We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kitchen

The Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 33 Restaurants in Cromwell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$21
Cuisines: Caucasian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We serve honest food, crafted from fresh seasonal ingredients, Allpress Coffee & real pots of tea...Made with care and served with pride!
Alexandra, New Zealand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Awesome staff”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Fab food, good coffee and a nice peaceful location. Located just out of Cromwell with a great view so it feels like you have been somewhere yet not having travelled far to achieve this.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Central88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    39
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We asked at the Cromwell I-site of places to visit . The Kitchen was high on the list.
This information was well earned. Like they told us, the staff were friendly. The food was great. The place was clean . It was a really hot day, we sat outside in the courtyard in the shade, where we cooked off and drank fab coffee. Returning today for another visit ! Well done

Helpful?
Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You must visit here”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Great great coffee, imaginative and beautiful food. We'll be back for an Affogato in April for sure!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLM3100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Decadent Food”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We had a girly catch up (myself, my 12 year old niece & our 10 year old friend). The chocolate dessert was delicious - whilst I had what you could say was a boring order - an omelette. But it came out with lots of scrummy greens grown right outside in their garden! YUMMO. Again impressed with fab service. I like that this wee place is off the beaten track. Coffee was fabulous. Definitely continue to recommend this place to anyone visiting Central Otago.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank AmyScottNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cromwell
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“friendly staff”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Having walked the dog up the sluicing tracks in a strong wind we were happy to sit in the sun for lunch.We sat ouside in a sheltered corner.The food was great and the staff fantastic.The waitress brough the dog from were he was tied to a tree and gave him water.
I would recccomment the beef bruchetta,a great lunch sized portion and well seasoned.
We will be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CromQueenstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kitchen also viewed

Cromwell, Central Otago
Cromwell, Central Otago
 

Been to The Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing