivant53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2008

This isn't an easy place to get to, as an earlier reviewer stated, and we had particular difficulties due to mis-information given us by Express des Iles ferries. They told us we could disembark at Iles des Saintes en route from Dominica to Pointe a Pitre.....the captain of the ferry boat got involved and would NOT permit us to get off, citing 'no customs in Iles des Saintes'.

Nonetheless, when we finally arrived we were pleased with the place. The owners, Laurence and Jean, were very helpful. Again, as another reviewer stated, Laurence more than Jean but Laurence has a better command of English. She was very helpful concerning our departure from the little island and made significant effort to assist us as we had to find a car rental once on Basse Terre.

The rooms are small, the place has an awful lot of antiques (I think too many in places), lots of hot water and our bed was very comfortable. The private balcony is large and lovely with excellent views. Another reviewer stated they thought the rooms in the main building would be noisy but we did not find this to be the case.

The breakfast was disappointing. Yes, it's France but it's also the Caribbean....breakfast was bad coffee, packaged juice, a baquette cut in three pieces, and 2 small croissants each. It needs a bit more...yogourt?? fruit?? You can get additional things for breakfast such as a plate with 5 pieces of fruit for 5 euros (a bit steep).

Dinners were very good and the service excellent.

You can walk most places on the island; it's very hot so wear a good hat. There is a small, isolated, safe beach 10 minutes walk from the hotel which was great.

The village is an easy walk from the hotel. People often come for the day from the main island and fill the place up. The village is a bit precious/cutsey/touristy; I think 3 days is more than enough time here.

You do have to pay attention to opening and closing hours. When things are closed, you cannot find lunch, coffee or anything, neither can you shop! Then the streets are just full of bewildered pale people!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CanadaSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2008

We stayed at the Auberge just after Christmas including New Years Eve for 5 nights. We are from USA and frankly it is just not easy to get to Ile des Saintes if you want to stay for longer than one day. We overnighted in Gosier after our flight from ATL and then the driver recommended by Laurent picked us up and took us to Trois Rivieres for the trip over. Two companies make this journey of about 15-20 minutes. We took Brudley Freres and the other was something like D...(three initials). The Brudley Freres boats were very very old and really did not look seaworthy. That is where the driver took us...I would take the other larger more modern boat. I had booked with Laurent and email communication was okay but sometimes not really fast. We stayed in Bungalow 11 which is the green one in all the pictures. I liked it better than in the house part as I can imagine you hear people walking etc. with the wooden structure. Room okay...small but functional...only thing I did not like is the terrace right almost in the pool and zero privacy. When people and especially kids are in the pool it is like they are right in your bed! We were there over Christmas and really expected the place to be mostly quiet couples...wrong...mostly larger families with kids just doing what kids do...running and being noisy. It is probably very quiet at other non kid vacation times. Laurent was extremely nice and helpful...had little interaction with Jean...she spoke more english. Breakfast was just okay...really bad coffee in these airpots that even the big strong men were having a tough time with...I know my coffee and elsewhere it was really good...the bread was very mini croissants and the bagette. I did not find it an interesting continental and again I do realize that this is the typical french breakfast...it was not up to par...need some regular size hot croissants, more jams etc. and maybe some yogurt? Dinners were nice and served in a very beautiful dining room. New Year's Eve was a very long dinner with preset menu...again this is normal...it was not my favorite but I'm sure the french guests enjoyed it. We found enough to do for the 5 nights...easy walk to town with maybe a couple of noteworthy restaurants and shopping fun...got to catch things open and you get with the program after a day or so. The pool at the hotel very nice and when you could catch an "adult only moment" great for cooling off and doing some exercise. Rooms were clean..not everything exactly worked but it was rustic and we just let stuff go. We ended up leaving a night early (and had to pay which was fair) because you just cannot rely on the Trois Rivieres boats and the schedule was bad for us. We ended up going to Jardin Malanga (read review) and wishing we were back at the Auberge. We really did like it there and would recommend it to those seeking an escape but willing to go through a bit of hassle to get there. The island is just breathtaking and the atmosphere just like being somewhere off the coast of France...which you are! Do know that it is not really a hotel but much more of a B and B.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2007

L'Auberge les Petit Saints is a wonderful property on a fabulous island. Like many Americans who have had the opportunity to visit Les Saintes and Terre-de-Haut, intrinsically I do not want this secret to get out, but I use "Tripadvisor" constantly, and I feel I owe the site my reviews.

Jean and Laurent have taken the inn over from the island's unofficial doyenne, Didier Spindler, and they have created a different atmosphere and ambiance. While the "Soiree" generated by the flamboyant and talented Didier is not present, Jean and Laurent have provided their own brand of professionalism and service.

We stayed in a single cottage below the pool at The Auberge. The rooms of the cottage are stone and the decor charming. While the space is not large, the antique furniture provided storage. There is a television that carried cable networks and the air-conditioning felt great after a hot day at the beach. The bathroom is quite unique as the shower is not contained in a separate space. Thus, water does accumulate and towels come in handy to soak up the wet floor. In was inconvenient, but not a big deal. The bed was a bit uncomfortable, but that could be a result of our pampered American backs and our advancing age. The "cottage" had a terrace with a nice view.

The pool was quite lovely and looked over the hill to the sea. The Auberge is up a steep hill, about 10 minutes from the town center. On arrival at the ferry dock, we were met at the church by the Auberge's driver which alleviated the need to haul our heavy luggage up to the inn. On departure, we were driven to the ferry dock. The rest of our stay, we enjoyed walking to the quaint town. It gave us a chance to peer into the lives of the local population. There are no rental cars on the island, and that either leaves walking or a scooter as a means to get around. We opted not to rent a scooter as the price per day was over twenty Euros each and the steep hills of Terre-de-Haut would be difficult to navigate. Thus, we hired a taxi when we were visiting a beach far from the Auberge. The taxi cost was fifteen Euros round trip.

The inclusive continental breakfast at the inn was lovely and the French bread and croissants were very special. The French know how to bake bread! We ate dinner at the Auberge one evening, and it was simply wonderful. The service was professional, the food scrumptious, and the ambiance oh so romantic. The portions are enormous, and actually an appetizer would be a meal in itself.

A knowledge of the French language would be extremely important to fulfill a complete holiday on Terre-de-Haut. While Jean and Laurent gabbed pleasantly with the French speaking guests, we were somewhat at a loss because of our poor French skills. This might be interpreted as their being cold, but I do believe it was simply caused by our language barrier.

The Auberge les Petit Saints is truly the only place to stay on this marvelous island. However, keep it to yourself!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2007

The inn is on a hillside overlooking the bay and town with the dining room and rooms surrounding a good-sized pool. The view of the bay with all the boats and the small island and Guadeloupe beyond is stunning. While the rooms are small, they are well-appointed, ours had a small terrace looking out on the amazing view. The best part of L'Auberge is the food. The owners, a couple named Jean and Laurent, really know how to put meals together and the plates are beautifully presented, the sauces fabulous, many choices of apps and entrees and the prices are reasonable. We think the food is some of the best we have ever had in the Caribbean.

Stayed: February 2007
7  Thank AntoineVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2007

Had spent a sleepless night on our hired yacht due to a storm. To save our relationship decided to check into the Auberge for a night of luxury, before returning to the yacht and an onward passage to Guadeloupe. Luckily there was room at the Inn. The service and welcome from the owners was truly wonderful, nothing too much trouble. The food was good and the view and ambience outstanding.
Will definately go back for a longer stay, but unfortunately it looks like being without the yacht!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank postyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terre-de-Haut
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bois Joli
Hotel Bois Joli
#4 of 7 in Terre-de-Haut
236 reviews
9.7 mi away
Le Jardin Malanga
Le Jardin Malanga
#1 of 3 in Trois Rivieres
316 reviews
24.4 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Le M Hotel Marie Galante
Le M Hotel Marie Galante
#2 of 4 in Capesterre
235 reviews
24.4 mi away
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
#4 of 23 in Le Gosier
504 reviews
24.6 mi away
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
#2 of 23 in Le Gosier
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Petits Saints? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Petits Saints

Address: rue de la Savane, 97137, Guadeloupe
Region: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Iles des Saintes > Terre-de-Haut
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Terre-de-Haut
Price Range: £80 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Petits Saints 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a beautiful Creole-style cottage with swimming pool offering panorama views over the Saintes bay. Amazing, comfortable air- conditioned rooms, bungalows and suites with TV. Every piece of your room's furniture has been chosen for your comfort and pleasure. Our Chef proposes his creative refined cuisine with creole inspirations. Laurence and Jean will welcome you as their friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Petits Saints Hotel Terre-De-Haut
Les Petits Saints Guadeloupe/Terre-De-Haut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing