We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Country Treat - - Kiwi Style” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shed at Northburn Station - CLOSED

The Shed at Northburn Station
Cuisines: New Zealand, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Northburn Station is a 13,500 hectare high country merino sheep station that has diversified the traditional grazing operation to include a vineyard and function venue. The Shed Cellar Door and Restaurant is open for weddings, private functions and wine tasting by appointment. Northburn is surrounded by spectacular mountains, overlooks the picturesque Lake Dunstan and is only a few minutes drive out of Cromwell. So come and enjoy the Northburn Experience with us.
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Country Treat - - Kiwi Style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We discovered The Shed last year on our hurried drive to Queenstown airport. This year we made certain to reserve a nearby B&B so we didn't have to rush our visit. Be sure you don't either! The setting, the food and the wine make this a dining experience that you just won't want to end. A warm day with a lakeside view alongside the vineyard was the perfect setting for enjoying perfectly cooked Merino lamb accompanied by a superb bottle of Northburn's own reserve pinot noir. Once again the service was truly friendly and helpful. As we lingered over an amazing lemon torte dessert and tasty espresso we concluded that a year of planning our return to the Shed was well worth the effort! No wonder the couple next to us, longtime Queenstown natives, were there to celebrate their anniversary. Given the enthusiasm of the many contented weekend patrons, be sure to book!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Curt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul t, General Manager at The Shed at Northburn Station, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Hi Curt

Thanks for your comprehensive and thoughtful review of The Shed. We work hard to ensure the food and service fit in with the relaxing surroundings sand stunning views.

Hopefully you get a chance to visit us again sometime.

Regards

Paul Tudgay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    25
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We came here for lunch and the found the surrounding beautiful with the lake and the little rowboat. Some boys were rowing in the lake and ducks were on the grass. We parked our cars and the rose lined pathway led us over a little bridge to the winery. We ordered the charcuterie platter and that was delicious with homemade chutney and relish. Everything was good especially the apricot crumb cake we shared for dessert. Highly recommend the Shed if you are in the area. It's very relaxing to sit outside and they have very good service. They even provide hats and sunscreen for sitting outside.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa_Chow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul t, General Manager at The Shed at Northburn Station, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Hi Melissa

The team at The Shed thanks you for your review and kind words. We would love to see you back here soon!

Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We had visited The Shed once before but only for a tasting. This time we had lunch and thought it was outstanding. We were greeted by a very friendly Maitre d' who then looked after our every need. We sat on a couch outside in the sun with great views and had the Haloumi and Lamb Shoulder which both got a big thumbs up. We were served very promptly and were out in less than an hour but never felt rushed at any stage. We couldn't fault lunch at The Shed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank davidmcb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul t, General Manager at The Shed at Northburn Station, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Hi David

Thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback and I have passed this on to the staff. See you again soon hopefully!

Regards

Paul Tudgay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great shoulder of lamb and an extra golf experience\”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Had lunch at Northburn Station and it was terrific. We went for the slow cooked lamb (why not we are in NZ) . It was fabulous. After we treated ourselves to some extreme golf and managed to ht the green…giving us a free bottle of wine…great.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank stays999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paultudgay, General Manager at The Shed at Northburn Station, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
HI stays999

Great that you had such a complete Northburn experience - Merino from the farm and golf! And the wines not bad either - though not always free!

See you again soon.

Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We visited Central Otago as part of a holiday in New Zealand and were recommended to eat at the Northburn Winery and were not disappointed. The food and wine were really delicious and the staff very welcoming. The setting was beautiful also.

We have visited New Zealand a few times and have eaten at many wineries and this was the best so far. In fact we ate at our favourite to date, Gibbstone Valley, the next day and agreed that Northburn was better. So much so that we had lunch there again before leaving this beautiful part of the South Island.

Highly recommended!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paultudgay, General Manager at The Shed at Northburn Station, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hi Jan B

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Tripadvisor is vital to our business in terms of promotion and a measure of our success. Its great that you enjoyed lunch here and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shed at Northburn Station also viewed

 
Cromwell, Central Otago
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing