We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A well kept local secret!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nichols Garden Cafe

Nichols Garden Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Cromwell
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A cafe that is set inside nichols garden center
Piha, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A well kept local secret!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We have driven down from Lake Hawea thinking that we would go for a drive to find something to eat. We drove drove Cromwell and were disappointed, in a near tantrum (due to low blood sugar) I spotted the signs on the road, the next mission was to find the entrance. Through a garden centre we went. Thinking oh well at least it is food as we walked through. Imagine my surprise when we walked into a well appointed cafe! The food was great, and rather quick service to. It is a must stop venue rather than being a place you just chance upon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Piharian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlannLou, Owner at Nichols Garden Cafe, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Yes, Cromwell is a well kept secret....but not for long we hope!!!

Cheers

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    41
    12
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
459 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good meeting place with prompt service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We were staying in Queenstown and arranged to meet friends from Alexandra here for coffee etc.
it was latish in the afternoon - but we were served cheerfully and enjoyed slices etc from the cabinet which still had a reasonable range of food for that time of day. Plenty of parking and an interesting shop - all part of the garden centre.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlannLou, Owner at Nichols Garden Cafe, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Yup...we have great carparks and is a hub for meetings in the district.

would like to see 5 dots instead of 4 the next time you come see us!!!!

Cheers for this

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

Was really looking forward to eggs benedict with the family, we ordered 3 with bacon all the eggs were over cooked and one looked like it had been scrambled and the misreable dribble of hollindase sauce was pathetic. One of the orders had asked for extra hollindase was charged two dollars for about a tablespoon!
To top it off two portions of chips ordered never arrived and a refund was requested.
Disappointing and overpriced.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ntsyrcks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlannLou, Owner at Nichols Garden Cafe, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Looks like we under performed on this day. Take on your comments and descriptive words.

We only hope that you can see through the not the best experience and give us another visit!!

Take care

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

Fantastic food. So good i went two days in a row! freshist, crispiest salad..to die for and the most divine lemon curd cakes with cream cheese icing. Friendly staff and smooth running origanisation. 1000 thankyous and i will spread the word1

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lynette c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlannLou, Owner at Nichols Garden Cafe, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hoooorrrraaaayyyyyy.......a happy customer! this is what we crave for...

Thanks

Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

Meet friend for a coffee here. Fast efficient service lovely food and nice relaxed atmosphere. And to top of great gift store and garden centre.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank QTOWNFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nichols Garden Cafe also viewed

Cromwell, Central Otago
Cromwell, Central Otago
 
Cromwell, Central Otago
Cromwell, Central Otago
 

Been to Nichols Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing