We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is camping in style - true glamping!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arnhem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arnhemland Barramundi Nature Lodge
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Lodge? No. Upmarket camping, yes. 4 person tents on a built in hard tiled surface with proper ensuites which include great showers. Very well done. The main group area includes a kitchen equipped with an executive chef, ie no cooking required! And a wonderful covered deck/aka outdoor dining area looking over the most spectacular bush scene for as far as the eye can see. It faces west and the sunsets are spectacular.
Back to the chef. The meals are equal to a 5 star restaurant. The nibbles and entrees start about 5. Tempura prawns, crumbed fish, oysters... By 6 you are enjoying plates and plates of mud crab! Then on to the main. First night at dinner we enjoyed some of the best steak I have eaten. The next few nights we enjoyed the wonderful fish we had caught. The desserts look like a cooking show creation! We all laughed, not at the quality or look, but at the irony, aren't we supposed to be roughing it? someone commented... There is no roughing it at this joint! Service and style all the way even if you are in a 4 person tent/cabin.
The fishing is fantastic. Expert guides who do everything for you. We caught loads of barra and didn't have to touch one fish apart from the obligatory photo for the first catch or biggest etc. Great if you've never been fishing like me. What a thrill to catch a fish in such a beautiful natural, unspoilt environment. The scenery leaves you in awe. Wonderful salt water rivers wend their way this way and that. It's a water maze that the guide expertly navigated through to his favourite wee fishing holes. We were fortunate enough to see some crocs both in the water and on the banks. Completely safe, in fact they don't like the boats and stay away. Incredible bird life everywhere including sea eagles and kookaburras to name a couple. All in all a spectacular experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luapdrareve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

I had the pleasure of visiting the lodge for my 2nd time and can highly recommend every aspect that this place has to offer. I fished for four days. Two days chasing the iconic Barra with over 200 caught and released. Excellent result considering the wet season was somewhat lacking this year. Two days in the "blue water' and we lost count of the numbers caught, photographed and released. The accommodation is superb, 5 star camping is the best way to describe, with fully tiled concrete floors and Clean en-suits to each. The staff are second to none.From the guides who are knowledgeable and friendly to the Chef who will impress you with culinary delights, I could not ask for a better experience. A world class fishing location for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidhyndman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Arnhemland barra lodge, Back for the 2nd time had an absolute ball again, the worst thing about the place is having to leave, fishing is 2nd to none. The guides are top notch and thstaff are fantastic and friendly. The location of the lodge is the best I have seen around Australia giving you awesome bluewater and barra action, we caught over 100 barra in a few days and in the blue we landed some monster tuna, mackeral and queenies, with coral trout. And other species theown in amongst them.Anyone who says this place isn't special it's probably says a lot about the person, cheers again Alex and the crew. Marc( Melbourne)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mbrazzale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I have now stayed at the Barra lodge several times in fact I am trying to make it an annual event. The fishing is amazing not only is the barra fishing the best anyone could encounter, the blue water pelagic's really get the heart pumping. Any one considering a fishing trip of a lifetime would not find a better fishing destination than the Barra lodge. A day on the water with first class (and I mean first class) guides is something to remember. The great experience doesn't end there back at the lodge there is a fantastic deck area overlooking some of the most beautiful country you will ever see, this is where you relax with a cool cleansing ale and swap your fishing stories of the day with other guests and guides. I believe the meals leave the best of the best restaurants for dead as the produce cant get any fresher and the chef really knows his stuff. A big thanks to Alex, Dave the chef and all the guides for making every trip a life time experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

we are frequent barra fishing addicts that decided to give the Barra lodge a try. with the cost per head ( we had a mixed group of 12 clients/friends/family/staff ) we thought that this would be the ultimate. Macka's Barra camp was half the cost of this place, easier to get to, by far better quality food and a personal experience. Bammaru Plains ( Wild Bush Luxury ) is comparable price wise to Barra lodge, but worlds apart as far as allround quality and value for money. we just got back from Melville Island, probably about 30% cheaper than Barra lodge and by far more enjoyable with the same remote fishing. cant wait for Wild Bush Luxury to open the new Wyndai ( formerly Macka's Barra Camp )
dont waste your money going to the lodge, far better places and bigger fish elswhere !!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraLodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Arnhemland Barramundi Nature Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

We're sorry that Sharon and her group were disappointed. We understand this trip actually took place 2 years ago, and this is the first time we have heard of any problems with the visit. The vast majority of our business is from repeat clients. One corporate group, for example, bring up to 8 groups a year and have done so for the last 8 years. It's a fact that we are widely recognised for having the best barra fishing in Australia and there are endless testimonials to back this up (visit our website to see these). Our first 2 groups this year caught and released 1353 barra in just 5 days, as well as over 400 bluewater species, and both groups rebooked and have been to the Lodge several times already. We send out survey forms to guests and we've checked and have never received any feedback from Sharon or her group. We're not sure what Melville charges but this is a tough business and where we operate is 300km into the middle of Arnhem Land where everything comes in by barge or plane and royalty payments are humungous. Yet we do our best and perhaps that's why we have won every tourism award we have entered, including 3 coveted NT Tourism Awards for Excellence in Adventure Tourism. We were also named as one of Australia's Best 20 Experiences by Travelling In Australia Magazine. The category was "Fishing". We have an Executive Chef and the quality of the food he dishes up is raved about. I am sorry if Sharon and her group had such a disappointing experience 2 years ago. We looked back at the dates and it seems that everyone was catching bucketloads of barra around that time. The Run-off was in full swing and boats were coming back with stories of 100plus barra caught and released. We would have loved to have heard about these concerns at the time and not 2 years down the road. Regardless, we would be happy to offer Sharon and her group a special rate which would give us the opportunity to send them home with the same smiles that all our other guests carry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I booked the trip with Cranbourne Bait and Tackle with 15 other keen fishermen. As I have never caught a barramundi before, and hearing how good the fishing was here I had high hopes, the fishing was better than I could ever imagined. The lodge and crew were worth every cent, on the last day of fishing John who also never caught a barra before and I caught over 100 barra, we also caught a lot of blue water fish on the trip. The accommodation was excellent, the service was first class and the food was superb, the only bad thing was it went to quick.
Thanks for a great time and excellent 3 days, you will see me again
Regards
Gerhard

Room Tip: All rooms sleep 4 and are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fish-0_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2007

This place is pristene with a capital "P". It is basically in the middle of nowhere, and offers sunsets and rises that I imagine Frodo would have seen in Middle Earth.

The "tents" all have electricity, full ensuites and their own mini-fridges stocked with enough wine, beer and sprits to make getting out of bed very difficult,

The main lodge itself also boasts a fully-stocked bar, and the staff like to make sure that you are good and watered whenever you are there!

I had a great time, but I was only there for a short while and was with a big group of friends.

My main advice for ladies would be that it is a really blokey place and it shows - there are lots of "interesting" posters of women in bikinis holding fish up scattered around the main lodge, which didn't exactly blend in that well with the beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank kscourtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Arnhemland Barramundi Nature Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnhemland Barramundi Nature Lodge

Address: Djinkarr | Nr Maningrida, Northern Territory, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Arnhem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Arnhem
Price Range: £304 - £1,778 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a remote area of the Northern Territory, the Award-winning Arnhemland Barramundi Nature Lodge has been voted Australia’s Best Fishing Experience. The area is also an important bird watching destination; the Red Goshawk, Gouldian Finches (large flocks), Northern Shrike-tit and the Great-billed Heron to name a few. Safari Cabins are equipped with an ensuite bathroom and bar fridge. There are also safari tents available. Sumptuous meals are cooked by the experienced chef. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing