We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Central Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Excellent Place To Stay”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I recently stayed at this motel. The service was outstanding. The owners went out of their way to accomodate my needs and even left a delightful message on my phone advising me of their plans so I wouldn't be inconvenienced. The motel unit was very clean and tidy. Many thanks and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 986Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
24
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We were unsure where to stay in cromwell decided on this motel. We arrived late to a warm welcome from our hosts. With heater and air con on the rooms were wonderful and cosy. Now be aware this motel is of the older style however we loved it. Lots of space, full kitchen, large bathroom. Hosts had lights turned on for us when we arrived back late little touches like that make all the difference. Highly recommend to those who do not mind older style units with fantastic hosts.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biffee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We recently spent several days in the wineries of Central Otago and identified this gem of accommodation in Cromwell. This place is run by a very friendly person who makes all efforts to make your stay being optimal.
It is very well located, at a walking distance of the old town and major attractions of Cromwell. Foir us, being based in Cromwell was excellent was were at a short drive distance of all wineries in the Central Otago region. From here, geographically located in the middle of Central Otago, all 5 areas of major wine producers could be comfortably reached within 30 minutes.
At a very attractive budget range, the motel offers rooms of various sizes and costs. Well equipped with kitchen facilities, the motel is very attractive for coming home at the end of the tasting day and prepare your favourite meal. Early next morning, we were treated to local newspaper at the door step which was unique opportunity to learn about the local events and activities. Central Otago is an exciting area in New Zealand and learning about the daily events in the areas was a very appreciated touch provided by the motel.
Without luxury, the rooms provide a very comfortable environment. Dinning/desk table is provided as well as flat screen TV.
We were very pleased with finding this motel within the price range that easily allows longer stays.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latinaussie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We spent 4 nights at Central Gateway Motel and were very happy with our choice. Rooms are very spacious, clean and the bed was very comfortable. The kitchen was not part of the main bedroom, but was a separate room which was great. The room was more like an apartment than a motel room. The bathroom was very big as well and the toilet is separated from the shower, which is very convenient.

Central Gateway Motel is located in a very central area but the street is very quiet.
Service was probably the best part, the manager was very friendly and helpful and did all she could to make us feel happy.

Another great aspect of Central Gateway Motel is that they clean the room every day and offer complementary newspaper.

I was very satisfied with the rooms, the service and the value for money and would definitely stay at Central Gateway Motel in my next trip to Central Otago.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clenaranjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Very nice motel where we slept well. Clean and tidy. Real homely accommodation. The host was very polite and helpful. Close to Old Cromwell Town. Not far from the main town and very quiet. Can purchase breakfast and we received a complimentary newspaper. Stay here if possible.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed here with friends whilst touring the South Island, Spacious clean comfortable accommodation with a well equipped kitchen, Laundry on site, Free Wifi, Short walk from the Old Cromwell town that has been carefully restored, Ideally located for visiting Queenstown and Arrowtown,

Room Tip: Rooms 1,2,3 are on an upper level parking spaces below, rest are at ground level with parking spaces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueS919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

On our recent tour of South island decided we would stay away from the hustle of Queenstown and decided on Central Gateway,Cromwell. It was a good choice, our large en-suite studio unit was clean and had a comfortable king size bed. The kitchen area was well equipped. The motel is only a short from the lakeside and Old Cromwell Town which has been rebuilt & restored(well worth a visit). We ate at the Victoria Arms Hotel in Old Cromwell and would recommend it.
Whilst there we visited the old gold mining town of Arrowtown very well worth the visit.
Free wifi and free use of washing machine. A good choice and value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onholidayalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cromwell hotels
4.9 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harvest Hotel
Harvest Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cromwell
83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carrick Lodge Motel
Carrick Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Cromwell
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell
0.7 mi away
Colonial Manor Motel
Colonial Manor Motel
#3 of 9 in Cromwell
128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anderson Park Motel
Anderson Park Motel
#7 of 9 in Cromwell
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Gateway Motel

Property: Central Gateway Motel
Address: 67-69 Inniscort Street, Cromwell 9310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Cromwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a quality stay at an affordable price here at Central Gateway Motel. Qualmark-rated 4-star. We offer free WiFi in our 8 comfortable, fully self-contained units. Our upstairs studios have fantastic views of the hills and a glimpse through to Lake Dunstan. Our downstairs studios and one-bedroom units get lovely afternoon sun and look out to our gardens. Each unit has a fully equipped kitchen, large LCD TV - the family units have 2 TVs, Super king-size beds and heat pump/air conditioners in most units. Continental breakfasts are available. Central Gateway Motel is situated 300m from Lake Dunstan and Cromwell Historic Precinct, Restaurant/Cafe's and the Cromwell Town & Country Club. The golf course, bowling club and swimming pool are a 3 minute drive. Five ski fields are within one-hour drive. We are members of Hospitality NZ. Visa, Mastercard and EFTPOS accepted. We welcome you on your next visit to Cromwell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Central Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing