We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best cooked steak in awhile!”

Cromwell Brew House
Ranked #24 of 34 Restaurants in Cromwell
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Blenheim
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best cooked steak in awhile!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Friendly and efficient staff, nothing was a problem.
My steak was cooked exactly how I asked and our meals were presented lovely.
Only complaint is that it's over priced for what it is compared to other restaurants and similar menus.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nichx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    37
    10
    4
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lunch visit ”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Dropped in for a quick bite .
Menu was good for lunch options.
And yes does have a children's meal as well.
Nice and clean place to go for a meal and staff and service was good.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Try the Tuesday night special”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

we go here regularly and especially like their Tuesday night special. there are other deals other nights. Lovely staff member to whom nothing is a problem. Only downside is seeing owner standing on the other side of the bar drinking with the punters.He is sometimes not the friendliest chap.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not to bad”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Great service but if she ask how my meal was I would of told her. She didn't ask. It would be nice to get a smile to. Carpet probably needs a yearly carpet clean.

Helpful?
Thank sting1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Low quality food”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were in early March because all the nice vineyard options closed at 5pm. They have a decent bar and good beer. Smokers take up the outside patio seating and the open doors let the smoke right in. Don't eat here unless you want an incredibly below average meal, I ordered the seafood chowder and it was a joke after the wonderful bowls I've savored in New Zealand. Their version of seafood is that cheap fake crab made from processed fish, no shrimp and no scallops, one mussel and one tiny piece of mystery fish in a salty cream base. I ate it because I was hungry and it was hot. The fried scallops were tasteless marble sized grease balls in a thick batter obviously right out of a bag. The lamb shanks were small, overcooked and tasteless.The music video TV was loud and obnoxious. Just stay away from here unless you are a smoker, just want a drink or are desperate enough to eat anything.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ValueSeeker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cromwell Brew House also viewed

Cromwell, Central Otago
Cromwell, Central Otago
 
Cromwell, Central Otago
Cromwell, Central Otago
 
Cromwell, Central Otago
 

Been to Cromwell Brew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing