We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Burn Cottage Retreat
Reviewed 21 January 2014

You really have to experience one of the cottages, the beautiful woodland - as well as manicured gardens, and the generous but unobtrusive hospitality that is Burn Cottage Retreat! Situated on a country road, it is nevertheless 10 minutes from nearly 25 wonderful Cromwell and Bannockburn wineries = this is the ideal place to stay to explore the wineries, taste the most amazing pinot noirs (as well as flinty rieslings, austere sauvignon blancs and some lovely roses). The hosts, Rose and Phil have created a magical place to relax from a "hard day" of tasting, and have organised everything you need.

Room Tip: "Rascal" and "Moonlight" cottages accommodate one couple each. They are nearly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJBSHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you EJBSHJ for taking the time to review our cottages. We are so pleased we were able to cater to your needs after all the hard work you put in tasting wines in the region! We now have an exciting new development - a stone schist two bedroomed home situated right in the middle of a vineyard and just 8km from Cromwell township so the perfect spot for groups of 4 to 6 people wanting to experience the wineries then enjoy home comforts in a vineyard setting. Best regards to you all and thanks again for staying at Burn Cottage Retreat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Brilliant cottages full of ambience inside and out in the natural garden surroundings. Peaceful and beautiful amenities add to the overall experience. Not least are the wonderful hosts who are committed to your relaxation. We will be back and recommend this retreat to anyone seeking a change from the run of mill accommodation normally on offer.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ChristchurchStewarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time here. We also hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to seeing you back again for some relaxation next time!! Kindest wishes, Rose and Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Rose and Phil are great hosts and have done a wonderful job by creating this place. The cottages are of high standard and very comfortable. The hosta garden is just marvelous. It's so peaceful to sit outside in front of the cottage and listen to the many birds in the evening. Once we played petanque at the newly created playing area which is good fun. This was our second stay at the retreat and again a very pleasant and memorable one. We would love to come back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandMBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

HI CandMBe - thanks so much for writing a review - we do appreciate it. It was lovely to see you again and we look forward to your next visit. We are so pleased you enjoyed the cottages and gardens as much this time as last time. We enjoy sharing our special property with guests such as yourselves who appreciate all we have to offer. With kindest regards, R&P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

When things can't seem to get any worse, think of that old Hungarian saying "Under a frog's backside at the bottom of a coalmine." Antidote - (1) take at least 3 days at Burn Cottage Retreat; (2) savour every moment of the wow factor accommodation, setting, standards and service; (3) read the reviews and believe every superlative; (4) thank the stars for the privilege of meeting Rose, Phil and Meg. 25 years in NZ and another of it's tantalising secrets serendipitously discovered for much needed time out. Have stayed in luxury lodges, five star hotels and apartments, and countrywide cribs and batches. Burn Cottage Retreat easily #1 choice and right under my nose too. Brilliant location, hidden but so accessible, stay on site (many people do), walk or cycle, worth every cent and body and soul catered for for free!

Room Tip: Just take any cottage that is available and if you have special needs know that you are catered for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for your lovely review Graham M. It was fabulous meeting you (and friends!) and we are delighted our accomodation, standards and country garden setting made such a lasting impression. We love it when our guests are happy here and we look forward to your next visit soon. Kindest wishes, Rose, Phil and Meg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights during our tour of the South Island. We arrived in the late afternoon on Christmas day and found our cottage (Moonlight Cottage) to be clean, cozy and well equipped. Our host was very thoughtful and, days before our arrival, clued us in on the fact that nothing close by would be open on Christmas for dinner. So, we took full advantage of the fully-stocked kitchen and made a gourmet steak and potato dinner with some fresh salad greens and baby carrots from the on-site vegetable garden. We ordered a breakfast hamper for our stay, which included a great selection of cereals, muesli, yogurt, jams, bread, butter and juice. One hamper lasted us for two days with plenty left over to enjoy as snacks for our drive to Franz Joseph. We also found fresh cherries, walnuts and a sweet treat in our room on arrival.

The next day, we drove into Queenstown for a Milford Sound flight and dinner. On the morning of our departure, we stopped a did a few hikes around Lake Wanaka. Overall, this was a great place to stay outside of the hustle and bustle of Queenstown. If your into wine, wineries are abundant in the Cromwell area.

Room Tip: The Moonlight Cottage was very nice. The kitchen was very well equipped and received full sun in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJBVDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Hello BJBVDB - thank you so much for staying with us and for taking time to write a review of your stay. We are so pleased you sampled produce from our guest vege garden which is always popular and so much nicer enjoying home grown, organic produce when you are travelling far from home. As you mention, we offer a tranquil and romantic setting for couples, away from the frantic pace of Queenstown and Wanaka, yet within easy driving distance of wineries, cafes, adventures, shops and hiking trails. Thanks again and best wishes to you both for 2014. Kindly, Rose and Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed in Rascal cottage. Its a little slice of heaven. Rose and Phil are keen gardeners (and builders!) and have made a fantastic garden retreat by the vineyards. The cottage is fitted to a high standard and we spent our evening on the terrace with our own BBQ and wines and a big bowl of their fresh walnuts. They left us a lovely breakfast basket and home made preserves....delicious. It's perfect location to enjoy the pinot noir countryside. We have stayed in 3 places like this on our travel round the south island and this was by far the best value and a great overall location that we enjoyed for the money (even versus the more expensive places we stayed). I wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy it even more.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Kay T, thank you for your lovely review. It is always satisfying to know we have met and exceeded our guest' expectations. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and found it to be good value. We strive to ensure guests have everything they need to make their stay special and memorable and to leave feeling refreshed. We hope we can welcome you back for a longer stay next time! Kindest wishes, Rose and Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in Rascal Cottage and it was one of the most enjoyable parts of our trip. Rose & Phil have created a beautiful & peaceful retreat where you can really relax and enjoy the surroundings. The cottage was very well appointed, spacious and comfortable with a great bed & shower. There is also a nice outdoor area with a deck, seating and a BBQ. The gardens are lovely to wander around & we loved waking up to the view of sheep from our bedroom window. The cottage is located just a short drive out of Cromwell but in close proximity to Lake Dunstan & many local wineries. We loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveller5039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Happy New Year and thank you Happytraveller for taking the time to write a review. We do appreciate it. Our wee mob of coloured sheep are cheeky characters and quite entertaining at times! We hope you loved the rest of your holiday and hope we see you back again to enjoy the multitude of experiences on offer in this lovely region. Kindest regards and thanks once again, Rose and Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cromwell hotels
3.4 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
270 reviews
1.5 mi away
Firewood Creek House
Firewood Creek House
#1 of 10 in Cromwell
33 reviews
1.7 mi away
Carrick Lodge Motel
Carrick Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Cromwell
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cromwell Top 10 Holiday Park
1.7 mi away
Colonial Manor Motel
Colonial Manor Motel
#4 of 9 in Cromwell
130 reviews
1.7 mi away
ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burn Cottage Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burn Cottage Retreat

Address: 168 Burn Cottage Road | Rd 2, Cromwell 9384, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Cromwell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Cromwell
Price Range: £123 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Burn Cottage Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! We would love to have you stay in one of our three boutique, private and romantic self contained cottages. We refer to Burn Cottage Retreat as 'our little piece of paradise' and offer secluded and quiet accommodation, nestled amidst walnut trees, tussocks, woodland and large gardens, 2-3 km from Cromwell and Lake Dunstan. Surrounded by wineries, orchards and other places of interest such as Highlands Motor Sport park. We are centrally located for exploring the Queenstown, Wanaka, Mt Cook, Southland and Fiordland regions. We offer guests free mountain bikes (subject to availability), free WIFI and free laundry facilities. Each cottage has a King bed, en-suite bathroom, a fully equipped kitchen with Nespresso Machine, a lounge area, own carport and private BBQ. Our spacious accommodation is suitable for mature couples who enjoy the finer things in life and wish to relax in beautiful, tranquil surrounds. We also have a cottage with an easy access shower for those less mobile and can sleep a third person. Continental breakfasts are available on request. Additional charges apply for extra person and breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Burn Cottage Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing