We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home on the road ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Central Gateway Motel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Home on the road ...”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Twice in February and once in March 2012 I had the opportunity to stay at the Central Gateway Hotel in Cromwell, South Island. The hosts Dave and Leeza Smith became friends on my first stay and family on my subsequent stays. It was wonderful when Leeza remembered the room that I liked and made sure that I had the same room on subsequent stays. Dave shifted things around so that I had secure parking for my Harley. The rooms are new, spacious and quiet. Each room has a nice outdoor sitting area with a great view of the mountains. Although I didn't use it the motel also has a nice BBQ area in a grassy area adjacent to the motel. Best of all the wireless Internet worked perfectly for Skype calls to my family back in Canada. The internet was reasonably priced (free) and unlike most motel wireless internet in NZ, worked perfectly. The motel is a little off the beaten track in Cromwell but the nice thing is that it is located within easy walking (staggering) distance of a nice pub with good food and great beer. Being able to walk to and from the watering hole is an important consideration when you are traveling by motorcycle. The room rate was quite reasonable for NZ in 2012 although I expect that I got a discount from the posted rate. It will definitely be my home away from home when I am traveling again in that part of NZ.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maac05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
24
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

This motel has unlimited views of the mountains, and is a stroll to the old town. We breakfasted on the balcony after a fantastic night's sleep in glamorous and comfortable beds with woollen throws. You get a free voucher for the wireless internet and the owners are kind and welcoming. You feel poised on the edge of town.

Room Tip: Go for the studio rooms that are on the high side of the section - the views are great even if the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diorissi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Really enjoyable! Were were upgraded to 1st floor room, with full kitchen facilities, the sleeping room was full of sunshine. Received one milk bottle and 100MB internet voucher at check-in. Cromwell itself is a nice little town, with supermarket, petrol station, shopping area and a nice historic center. Will come again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This motel is one of the best we have stayed in. The owners were very friendly and helpful. As we were staying for 3 nights we were upgraded to an upstairs studio. Accommodation was spacious, comfortable and clean. There was a 32" television with Sky channels. Kitchen was well equipped and guest washing machine was free and included washing powder. Washing could be hung outside or drier could be used at a cost of $2. Also received a free daily newspaper and free internet access. The view from our studio was amazing. Would highly recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: Upstairs studios have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaF2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

we found this motel,extremly well maintained ,and very,very,clean warm,and comfortable,
Good hosts , and everything plus more you would expect
We will be advising other travellers of this excellent accommodation
Thank-you

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanleyTimaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

This motel is in a quiet location and within walking distance of Cromwell old town and the lake. Room spacious (we had the one next to the garage) and owner/manager really helpful and friendly. Picked it from the AA book because it had free internet. We only stayed one night as we were passing through to Mount Cook. Good value. Away from the main shopping part of town, which is a quick 2-3 minute drive away with good supermarket for stocking up and cooking in the kitchen in the room. Free laundry in the complex.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2011travel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I stayed for a week for a photography trip around Otago during the peak of autumn colour recently. The service is excellent and the owners very friendly and accommodating. The room was lovely - modern, clean and tidy with a large bed and large TV plus enough heaters to sink a ship. The rate for the week was very competitive considering how nice the room was. I will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris1447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cromwell hotels
4.9 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harvest Hotel
Harvest Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cromwell
83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Colonial Manor Motel
Colonial Manor Motel
#3 of 9 in Cromwell
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cromwell Top 10 Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Carrick Lodge Motel
Carrick Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Cromwell
120 reviews
0.6 mi away
ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Gateway Motel

Property: Central Gateway Motel
Address: 67-69 Inniscort Street, Cromwell 9310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Cromwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a quality stay at an affordable price!Plus you can earn FLYBUYS points here. Free Wireless as well. We have 8 comfortable, 4 star quality units, beautifully decorated and nice and spacious all are fully self-contained: 6 studio and 2 x 1-bedroom family units sleeping up to 6 persons. The upstairs studios have fantastic views of the hills and a glimpse through to lake. Ground floor units that bask in afternoon sun are available as well. Each unit has a fully equipped kitchen, large LCD TV - the family units have 2 TVs, Super king-size beds and heat pump/air conditioners in most units. FREE Wireless internet available. Continental breakfasts are also available.Central Gateway Motel is situated 300m from Lake Dunstan and Cromwell Historic Precinct, Restaurant/Cafe's and the Town & Country Club. The golf course, bowling club and swimming pool are a 3 minute drive. Five ski fields are within one-hour drive. Corporate/off-peak rates available. Minimum/seasonal rates apply. Member MANZ. Qualmark-rated 4-star. Major credit cards and EFTPOS accepted. A quality stay at an affordable price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing