We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay”
Review of Cromwell Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cromwell Motel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The unit we stayed in was spotlessly clean in all areas, but the kitchen seemed a bit run-down, and all the utensils etc were clean but old. The glasses were on a shelf that looked like it hadn't been painted for decades.

When we arrived we put some milk, wine, and cheeses in the fridge then went out until around 9:30pm. Unfortunately upon returning, we discovered the fridge was switched off (at the wall socket) and the cheeses had all partially melted, and the milk wasn't so great either.

I wondered if, seeing as the motel was not busy, the fridge had previously been turned off to save electricity while the room was unused?

On the positive side, the unit was spacious with a double/queen bed in the lounge and three single beds in the second room. The internet speed was good, and the staff were friendly.

Probably wouldn't stay here again though, as despite the cleanliness it just felt a bit run-down. And the incident with the fridge - while no doubt an accident - was really annoying.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotelCromwell, Manager at Cromwell Motel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I do apologise that the fridge had been turned off at the wall. Yes they do get turned off on some of our bigger units over the quite period, and I am sorry this was not check on when you checked into the room. Im please you found the place to be comfortable and clean. We would love to have you come back and stay and would over you a special price to compensate for the bad experience. Please do not hesitate to call us when your next in Cromwell

Debbie and Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    23
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
17
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Always a warm welcome , warm and cozy rooms
Good wifi , nice and quiet location .
The cooked breakfast is excellent to start the day .
The hosts are very helpful with wonderful local knowledge .
If travelling to Cromwell the place to stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon1341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotelCromwell, Owner at Cromwell Motel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for the lovely review, I am pleased you received our warm welcome and you found the room to be warm and cozy, as June is usually a colder month we always have the heater on for the guest when they arrive. Im also please you enjoyed that lovely cooked breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again when your in Cromwell.

From the team at the Cromwell Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here while attending Warbirds over Wanaka on Easter Weekend. Lovely spacious clean unit with good kitchen facilities. Nice and quiet surroundings ensured that we had a pleasant stay. The hosts were very helpful and we will likely return for the next WoW.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzrhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotelCromwell, Owner at Cromwell Motel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Another great weekend in Cromwell, it was great to have you staying with us the weekend of the Warbirds over Wanaka at Easter Weekend. Im please you found your accommodation to be clean and you had a pleasant stay. Don't forget to book early for the next Warbirds in 2016. We look forward to hearing from you.

From the Team at the Cromwell Motel

Debbie, Colin and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Thanks very much for making my family and friends so welcome. Rooms clean tidy and a decent size, that is the thing I like so much, new modern motels just don' t have the room, the accommodation is older style, and have a bit of space, very comfortable indeed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiing_phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotelCromwell, Owner at Cromwell Motel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Such a nice review, we are only to happy to make all our guest feel very welcome. I do tend to agree with you with the older and modern motels we tend to go with the older ones as well when were traveling, because they are usually well proportioned for the amount of guest they need to accommodate. We do look forward to seeing you all again when your in Central Otago

A big Thank you form the team at the Cromwell Motel
Debbie, Colin and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staverton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Quiet situation. Set in spacious grounds with bbq and some swings. Everthing was very clean and well maintained. Cromwell Old Town is an interesting place to visit. Heritage buildings overlooking Lake Dunstan.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireLass21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CromwellHarry, Manager at Cromwell Motel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thanks Team, we enjoy having you stay with us each year, and look forward to seeing you all again next year.

From Debbie and Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Debbie and Colin, Thanks again for a fabulous stay, Debbie and Colin are extremely hospitable and certainly cater to all needs where possible. I have taken groups of people to stay here every year for the past 6 or so years as we attend the Cromwell Races. I have never had a complaint and they are an absolute pleasure to deal with. It is close to town if you want to walk and that is both Old and New Cromwell so everything is very accessible. Thanks again guys and I will see you in March 2015.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CromwellHarry, Manager at Cromwell Motel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thanks for the review, its always great to see you all every year for the Cromwell Races, where only to happy to help out with your team each year.

From Debbie and Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014

What a fantastic holiday my family and I had. 2 years we have been with cromwell motels it suits our family Thanks Colin & Debbie your hospitality kindness & time spent with my family was awesome. I recommend this motel it's close to town and to the lake most of all it's great for families with children we all could congregate in the middle for our bbq's at night Debbie and Colin go beyond there duty as propierters they accomodate you where they can happy holidays people.
Tania kingi (Drummond) Southland

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CromwellHarry, Manager at Cromwell Motel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Another great year visiting Central Otago. we enjoy seeing yous guys every year and love to catch up with the whole family, so we will see you all again at Xmas

Debbie and Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cromwell hotels
5.0 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anderson Park Motel
Anderson Park Motel
#6 of 9 in Cromwell
29 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cromwell Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Colonial Manor Motel
Colonial Manor Motel
#3 of 9 in Cromwell
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Gateway Motel
Central Gateway Motel
#7 of 9 in Cromwell
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Motel

Property: Cromwell Motel
Address: 6 Gair Avenue, Cromwell 9310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Cromwell
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cromwell Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central located in the Hub of Central Otago, Cromwell is only 45 minutes from Queenstown Airport. Cromwell Motels is set on 2 acres of grounds with mature trees and outside entertainment area. We have Studios Units 1-2pax, 1 Bedroom Units 2-4pax, Family Units 2-7pax and very large 2 Bedroom unit that sleep between 2-6pax. All units have cooking facilites including a full stove these are great for the longer stay nights. Outdoor swimming pool, free WIFI and Sky TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cromwell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing