We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awesome food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Feast - CLOSED

Feast
Cuisines: New Zealand, Mediterranean, European
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
“Awesome food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Always amazing food and the service is great. The menu changes about ever 3 to 6 months to keep things interesting, but also because the Chef likes to use local produce whenever possible. Would recommend to anyone who loves great food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not great value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Overall good food, I ordered the rib eye with a parsnip rosti, and the rosti was I inedible it was so dry. The beef was cooked perfectly though. My parents both got the lamb and it was presented beautifully and tasted great too. A little smaller meals than I would have liked as I was still hungry when we left, could have been solved if I could actually eat the rosti. Service was terrible, we desperately wanted another bottle of wine and were never checked on for additional drinks. In the end my father had to walk up to the bar to request some wine as no amount of waving would get the waiters attention. if service would improve I would reccommed it as a nice SMALL place to dine. Maybe better for couples rather than family groups.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great platters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

I'll quite often stop off a Cromwell on the journey between Dunedin & Queenstown/Wanaka. Josh, he Chef Patron does an amazing job making use of local produce. Would thoroughly recommend on of the platter with a glass of Locharburn Pinot Noir from Chef Josh's family vineyard.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesHacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Moveable Feast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Cromwell is one of those South Island New Zealand towns where if you blink you are past it in a blur of agricultural machinery and sheep.
Yet it’s a town foodies will find is worth making a special pilgrimage to visit. Feast is an unpretentious little restaurant in the centre of the town’s unpretentious little shopping mall and it serves superb food and wine at reasonable prices. Chef and owner Jonathan Hill takes full advantage of Feast’s location in the central Ortago plains. Surrounded by vast vineyards and hectares of fruit orchards he uses an extensive selection of local produce to serve dishes of stunning simplicity to a Michelin starred standard.
Try the Merino lamb beautifully presented and perfectly cooked by the small team in the kitchen. Prices are in the NZ$30 to $40 range for a main course. Desserts are a marvel of artistry and the wine selection is good and, again, modestly priced.
The setting is informal and relaxed and the service friendly and efficient. All in all a wonderful watering hole: unpretentious and value for money showcasing some of the best New Zealand cooking and produce.
Worth making that detour of some hundreds of miles!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank waspie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

This restaurant was an unexpected find, inside a mall in the small town of Cromwell. Very nice menu, well-prepared and tasty.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travelers058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Feast also viewed

 
Cromwell, Central Otago
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing