We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning venue and astonishing food”
Review of The Shed at Northburn Station - CLOSED

The Shed at Northburn Station
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Northburn Station is a 13,500 hectare high country merino sheep station that has diversified the traditional grazing operation to include a vineyard and function venue. The Shed Cellar Door and Restaurant is open for weddings, private functions and wine tasting by appointment. Northburn is surrounded by spectacular mountains, overlooks the picturesque Lake Dunstan and is only a few minutes drive out of Cromwell. So come and enjoy the Northburn Experience with us.
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I loved everything about our visit here on a hot and sunny March day. The cellar and grounds with a view over Lake Dunstan are breathtaking with both service and food to match.
We both had the fish of the day which was monkfish with scallop butter and served with organic, home grown kale, potatoes and salad. With a bottle of Northburn Pinot Gris and a shared cheese board to follow, the lunch was exquisite with delightful service. The bill was less than $100 for two.
An absolutely memorable experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

We took our daughter, chef, out to lunch when she was visiting. It was a gorgeous Autumn day. We sat outside as did the other diners.
Northburn"s "The Shed" has a wonderful setting with its heritage style building and lovely garden all looking out across Lake Dunstan.
We couldn't fault any of it. Our waiter was lovely and quite charming. We all had a starter and a main with the matched wine. I chose the merino lamb and it was wonderfuly cooked and presented.
Definately recommend and will dine here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jilleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul t, General Manager at The Shed at Northburn Station, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hi Jileen

It was great to meet you and Kate and always lovely to get feedback from people in the industry. We hope to see you again soon.

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We discovered The Shed last year on our hurried drive to Queenstown airport. This year we made certain to reserve a nearby B&B so we didn't have to rush our visit. Be sure you don't either! The setting, the food and the wine make this a dining experience that you just won't want to end. A warm day with a lakeside view alongside the vineyard was the perfect setting for enjoying perfectly cooked Merino lamb accompanied by a superb bottle of Northburn's own reserve pinot noir. Once again the service was truly friendly and helpful. As we lingered over an amazing lemon torte dessert and tasty espresso we concluded that a year of planning our return to the Shed was well worth the effort! No wonder the couple next to us, longtime Queenstown natives, were there to celebrate their anniversary. Given the enthusiasm of the many contented weekend patrons, be sure to book!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Curt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul t, General Manager at The Shed at Northburn Station, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hi Curt

Thanks for your comprehensive and thoughtful review of The Shed. We work hard to ensure the food and service fit in with the relaxing surroundings sand stunning views.

Hopefully you get a chance to visit us again sometime.

Regards

Paul Tudgay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We came here for lunch and the found the surrounding beautiful with the lake and the little rowboat. Some boys were rowing in the lake and ducks were on the grass. We parked our cars and the rose lined pathway led us over a little bridge to the winery. We ordered the charcuterie platter and that was delicious with homemade chutney and relish. Everything was good especially the apricot crumb cake we shared for dessert. Highly recommend the Shed if you are in the area. It's very relaxing to sit outside and they have very good service. They even provide hats and sunscreen for sitting outside.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Melissa_Chow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul t, General Manager at The Shed at Northburn Station, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hi Melissa

The team at The Shed thanks you for your review and kind words. We would love to see you back here soon!

Regards

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We had visited The Shed once before but only for a tasting. This time we had lunch and thought it was outstanding. We were greeted by a very friendly Maitre d' who then looked after our every need. We sat on a couch outside in the sun with great views and had the Haloumi and Lamb Shoulder which both got a big thumbs up. We were served very promptly and were out in less than an hour but never felt rushed at any stage. We couldn't fault lunch at The Shed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davidmcb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul t, General Manager at The Shed at Northburn Station, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hi David

Thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback and I have passed this on to the staff. See you again soon hopefully!

Regards

Paul Tudgay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shed at Northburn Station also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing