We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Central Gateway Motel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Oamaru, Otago, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Just around the corner from Historic Cromwell, this is a little gem of a hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. AS it was very cold outside they were very nice and had the room heater on so that it was all snuggly warm when we went in. The room we had was really nice - unit 8 - little kitchette with pots, pans, crockery and cutlery. Wasn't a huge room , but was nice just the same. Was a little more private than the other rooms. Thank you for making our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
24
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2012

A wonderful welcome .... brilliant accommodation, perfect for a family of 5... Even the rain couldn't dampen our spirits. Warm & cosy accommodation. Kids delighted by the ability to use the DVD player .... many thanks. Hope to be back again next year!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famoffivecadzows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I've booked a studio unit with this motel. My room was located as a separate unit from the motel but it is just walking distance and carpark is just beside the room.

The room is well equipped with cooking utilities, bathroom is spacious and clean. Bed comes with warmer especially good for winter nights!

The motel is quite near to everything and is in the town center. You can have a short walk nearby the lake with beautiful view.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwkeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Twice in February and once in March 2012 I had the opportunity to stay at the Central Gateway Hotel in Cromwell, South Island. The hosts Dave and Leeza Smith became friends on my first stay and family on my subsequent stays. It was wonderful when Leeza remembered the room that I liked and made sure that I had the same room on subsequent stays. Dave shifted things around so that I had secure parking for my Harley. The rooms are new, spacious and quiet. Each room has a nice outdoor sitting area with a great view of the mountains. Although I didn't use it the motel also has a nice BBQ area in a grassy area adjacent to the motel. Best of all the wireless Internet worked perfectly for Skype calls to my family back in Canada. The internet was reasonably priced (free) and unlike most motel wireless internet in NZ, worked perfectly. The motel is a little off the beaten track in Cromwell but the nice thing is that it is located within easy walking (staggering) distance of a nice pub with good food and great beer. Being able to walk to and from the watering hole is an important consideration when you are traveling by motorcycle. The room rate was quite reasonable for NZ in 2012 although I expect that I got a discount from the posted rate. It will definitely be my home away from home when I am traveling again in that part of NZ.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maac05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

This motel has unlimited views of the mountains, and is a stroll to the old town. We breakfasted on the balcony after a fantastic night's sleep in glamorous and comfortable beds with woollen throws. You get a free voucher for the wireless internet and the owners are kind and welcoming. You feel poised on the edge of town.

Room Tip: Go for the studio rooms that are on the high side of the section - the views are great even if the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diorissi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Really enjoyable! Were were upgraded to 1st floor room, with full kitchen facilities, the sleeping room was full of sunshine. Received one milk bottle and 100MB internet voucher at check-in. Cromwell itself is a nice little town, with supermarket, petrol station, shopping area and a nice historic center. Will come again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This motel is one of the best we have stayed in. The owners were very friendly and helpful. As we were staying for 3 nights we were upgraded to an upstairs studio. Accommodation was spacious, comfortable and clean. There was a 32" television with Sky channels. Kitchen was well equipped and guest washing machine was free and included washing powder. Washing could be hung outside or drier could be used at a cost of $2. Also received a free daily newspaper and free internet access. The view from our studio was amazing. Would highly recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: Upstairs studios have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaF2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromwell
4.9 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
264 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Harvest Hotel
Harvest Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cromwell
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell
0.7 mi away
Carrick Lodge Motel
Carrick Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Cromwell
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anderson Park Motel
Anderson Park Motel
#6 of 9 in Cromwell
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Gateway Motel

Property: Central Gateway Motel
Address: 67-69 Inniscort Street, Cromwell 9310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Cromwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a quality stay at an affordable price here at Central Gateway Motel. Qualmark-rated 4-star. We offer free WiFi in our 8 comfortable, fully self-contained units. Our upstairs studios have fantastic views of the hills and a glimpse through to Lake Dunstan. Our downstairs studios and one-bedroom units get lovely afternoon sun and look out to our gardens. Each unit has a fully equipped kitchen, large LCD TV - the family units have 2 TVs, Super king-size beds and heat pump/air conditioners in most units. Continental breakfasts are available. Central Gateway Motel is situated 300m from Lake Dunstan and Cromwell Historic Precinct, Restaurant/Cafe's and the Cromwell Town & Country Club. The golf course, bowling club and swimming pool are a 3 minute drive. Five ski fields are within one-hour drive. We are members of Hospitality NZ. Visa, Mastercard and EFTPOS accepted. We welcome you on your next visit to Cromwell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Central Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing