We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly & Overcharged!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rubyvale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gemseekers Caravan Park
Caloundra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unfriendly & Overcharged!”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We have just spent 3 nights at Gemseekers CP, undoubtedly the three worst nights on any of our holidays EVER! Terry was consistently unhelpful & rude to us, but friendly to those without kids. Every time Terry spoke to me he complained about my childrens' behaviour, although they were not misbehaving. He even locked us out of the amenities - once we used the disabled shower as a family shower (as we have a toddler & 2 young children), and the following evening found Terry had locked the door to this room, forcing us to request the key. After questioning me as to why I would need this room, and clearly showing his disapproval, he huffed off to unlock the room. Of course, he instructed me to watch the kids in case they broke the bathroom fittings! Seriously! We were placed in a site on the opposite side of the CP from everyone else, told the kids were not to ride their bikes in the CP, hassled about the presence of our children and then overcharged for the pleasure! Gemseekers website states prices current till March 2013 but Terry charged significantly in excess of these, and contrary to a verbal quote he had given when we booked. When queried, he denied the website facts & refused a refund. Poor form all round. We will be back to the gemfields, but will NOT be back to Gemseekers. Families please avoid as very, very unpleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    18
    0
    1
    7
See reviews for
25
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dysart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

If you are wanting a vacation away with your family (children included) Gemseekers IS NOT RECOMMENDED. The owners of Gemseekers are very rude and unwelcoming especially when there are children. If you do stay at Gemseekers with children be aware that you will probably have to go to SLEEP at 7pm or be aware that you may have very unwelcoming staff come and tell you off. To the owners of Gemseekers, instead of being so rude maybe ask the people booking and 'paying' for your expensive rooms to 'turn it down a notch' instead of slamming the door closed and mumbling off.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ainsley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Staff very unpleasant. Not a great place to stay if you have children. For the price of the accommodation you should be allowed to talk after dark. I would not recommend to any of my friends or family to go for a vacation. Rooms however are overall good.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank hutch89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARRAWARRA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Thanks Terry and Vicki for a great months holiday.We have been there three times now and cant wait to get back.The park is always spotless and the amenities are always clean.As to the review about children,as i was there,if the had been supervised better in the amenities nothing would have said.Keep up the good work Terry and Vicki.See you soon

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertbarrawarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n.s.w
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2012

On stopping at gemseekers caravan park.You are met by Terry and vicki who explain the park layout and give any info needed on fossicking .The parks amenities are cleaned twice daily the camp kitchen is set up well with all you could need and also have a free bbq,the park is very kid safe and friendly (one rule your kids your responsible) pet are welcome to,terry and vicki are quick to respond to all complaints.We will be back great place to say mel and kev

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Just had 10 days at Gemseekers, our second visit in two years. Spotlessly clean amenities and park. Very pleasant atmosphere with friendly and obliging owners. Congratulations to Terry and Vicki on your recent award.
David and Janet

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grey_Nomadsdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Recently stayed at Gemseekers after reading the reviews here on Trip Advisor. I must say we were extremley disappointed in our experience. We were travelling with friends and after making a booking back in March (knowing that Winter is the peak season), were lost for words when we discovered upon arrival that we were not placed on adjoining sites. No excuse was offered by the owners other than "sorry we just can't do it" - which I find inexcusable since we booked 3 months in advance. Furthermore we were placed on a site right next to the amenities block and sewage treatment plants. The smell eminating from the holding tanks was to say the least "unpleasant", while the constant humming of the treatment plant pump 24/7 did nothing to aide our sleep after long days in the gemfields searching for our fortune.
Families with children take note - LOOK FOR AN ALTERNATIVE PLACE TO STAY. Although the owners Terry & Vicky are pleasant enough to the adults, it is a different matter when it comes to the kids. We overheard them several times 'discipline' our children during our stay when they thought we the adults were out of earshot. This was totally inappropriate as our children were by no means acting unruly at time and generally are well behaved. I won't mention specifics but it appeared that the owners just did not want children staying at their park.
To be fair, the park would suit couples but anyone travelling with kids - book at your own risk!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gemseekers Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gemseekers Caravan Park

Property: Gemseekers Caravan Park
Address: 10 Vane Tempest Rd, Rubyvale, Queensland 4702, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Rubyvale
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Rubyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Caravan park with 25 sites and 5 self contained units. We are in the middle of the sapphire gem fields in central Queensland ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing