We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place - highly recommended !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Earth Outdoor Kitchen & Cellar Door

Wild Earth Outdoor Kitchen & Cellar Door
Ranked #4 of 33 Restaurants in Cromwell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$27
Cuisines: Wine Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cross the bridge over the Mighty Kawarau River to join us in our idillic Central Otago setting, surrounded by Wild Thyme and rocky outcrops.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Excellent place - highly recommended !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Out-of-this-world outdoor dining almosphere.
Creative & delectable food - Sliced Abalone (NOT "Paua"), Laksa/MeeSiam "NZ style".....
Great value for money
Wonderful wine-tasting experience offered by owner Mr Quinton - he was extremely friendly and even brought us to visit his winery plantation nearby !!!

Can't help but headed for lunch again the next day - derfinitely best impromptu encounter in our entire NZ trip ! ! <Jeffrey Kan - Singapore>

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Celltronics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasinrio, Director of Sales at Wild Earth Outdoor Kitchen & Cellar Door, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Hi Jeffrey,

Thank you for your review of our restaurant. We are so pleased you enjoyed it as much as you did. Also, thank you for the photos you sent us through of your experience! We loved being able to share in your holiday.

Hope the rest of your stay in NZ was amazing.

The Wild Earth team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    66
    15
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“best smoked food, beautiful surroundings and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

we stopped in here to look at the mining... didnt even make it that far the smell of the smoking food diverted our intentions. we had 3 of their tapas style dishes and a couple of glasses of their Rose. wished we had of found this place 5 days earlier when we arrived in Queenstown because we would have been a couple of times. the service was faultless, what nice people and i hope they do really well, they deserve to. just to add we didnt have anywhere near as nice meals in Queenstown as this one.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasinrio, Director of Sales at Wild Earth Outdoor Kitchen & Cellar Door, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Hi Claire,
I'm really pleased we managed to tempt you in to try our food. Thanks for your lovely comments on the food. Our Chef David works really hard on making interesting dishes that match with our wines. Perhaps you tried the Salmon - it matches perfectly with our Rose.
Pop in next time you are down this way - we would love to have you back - and the Mining centre is well worth a visit.
Cheers,
Sarah and the Wild Earth team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
“A warm welcome in a peaceful environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Went there for lunch the other day and straight away got a warm welcome from the lovely hostess Kate.

We received a clear explanation of the menu and decided to try on the platter.
In no time it appeared on our table and one word popped into mind: "Amazing".
So much choice and a great value for money! We were definitely impressed by the originality and flavours.

After enjoying our meal we got invited to have a look at how our meal got prepared in their wine barrel cooker. David, a charming young talented chef explained and showed his craft and shared with us his passion and love for food.

They have added a "regular" to their guest list that is prepared to go the distance for a meal that will excite the taste buds.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DamianA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasinrio, Director of Sales at Wild Earth Outdoor Kitchen & Cellar Door, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Hi Damian,
Thanks for your review. Im so pleased you enjoyed our Platter. We love being able to host people like yourself and introduce you to our way ofcooking our 'Wild Food'. We would love to have you back to dine with us - perhaps stop in one Friday or Saturday night for our late night Tapas style sharing menu - it's similar to the Platter, but there are a few extra options.
Hopefully we will see you back again.
Cheers,
Sarah and the Wild Earth Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury UK
Level Contributor
154 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Something a bit different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Called in whilst visiting the gold mining site next door and was surprised by the offerings. Only wanted a smallish lunch and didn't want to try the wines so went for a couple of their platter items - fantastic food. Shame they aren't open in the evening - dinner here would be great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank QJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasinrio, Director of Sales at Wild Earth Outdoor Kitchen & Cellar Door, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Hi QJH,
I'm so pleased you stopped in and we were able to find an appropriately sized lunch for you. Like your title says - we are a bit different and we pride ourselves on our food (and our wines of course too). Funny you should mention dinner - from this Friday we are trialling late nights on Friday and Saturday to allow evening dining - and to make the most of this fantastic Spring weather we have all been enjoying. I hope the rest of your trip goes well, and perhaps we will see you back here for Dinner one day.

Warm regards,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We arnt wine drinkers but got the platter with the wine tasters and it was fantastic. We were very impressed with the whole thing.
We had a Russian? Women serving us and she was FANTASTIC and extremely helpful offering sunscreen and hats to our 2 small children if we needed it.
Great experience

Helpful?
Thank andrea18130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasinrio, Director of Sales at Wild Earth Outdoor Kitchen & Cellar Door, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hi Andrea, thank you for your lovely review. We're super pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us. Oksana (your waitress from Ukraine not Russia - no-one ever guesses correctly!) is a star and I will pass on your feedback to her. Hope you guys enjoyed the sunny outdoors and didn't get burnt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Earth Outdoor Kitchen & Cellar Door also viewed

 
Cromwell, Central Otago
Cromwell, Central Otago
 

Been to Wild Earth Outdoor Kitchen & Cellar Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing