We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Escape the tour buses...stay in Cromwell!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Certificate of Excellence
Whangarei
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Escape the tour buses...stay in Cromwell!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We really enjoyed our recent stay at Central Gold Motel & in Cromwell. The motel was lovely, warm and clean. It is very close to the shopping area where there are several options for eating out, a pub and the supermarket is also just around the corner. We stayed at Central Gold Motel for 3 nights as a base for exploring the many attractions of Central Otago. All the wineries around Cromwell and Alexandra are just a short drive away and Queenstown & Wanaka are also just a 30-40 minute drive away. It is just a short 10-15 minute walk from the motel to Cromwell Old Town and along Lake Dunstan - a very nice option on an autumn morning. There are many options for staying in this area, including the many hotels in Queenstown, but we were very pleased with our choice of Cromwell & Central Gold Motel. The free wifi was great as were the friendly, helpful hosts. A big thumbs up to Central Gold & Cromwell!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTraveler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    15
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
55
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

The first thing I noticed when we walked into the unit was the cleanliness, it was spotless, especially the bathroom. We stayed for four nights and had a very restful sleep every night. The laundry facility's are excellent and the soap powder is free. The tea, coffee and toilet paper were never replenished when the motel was serviced which was a shame so I went out and bought my own, I have given this motel 5 stars regardless as the unit was so comfortable and relaxing and the location is excellent.
Thank you for such a pleasant stay :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

What a great place. Graeme and Yvonne are fantastic hosts. You arrive as a client and leave as a friend. They are very helpful and keep there modern motel to a very high standard. The rooms are clean and theres even a nice patio out the back of the unit to sit, relax and enjoy the Cromwell evenings. Its less than a 5 minute walk to the shopping mall and restaurants. Rather than the hussle and bustle of Queenstown, Cromwell is both picturesque and relaxing. I'll be back to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Great hosts, very friendly and welcoming. Unit was spotless and quiet. Great to have magazines and a morning paper to read. This is what motels in New Zealand used to be like.
Thanks Graham and Yvonne, we'll see you again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallacetown
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

After staying last night I thought it was appropriate to compliment Yvonne and Graeme on a lovely clean, warm and very comfortable motel unit. It was modern and very appealing to the eye and to finish it off we had a lovely selection of magazines to read and a nicely chilled bottle of water awaiting us in the fridge which we have never experienced before. We also found that it was very quiet with very little traffic noise throughout the night. Thankyou, we will certainly be recommending you.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

I booked this delightful motel after reading the positive feedback on tripadvisor.
We were not disappointed either. we had two adjoining units, so our two preschoolers could sleep in a quite place, yet have an internal door for the access.
Facilities were modern, and clean. Bed was very comfortable, and the shower had the best water pressure in the world!
My husband and I were quite impressed with the little touches, that make life much easier.
Free use of laundry room including powder was wonderful & Wifi.
I would highly recommend staying here If your heading to Cromwell, especially If you have kids. The swimming pool is right across the road, and the park is a two minute walk.
Finally a huge, belated thank you to our hosts Yvonne & Graeme Firstly because we had a young child who was the sick for most of the weekend...and secondly we accidently left a suit jacket behind at the motel, Graeme kindly returned my husband jacket to us in person on a trip to Christchurch...thats exceptional service for you!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank britgirlkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

I stayed here with my son for 6 nights and will definitely be back. I found the hosts very warm, helpful and friendly. The room was very clean, warm and a lot of thought had gone into making the guests comfortable here. The bed was so great that I found it hard to leave in the mornings... I loved Cromwell and the lovely scenery. The Motel was ideally located opposite an indoor swimming pool and not far from the shops and restaurants. Enjoyed the local wineries. Great location to visit Wanaka and Queenstown as well. I am looking forward to my next trip there.

Room Tip: I had a look at the other rooms and found that they were all done up to the same standards as mine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christchurch-Tilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralGold, Owner at ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at ASURE Central Gold Motel in Cromwell.
We are so pleased you had a good stay and look forward to your(hopefully) staying with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cromwell hotels
4.4 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harvest Hotel
Harvest Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cromwell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carrick Lodge Motel
Carrick Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Cromwell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Colonial Manor Motel
Colonial Manor Motel
#3 of 9 in Cromwell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Gateway Motel
Central Gateway Motel
#7 of 9 in Cromwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anderson Park Motel
Anderson Park Motel
#5 of 9 in Cromwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell

Property: ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell
Address: 24 Barry Avenue, Cromwell 9310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Cromwell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premium 4 star plus accommodation in Cromwell.We are Number 1 in Cromwell ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell offers ASURE Quality 4 star plus accommodation at an affordable price. 11 Spacious, mainly ground floor, studio and 1 bedroom units with great beds, air conditioning,double glazing and some kitchen facilities. Tastefully decorated and well fitted out for our guests enjoyment.FREE guest laundry, FREE WIFI Cromwell is the heart of beautiful Central Otago and the Southern Lakes regions.Make us your base when you explore Cromwell, Alexandra, Clyde, Queenstown and Wanaka We all work hard to make you welcome and ensure you have an enjoyable stay when you visit Central Otago and the Southern Lakes Regions. Your hosts are Yvonne and Graeme We are a member of ASURE Accommodation Group with properties throughout New Zealand. ASURE Loyalty Programme: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Gold Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing