We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun for everyone!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highlands Motorsport Park

Highlands Motorsport Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Highlands is a destination for everyone. A truly international 5 star facility, it boasts multiple ways to experience the circuit at speed from McLaren’s to Porsche’s, is home to the best outdoor go-kart circuit in the southern hemisphere, showcases a safari dirt buggy adventure complete with 18ft dinosaurs and safari animals and a national motorsport museum. Onsite is also a new Cafe and unique wine adventure, that is incomparable with anything else in the region and all of this is encompassed in a breathtaking setting. Ideal for groups, families and individuals - there is no such thing as a bad day at Highlands. A passion for Motorsport is not necessary, but a sense of adventure is.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun for everyone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

My brother and business partner held part of their company Christmas party here, including families - what a fantastic complex, it really is world class! We went go-karting - the rain made it even better, we just had the BEST time! Next time we're in NZ we will be sure to revisit!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    47
    13
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
“Fast Laps”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had a cracking time, the fast laps are amazing, the museum is full of amazing cars and plenty of info, staff and drivers were really helpful, highly recommended!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jimboallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“I'm still grinning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The staff were amazing from check in to the cafe. Mind blowing ride in a V8 with Andrew. So pumped we had to try the gocarts. Awesome day, can't recommend it enough. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank Zoe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
146 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Petrolhead Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

What an amazing place!! I had been waiting for this trip for months, and Man o' Man was it worth it!! We started with a fantastic lunch at the Nose Restaurant, and then proceeded to the brand new Highlands Museum which is crammed full of Historic, Classic and current Race Cars, displays and memorabilia. Next it was time for action, where we took a short "Taxi" ride - in the Highlands Taxi - at over 180 kph!! Now THAT was a joy to experience. Finally we finished with a blast on the Go-Karts - all very professional with helmets, electronic timing and recorded lap times to boot. I could easily have spent the whole day at this magnificent venue.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A full day is required...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

And a fat wallet... especially if you want to do EVERYTHING!

Brilliant concept - the museum is great, the Fast Laps are out of this world (almost) and the TAXI ride had my wife screaming even though the driver only managed to get the Porsche up to 180 kph rather than the advertised 200 kph. The circuit is really amazing .... I think "well crafted" is not too strong a phrase for the way the circuit has been designed - the curves, the straights, the twists, the chicanes just make this an exciting drive! What I would have given to go for a spin or three (literally) on the specially designed skid pad...

The go-karts are quite cool too and my teenage daughter posted the third fastest lap among the group she was racing with... she wanted to go back the following day, complaining she only went that slow because her helmet was slipping and hairnet was falling over her eyes! The circuit here is also well designed and seems much longer than the stated 650 metres of racing track.

Due to time constraints we didn't get time to have a go at the Dirt Buggies on their new track - but this is on our list for next time!

The coffee in the museum cafe is also amongst the best I had while in Central Otago.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian_the_Barber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Highlands Motorsport Park also viewed

 
Cromwell, Central Otago
 

Been to Highlands Motorsport Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing