We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value - Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Reviewed 17 December 2010

Spent two nights at this motel. Very impressed with the quality and value for money. One of the best things was not having to pay for extras, e.g. Internet free, laundry free (even including washing powder). Nice private patio area for room.
Would recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralGold, Owner at ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our motel. We really appreciate your comments.
We would also appreciate feedback on what we could do to make it all 5 stars for you.
We continually strive to improve our guests experience and the only way we can do that is for guests to tell us what they expect.So if you have a moment to add to your review that would be great

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2010

We stayed in Cromwell after a day of wine tasting. Graeme (the owner) was incredibly welcoming and very hospitable. He looked after us and made sure we were comfortable. The rooms were great -- very clean, modern and tidy! The bathroom was also modern and very tidy. We were very pleasantly surprised by the price given the quality of the accommodation. To top it off, Graeme wouldn't let me leave a tip!! -- a very humble and genuine man.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superbill83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralGold, Owner at ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2011

Thanks for your great review of your stay at Central Gold Motel Cromwell. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay and hope to see you again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

This motel is very nice. The rooms are modern with a pleasant courtyard and all other facilities. Definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funstuff123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

This was one of the best motels we stayed in during our 28 day trip and this should be an example to many motel owners. The welcome was really friendly and we were given a guided tour of the apartment's features. The first thing was that we had a free upgrade to a spa unit which was great for the price (we were paying NZD 130). The apartment had internet, flat screen TV, remote controlled air-con, heated mirror in the bathroom and heated tiles on the floor of the bathroom and kitchen area if you needed them. Not forgetting the spa bath. The place was spotless and the bed big very comfortable. There was a good sized settee to relax on as well. We were told that the local water wasn't very tasty so we were provided with chilled filtered water. I must admit I never noticed anything wrong with the water. The hotel is within a couple of minutes walking distance of the shops and supermarket. Although this motel is on Cromwell's main road it was very quiet. Cromwell itself is very nice, again in a quiet sort of way. We went for a walk in the evening and everybody we met greeted us, even the teenagers and people having BBQs who saw us out walking. If you are staying for a few nights there are masses of sports facilities in this town. If you get the chance, visit the Goldfields Mining Town (take the guided tour it is excellent and you will learn far more than just walking round the old workings). Also if you are coming from Queenstown, stop off at the Kawarau Bridge and watch the bungy jumping. Great viewing facilities and it's free. Don't get caught out by hoping to see the Nevis jump. You have to book and its NZD50 to watch.

The next time we are in Cromwell, we will be booking this motel well in advance.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamPayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We decided to stay at the Central Gold Motel because Cromwell is right smack in the middle of the Central Otago Wine Region. Our room was very spacious, and the bathroom was pristine! One aspect of the motel that I did not particularly care for was that our sliding door onto the patio had no partition between the other patios, which meant that you couldn't sleep with the slider open (no privacy!). Other than that the room was comfortable. We did have a lovely meal at a restaurant called Feast in the Cromwell mall thanks to the recommendation from the proprietor.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWanderingPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CentralGold, Owner at ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2010

Thanks for the review. I appreciate the time taken to write a review.

I do not know which room the reviewer stayed in but our units have fences both sides of the units outdoor living area for privacy. The only ones which don't have that is four units opening onto the car-park with no courtyard area

Sleeping with the sliding door open would not be recommended. Windows next to the sliding door have securistay window closures and would be a much better option for admitting fresh air to the unit a night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Sorry for the late review,but we stayed here for 2 nights during a 3 week tour of NZ,and we agree totally with the other reviewers.
We also cooked some steaks on the barbeque,along with salad from the nearby New World supermarket.
Don't pass it by ,its excellent. (The motel,and the market.)

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mainway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

The Motel was very warm, spotlessly clean, exceedingly comfortable bed, luxurious shower, quiet, but within walking distance to Shops, groceries and various eating places. The helpful, friendly hosts provided a delicious breakfast for a little extra. Can highly recommend this motel to any visitors to Cromwell.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Centralfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromwell
4.4 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort Cromwell
0.2 mi away
Harvest Hotel
Harvest Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cromwell
89 reviews
24.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carrick Lodge Motel
Carrick Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Cromwell
141 reviews
0 mi away
Colonial Manor Motel
Colonial Manor Motel
#2 of 9 in Cromwell
139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anderson Park Motel
Anderson Park Motel
#5 of 9 in Cromwell
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell

Address: 24 Barry Avenue, Cromwell 9310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Cromwell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range: £76 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premium 4 star plus accommodation in Cromwell.We are Number 1 in Cromwell ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell offers ASURE Quality 4 star plus accommodation at an affordable price. 11 Spacious, mainly ground floor, studio and 1 bedroom units with great beds, air conditioning,double glazing and some kitchen facilities. Tastefully decorated and well fitted out for our guests enjoyment.FREE guest laundry, FREE WIFI Cromwell is the heart of beautiful Central Otago and the Southern Lakes regions.Make us your base when you explore Cromwell, Alexandra, Clyde, Queenstown and Wanaka We all work hard to make you welcome and ensure you have an enjoyable stay when you visit Central Otago and the Southern Lakes Regions. Your hosts are Yvonne and Graeme We are a member of ASURE Accommodation Group with properties throughout New Zealand. ASURE Loyalty Programme: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Gold Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing