We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding lunch”
Review of The Shed at Northburn Station - CLOSED

The Shed at Northburn Station
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Northburn Station is a 13,500 hectare high country merino sheep station that has diversified the traditional grazing operation to include a vineyard and function venue. The Shed Cellar Door and Restaurant is open for weddings, private functions and wine tasting by appointment. Northburn is surrounded by spectacular mountains, overlooks the picturesque Lake Dunstan and is only a few minutes drive out of Cromwell. So come and enjoy the Northburn Experience with us.
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We had visited The Shed once before but only for a tasting. This time we had lunch and thought it was outstanding. We were greeted by a very friendly Maitre d' who then looked after our every need. We sat on a couch outside in the sun with great views and had the Haloumi and Lamb Shoulder which both got a big thumbs up. We were served very promptly and were out in less than an hour but never felt rushed at any stage. We couldn't fault lunch at The Shed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davidmcb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul t, General Manager at The Shed at Northburn Station, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hi David

Thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback and I have passed this on to the staff. See you again soon hopefully!

Regards

Paul Tudgay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

Had lunch at Northburn Station and it was terrific. We went for the slow cooked lamb (why not we are in NZ) . It was fabulous. After we treated ourselves to some extreme golf and managed to ht the green…giving us a free bottle of wine…great.

Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paultudgay, General Manager at The Shed at Northburn Station, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

HI stays999

Great that you had such a complete Northburn experience - Merino from the farm and golf! And the wines not bad either - though not always free!

See you again soon.

Regards

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We visited Central Otago as part of a holiday in New Zealand and were recommended to eat at the Northburn Winery and were not disappointed. The food and wine were really delicious and the staff very welcoming. The setting was beautiful also.

We have visited New Zealand a few times and have eaten at many wineries and this was the best so far. In fact we ate at our favourite to date, Gibbstone Valley, the next day and agreed that Northburn was better. So much so that we had lunch there again before leaving this beautiful part of the South Island.

Highly recommended!

Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paultudgay, General Manager at The Shed at Northburn Station, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Hi Jan B

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Tripadvisor is vital to our business in terms of promotion and a measure of our success. Its great that you enjoyed lunch here and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We visited Northburn Station so that we could check it out as a potential wedding venue. While we were there we had lunch and we had the merino back straps which were just delicious. It was one of the best lunches I have ever had.

We stayed for a wee wine tasting session and loved the wine. We were very well looked after by Alex and all of the other staff there.

The setting and outlook is amazing, so much so that we have booked it for our wedding next year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nevermind1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paultudgay, Manager at The Shed at Northburn Station, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Hi nevermind1984

It was lovely to meet you and we are looking forward to hosting you for your wedding next year. I'm really happy that you chose Northburn as your venue - you won't be disappointed!

Cheers

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

2 had the ricotta and 1 had the smoked salmon and rock melon and we shared a plate of the breads and olive oil Andy dukkah. The food was excellent although not overly generous and the rose wine was first class. The desserts were good portions and delicious.
The ambience and service were very good and the area generally is lovely.

Thank emptyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paultudgay, General Manager at The Shed at Northburn Station, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Hi

Thanks for your review, we appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Regards

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shed at Northburn Station also viewed

 
Cromwell, Central Otago
Cromwell, Central Otago
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing