We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful place for a longer stay than one night”
Review of Beach Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Hideaway
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We wanted a one night stop near Punakaiki and I chose this as the address was actually Punakaiki, Barrytown. But it is south of Barrytown with a 15 minute drive to Punakaiki.
The place would be wonderful for a peaceful week's stay. It was fine for our one night, though it rained heavily during our entire stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank malawi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Beach Hideaway
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

If you want a getaway and dont want to be seen or heard by anyone then this hideaway is for you. It took us a while to figure out that this place was about 15mins south of punakaiki in a place called Barrytown. Litterally not much to do other than read a book or walk to the beach and slap yourself stupid with all the sandflies. Its self contained but honestly there is no shops around to buy food and if you want to have dinner the pub is your best bet and you cant have a few drinks due to having to drive home.. I personally didnt enjoy the seclusion but it might be for you.. 3 out of 5 is generous I think.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bhm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed at Beach Hideaway for one night after a long drive from Christchurch. When you arrive, there is a phone near the cottages that you can use to call the owner and receive a code to get into the cottage. We checked in and immediately went to the lovely spa hot tub outside -- enclosed to keep out the pesky sandflies, but with a view of the ocean! The cottage itself is well-appointed and comfortable. Make sure you plan ahead if doing your own dinner / breakfast because there are no stores near Barrytown. We did our own breakfast and did not do the catered breakfast option. Our only complaint about the experience was that the shower curtain didn't keep the water from the shower from spreading all over the bathroom, so it was a bit wet on the floor after a few showers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The highlight of our NZ trip. In beautiful countryside it is well equipped with everything you need, plus hot tub, BBQ, fire pit, glorious sunsets,stars. A horse & cart ride along the beach is a must.

Room Tip: Quiet, very comfortable bed and well furnished. Bathroom and shower superb, Kitchen and lounge very...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnenCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here on the 18th of October 13 and loved it. We had all the Sky Chanels (amazing since some other places don't have anywhere near the chnaels you get here) and the place was so lovely. We had a great hot tub, lovely to sit and see out to the sea.
The villa we stayed in was great, (one bedroom) very clean and I loved the really nice bathroom, heaps of space. The owners were really nice and helpful. We ordered a breakfast basket and it was in the fridge when we arrived (heaps of food, could have fed four). The property is really nice as you can walk about the bush (bush walks over a couple of bridges/stream, and we saw some birds on the pond) We went to Punakaiki and had a great time looking at the rocks. Would definatley stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We booked Beach Hideaway after reading positive reviews on Trip Adviser (April 13). We were attracted by the setting and condition of the chalets, along with the lure of a hot tub for our 3 kids. Either the Management has changed or practice has deteriorated significantly - we were really disappointed by our experience.

Our family of five had to take the 1bed chalet as the 2bed was booked but were assured there was sufficient bedding and space, and we duly paid the additional surcharge of $10 per child. I also booked 4x "Self Catering Cooked Breakfasts" as a surprise for the kids.

The chalet was clean, but dusty and smelt like someone had been cooking fish. The place had not been aired. The additional bedding consisted of a pull out double couch and a rollaway bed, both with very thin foam mattress and not very comfortable. There was inadequate cutlery or crockery for 5 people despite our prior booking. We were told on arrival by management (not at the time of booking) that there was a leak in the hot tub, so it had been filled with cold water but "should be hot by the evening". The hot tub did not heat during our stay and the kids did not get a spa. It was cold and rained most of the evening and early morning so this added to the kid's disappointment of not being to have a hot spa.

The biggest disappointment however were the breakfasts which consisted of two boxes filled with pretty questionable produce, frozen bacon and sausages, UHT powdered milk, small cans of spaghetti and baked beans, frozen nasty white bread, basic spreads, tiny hashbrown and standard supermarket eggs (two signs within 100ms of the cottages advertised fresh farm eggs). No coffee or fruit juice. As we had been pre-charged $92 (and had to cook and clean up after ourselves) I rang management to seek a refund. Mike, the Manager's main concern was the effort they had made to put the boxes together and not that the produce was of poor quality. They came and collected the rejected breakfast boxes, but I am still waiting on an apology or a refund of $92. My advice is to fully check out whether the amenities are functional and ask what food you will get with the breakfast option. In the end, we drove down to DP1 in Greymouth and had 5 x cooked breakfasts, 3 x fresh fruit smoothies and 2 café coffees for $100 ($8 more).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kangihu7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

What a lovely place to stay, close to the main highway easily located but nicely secluded and very quiet, beach in walking distance;
We stayed in the larger of the two properties, it was very comfortable and well equipped, kitchen has full cooking facilities, good size sitting room, comfortable beds with plenty of room for 4 people, outside there is a verandah with seating, BBQ, Hot Tub and a Fire Pit, would love to stay here again in the Summer;

Room Tip: 2 Chalets 1 or 2 bed to choose from;
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SueS919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrytown
9.6 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
93 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
193 reviews
13.3 mi away
Apostles View Motel
Apostles View Motel
#13 of 20 in Greymouth
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
672 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#2 of 7 in Punakaiki
311 reviews
11.9 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hideaway

Address: Glen Rd | Rd1, Barrytown 7873, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Barrytown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Barrytown
Price Range: £54 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beach Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing