We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Central Gateway Motel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Reviewed 26 November 2010

This is a great value for a budget motel. We stayed in a ground floor studio for NZ$99/or about US$80. Everything was new and clean. The king-size bed, 37-inch flat screen TV, full kitchen, reading lights for the bed, parking spot right in front of the room (for ease of loading and unloading), friendly and helpful welcome made us feel we had made a wise choice in staying here. We were headed to Queenstown, but wanted to do an overnighter in a town conveniently located close to the wineries of Bannockburn and Cromwell. We also wanted to visit some wineries on the outskirts of Queenstown, but did not want to double back to visit them, but instead visit them on the way into Queenstown. So Cromwell was most practical. There is a New World Market close by for groceries if you would like to cook (open until 8 p.m.). Alternately, there is a mall nearby with several restaurants and a fish and chips take-out. There are other restaurants in town besides these.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PassarinhoAzul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2010

We stayed here for one night only on our way to Dunedin.

Now the location was good for us for just the one night, but I must point out that we stayed on a public holiday. So the area was very quiet. I did however notice a childcare centre right next door to the motel, now as I have a 2 year old I do know how noisy children can be. So maybe if you like peace during the day that this isn't the place for you. That said though it is waking distance to a good pub/restaurant, the lake, the old part of town and to a children s playground and park.

The Motel it's self has a few on site facilities such as guest laundry and a children s play area. There is also plenty of parking. The rooms are modern and have large king beds and really good heating.

The owners/managers are very friendly and helpful they even cleaned up a couple of toys for my little boy to play with.

Overall i would recommend this motel, great rooms with comfy beds and friendly staff...

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blah-trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2007

Friendly reception at a quietly located motel near the old town of Cromwell. Well equipped, large kitchen with superb view. Clean and comfortable with plenty of towels. Heating was quick and responsive (not always the case in NZ motels). Nice grounds with adequate parking. Good shops within short drive, including an excellent wine shop (Pembroke). Very good base for Central Otago, especially for those sensible enough to avoid the tourist monstrosity called Queenstown.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wasleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NAVY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philipp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016
Thank klausleist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tschugger66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cromwell hotels
4.9 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
272 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake Dunstan Motel
Lake Dunstan Motel
#6 of 9 in Cromwell
79 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carrick Lodge Motel
Carrick Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Cromwell
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell
0.4 mi away
Cromwell Motel
Cromwell Motel
#9 of 9 in Cromwell
61 reviews
0.7 mi away
Colonial Manor Motel
Colonial Manor Motel
#4 of 9 in Cromwell
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Gateway Motel

Address: 67-69 Inniscort Street, Cromwell 9310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Cromwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range: £65 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a quality stay at an affordable price here at Central Gateway Motel. Qualmark-rated 4-star. We offer free WiFi in our 8 comfortable, fully self-contained units. Our upstairs studios have fantastic views of the hills and a glimpse through to Lake Dunstan. Our downstairs studios and one-bedroom units get lovely afternoon sun and look out to our gardens. Each unit has a fully equipped kitchen, large LCD TV - the family units have 2 TVs, Super king-size beds and heat pump/air conditioners in most units. Continental breakfasts are available. Central Gateway Motel is situated 300m from Lake Dunstan and Cromwell Historic Precinct, Restaurant/Cafe's and the Cromwell Town & Country Club. The golf course, bowling club and swimming pool are a 3 minute drive. Five ski fields are within one-hour drive. We are members of Hospitality NZ. Visa, Mastercard and EFTPOS accepted. We welcome you on your next visit to Cromwell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing