We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate for the night”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Harvest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harvest Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
337 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Adequate for the night”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Stayed here on business recently.

The decor of the rooms are a bit tired but they are warm on a frosty night. There was painting activity in one wing.
The restaurant was simple but well cooked and presented food.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    27
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
11
29
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Spoke to a lovely person on the phone who quoted me one price, but receptionist initially took offense when I mentioned the quote given. Rooms and decor are a little outdated for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Organs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oroua Downs, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Large rooms, comfortable bed. Washbasin not in bathroom - that's odd.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMB27958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I would highly recommend the Golden Gate Lodge for your Wedding. I got married in the beautifully maintained court yard outside of the conference centre and also had my reception at the Conference centre. We all had the best day EVER and this mainly comes down the exceptional staff who helped plan our special day. Karen and her team made my wedding day the most memorable day ever, the day was so relaxing and the word stress did not even come into it. I wish I could do it all over again. The conference did not even look like a conference room after all the beautiful chiffon coverings went up all around the walls and ceilings...it looked like a wedding venue! The rooms we had were very clean, comfortable and spacious and all with balconies or courtyards. The reception/bar/kitchen (all staff) we so very friendly and accommodating. Glen and his team run a fantastic business, if anyone is looking for somewhere to have your wedding service and wedding reception all in the one place, this is the place to go. The majority of our guest stayed at the Golden Gate also, therefore no one has to drive anywhere...convenience at your door step!!!! Once again, thanks to Glen, Karen and team, you truly have made my wedding day a memorable one....cheers

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycouple121111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobram, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This is a really nice motel with fantastic views of the mountains from the front rooms.
The rooms are large but very cosy and nice
Dinning room was great with good meals.
The one down is that the upkeep was not as good as it could be with the carpets in the halls really tatty, but the service and freindly people more than made up for that.

Room Tip: get a front room, we had the down stairs but a balcony room woud be ok as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reginaldconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerw Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Good service from the front desk and clean and comfortable room. We had a disability room which meant more room and a bigger shower which was great. Tv could do with upgrading though but overall a pleasant stay.

Our room was ground level so we could sit outside and enjoy the air. The only grump was that it was the first hotel I had stayed in that we couldn't dine in the dining room - in this case it was booked out!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenChristiansen, General Manager at Harvest Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2011
Thank you for your review. Your comment regarding the TV has been noted, an upgrade programme is being implented on all our TVs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We did not stay at the Golden Gate but we did eat in the dinning room.
The service was good initially and we ordered our first and only round of drinks. About 10 minutes later we ordered our meal, about 10 minutes later we heard a loud disscussion about one of our orders. 30 minutes later we were still waiting on our order and feeling thirsty we tryed to attract the attention of the staff to order another round of drinks. About 15 minutes later our meals arrived, at this stage our 4 year old nephew got down from the table found a jug of ice water and served us with our drinks.

Poor service in the dining room would make me think twice about staying.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HamiltonGolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromwell
4.2 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
253 reviews
22.5 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.2 mi away
Colonial Manor Motel
Colonial Manor Motel
#3 of 9 in Cromwell
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carrick Lodge Motel
Carrick Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Cromwell
120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Central Gateway Motel
Central Gateway Motel
#7 of 9 in Cromwell
56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cromwell Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Hotel

Property: Harvest Hotel
Address: Barry Avenue | Central Otago, Cromwell 9342, New Zealand (Formerly Golden Gate Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Cromwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harvest Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Harvest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing