We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent motel !!”

Colonial Manor Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colonial Manor Motel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Colonial Manor is the most expensive motel we booked in our trip. The expensive I mean is not really expensive ,we paid 175NZ$ per night for 4 adults. The self contained we unit we had was spacious, so bright ,so clean and a modern kitchen!!! We just loved it. We saw many flowers outside from the kitchen windows..we felt like HOME!!
Tony the host a very kind man. Fully recommended motel in Cromwell.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleyliulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. Jenny spends many hours in our gardens and the lupins outside unit 15 are looking very spectacular right now as do the roses arond the property. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your visit to the South Island and hope to see you back our way one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2012

Thanks so much to Jenny we had a bad week at home but our stay at your motel made a bad week good, top spot and would recommend to anyone we stayed last Saturday night the weather was not great but the motel helped fix that we have stayed at other motels and hotels in Cromwell but the colonial is the best by far Dave and Sue

Room Tip: Top floor is the one grat views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrycolman, Owner at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Thanks Sue for your feedback. Our upstairs units (11 and 12 )are very cosy and private . We find many of our guests who stay in them just close the door and shut out the rest of the world. The spacious room, private balcony, cooking facilities and large spa bath make it an ideal retreat. Sue I hope life sorts itself out for you and Dave. Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Have just returned to UK and not for the first time stayed at the Colonial Manor, the fourth in fact in five years.
This time we booked for two nights and stayed six. Colonial Manor is well appointed and very comfortable and located in quiet surroundings. The manager and his wife went out of their way to make us extremely welcome, no doubt we will be back

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodney s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Thank you Rodney for posting such a positive review. We enjoy your company as knowledgable and enthusiastic tourists to our part of the world. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your visit downunder in NZ and we do hope to see you both back our way in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stayed two nights at the great motel, Of all the motels I have stayed at over the last 12 years this would have to be the best, great location, great helpful staff, and the best rooms I have stayed in.
Every thing close at hand. The bed was soooo good
I will be going back again, and recommend to others
Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be great we had room one which was so quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Thank you Phil for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and especially the comments on the beds. We place special care on bed comfort as we have travelled a lot ourselves and a good sleep is a priority at a motel for the majority of guests especially business guests. Hope to see you on your next visit to Central Otago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Fantastic Motel - the most comfortable motel I have stayed in. Spacious, warm, heavenly beds and wonderful hosts. Can't recommend too highly. Centrally located in stunning Central Otago with views over the mountains from our balcony. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah_Mcnicol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Thank you Sarah for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your weekend away and hope you will visit us again some time. Quite a few of our guests have commented about our comfortable beds since we installed new topper pads over winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stayed for 2 nights and highly recommend Colonial Manor. Large spacious room with bonus of DVD/tv in kids room, a desk in their room and a breakfast bar for eating at. Great location easy to walk to shops, pool. Friendly staff ready to help. Good to see they try and recycle as much waste as possible too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moners2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrycolman, Owner at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you for your review. The addition of the second DVD player in the two family unit side bedrooms has been very popular with both parents and kids since being installed about a year ago. The proximity of the heated pool across the road is also a big hit as a family entertainment both in summer and in winter . We have been pleasantly surprised and delighted at the willingness of most of our guests to participate in our rubbish separation and recycling program . Every bit helps reduce landfilling our lovely countryside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
barrycolman, Manager at Colonial Manor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cromwell hotels
4.4 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harvest Hotel
Harvest Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cromwell
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carrick Lodge Motel
Carrick Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Cromwell
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake Dunstan Motel
Lake Dunstan Motel
#6 of 9 in Cromwell
79 reviews
0 mi away
ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell
0.5 mi away
Anderson Park Motel
Anderson Park Motel
#5 of 9 in Cromwell
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Manor Motel

Address: 14 Barry Avenue, Cromwell 9310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Cromwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range: £76 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Colonial Manor Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star quality motel is set in park like grounds with stunning views of the Central Otago landscape. All our spacious units have double glazing for warmth and quietness.The refurbished units are fitted out with large comfortable beds and each room has a new LCD TV with USB and HDMI inputs. You can enjoy your chance to relax and unwind. Sit outside your unit or in the garden in the evening with a glass of fine local wine or cider. Visit one of our excellent local Cromwell or Bannockburn restaurants.Rates include all Taxes.500MB of FREE wifi per room per day.FREE level off street parking outside units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Colonial Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing