We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average at best, lack of flavour” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of No.7 Restaurant & Bar

No.7 Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #5 of 33 Restaurants in Cromwell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$24
Cuisines: New Zealand, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: No7 is a small, intimate restaurant situated within the heart of the Cromwell Mall. We serve dinner from 5pm, 7 days a week through the Summer season, with choices varying from vegetarian, seafood and carnivorous options for the meat lovers. From 2pm we offer a small plate menu ideal for late lunches, afternoon grazing and sharing with friends. We cater widely for dietary restrictions including gluten and dairy free so you can worry not. We proudly showcase an array of local wine and craft beer and some great examples of both from further afield too. Check out our Facebook page (No.7 Restaurant & Bar) for information on free live music events and upcoming promotions. We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Average at best, lack of flavour”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We had dined previously at the previous incarnation of this restaurant, Feast, and really enjoyed it. But No 7 is not Feast, as the reviews reflect. Our meal was average at best. The serving sizes are massive, but quantity doesn't make for quality. I had the pork belly, it was flavourless and chewy. The elements didn't combine to lift the flavour profile. With so much left on my plate there was no incentive to overeat. My husband had the chicken gnocchi but the overwhelming flavour was cheese. The gnocchi was doughy and over cooked. The kids pasta dish was the best tasting of the lot, but again drowned in cheese. We didn't bother with dessert.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kiwiana13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    31
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening with generous meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We have been to No 7 twice, for small group functions. We have all enjoyed our meals and the service was great both times. Certainly recommend them for a generous meal with a good menu selection. We shared platters and then some chose off the pizza menu and others from the main menu. Everyone was happy with the flavours and presentation of their meals. We didn't order dessert but they sounded delicious. Will definitely return.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food even better value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Not to be confused with its predessor "Feast" which was rubbish and closed as it should have. A great menu with something for everyone. The only place where I have been unable to finish my delicious meal. Have been there four times now and will return soon. Only downside is the noise when busy due to the concrete floors and hard wall surfaces. The bright lime green takes a bit of getting used to but the service, meal and staff make it worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Went there two times and even if staff are friendly, the experiences were average. The wine list is very poor even if you are located in the capital of Pinot Noir in New Zealand. Food is good and in big quantity but there is no spark. Very basic. There is a potential; with creativity in the plate and a better wine list, it will get better!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexanderalwayshappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Expected more!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

First time to Cromwell and went to visit the Mall. Only place that seemed decent so we ate here. Ordered lamb was nice but the salad was drowned in vinagerette. Waitress seemed flustered and smelt of cigars!
Bright interior of green and wine list was dismal. Overall for 2 people the price was charged like fine dining despite the ratherly general but tasty menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skyto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed No.7 Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to No.7 Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing