We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too impressed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Certificate of Excellence
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not too impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

After reading the reviews we decided to stay here. This is our 3rd time in NZ and we have learned what a decent price for a room is. It was overpriced for the off season and you had to pay for internet. The room was large and clean. The bathroom was great. But the price was not worth the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brook G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralGold, Owner at ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Unfortunately I am unable to understand where this reviewer is coming from.
We do not charge for the internet and have not done so for the last 5 years.
In addition our rates are the same or less than similar quality motels in Cromwell. In view of the fact we are the only property with double glazing, air conditioning/heat-pumps and a free guest laundry as well as free WI-FI we feel we provide a good all inclusive rate for our guests.
The great majority of guest seem to appreciate the quality accommodation experience we provide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    15
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
55
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We booked this on the basis on their website plus TA comments and were not disappointed.
This is an efficiently run, comfortable and well-appointed motel. Our room (exec suite) was spacious, had good temperature control and offered splendid views over the mountains.
Very satisfactory.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralGold, Owner at ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at ASURE Central Gold Motel in Cromwell.
We are so pleased you had a good experience at our motel. We work hard to keep our facilities of the highest standard possible and to try to meet our guests needs.
We hope again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson City, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

very best studio yet and i stay in motels NZ wide a lot. all facilities, no corners cut, even magazines to read inc recent car mag! Excellent fittings and fixtures, spotlessly clean, good linen. yet very well priced in fact somewhat of a bargain.
my studio had sliding doors to outdoor area out the back which is nicer than onto carpark. nice outlook even. easy stroll to restaurants.
recommended.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamarilloinnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralGold, Owner at ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at ASURE Central Gold Motel in Cromwell.
We are so pleased you had a good experience at our motel and we hope to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We ended up in Cromwell by random selection, and chose this motel based on location and trip-advisor reviews. The room was a little pricy, but well set out and modern.

During our stay, there seemed to be some issues with the newly installed free wifi. The owners went out of their way to try to sort it out, but it wasn't to be, but I was able to gain access from the public areas of the hotel. This is just a teething problem and I'm sure it will be sorted out soon.

Overall there is not much to do/see in town, so I'd suggest a night or two is more than enough.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kmcdona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralGold, Owner at ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at ASURE Central Gold Motel in Cromwell.
Yes sorry about the WIFI. WE have now installed a totally new system which gives excellent coverage anywhere on the property and it is magic. Guests can now use multiple devices in one room too. And its still FREE. .
We hope to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Great place to stay. Good rooms and service. Great advice from the managers. We got to Cromwell early and there was not problem with us booking in early. Easy walk to the shops, restaurants and pubs. Cleaning people were very accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D1vot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralGold, Owner at ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at ASURE Central Gold Motel in Cromwell.
We are so pleased you had a good experience at our motel. We work hard to keep our facilities of the highest standard possible and to try to meet our guests needs.
See you at the Speedway next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Very nice people who do run an excellent B&B and make you feel very welcome! Never stayed before in a B&B where everything was so well arranged with a clear focus also on details! Great job!!!! If you want to visit Cromwell, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralGold, Owner at ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
WE appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at ASURE Central Gold Motel
We are so pleased you had a good experience at our motel. We work hard to keep our facilities of the highest standard possible.
We hope to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was our first time staying here. We booked the spa bath room for a day of relaxation prior to going Te Anau for tramping. The room was very spacious and clean. It is also above the garage so there were no neighbors to worry about. We both slept very well, got up early for a little tramp, and then headed off for a wonderful lunch at a nearby winery. Will consider coming back the next time we're in New Zealand.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralGold, Owner at ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
It is good of you to take the time to review your recent stay at ASURE Central Gold Motel in Cromwell.
We are so pleased you had a good time as we work hard to keep our facilities of the highest standard possible and to try to meet our guests needs.

Come and stay again some day. We would love to see you
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cromwell hotels
4.4 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harvest Hotel
Harvest Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cromwell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carrick Lodge Motel
Carrick Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Cromwell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Colonial Manor Motel
Colonial Manor Motel
#3 of 9 in Cromwell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Gateway Motel
Central Gateway Motel
#7 of 9 in Cromwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anderson Park Motel
Anderson Park Motel
#5 of 9 in Cromwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell

Property: ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell
Address: 24 Barry Avenue, Cromwell 9310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Cromwell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premium 4 star plus accommodation in Cromwell.We are Number 1 in Cromwell ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell offers ASURE Quality 4 star plus accommodation at an affordable price. 11 Spacious, mainly ground floor, studio and 1 bedroom units with great beds, air conditioning,double glazing and some kitchen facilities. Tastefully decorated and well fitted out for our guests enjoyment.FREE guest laundry, FREE WIFI Cromwell is the heart of beautiful Central Otago and the Southern Lakes regions.Make us your base when you explore Cromwell, Alexandra, Clyde, Queenstown and Wanaka We all work hard to make you welcome and ensure you have an enjoyable stay when you visit Central Otago and the Southern Lakes Regions. Your hosts are Yvonne and Graeme We are a member of ASURE Accommodation Group with properties throughout New Zealand. ASURE Loyalty Programme: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Gold Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing