We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not flash but adequate”
Review of Harvest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harvest Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Not flash but adequate”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

There is plenty of choice around Cromwell but this the only large tourist style hotel. The rooms were large but a bit lacking in character. We found the staff helpfull and the food quite nice. There is nothing quite like this part of Central Otago on a clear winter morning. Crisp and beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZMike57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    28
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
11
29
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oamaru, Otago, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I have been to the Golden Gate twice now and both times the staff have been rude. The first time we had to ask them if we could sit anywhere, and then again had to ask for a menu before returning to the bar to place our order. The food was lovely, but the attitude of the staff to put it nicely stinks.

The second time we placed an order at the bar for one of the pizzas. It was about 4.50pm when we ordered and got told it would be about 15 minutes. We sat and read the paper for a while. At 5.15pm I asked the staff if there was any sign of the pizza. I was told that they were busy with a conference but would check with the kitchen. The staff came out with our pizza and garlic bread and then told me that we were lucky as they don't start cooking until 5pm. Again the food was great. Well done tot he kitchen staff, shame about the front of house.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Harvest Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Wendy S, I was dissappointed to read your comments as we take pride in our Food and Beverage service. It is embarrassing that this has occurred twice, let alone to the same person. I will be personally actioning this with staff . I hope you will make contact with me so I can discuss directly with you.

Glen Christiansen - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cromwell hotels

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Stayed here on business recently.

The decor of the rooms are a bit tired but they are warm on a frosty night. There was painting activity in one wing.
The restaurant was simple but well cooked and presented food.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Spoke to a lovely person on the phone who quoted me one price, but receptionist initially took offense when I mentioned the quote given. Rooms and decor are a little outdated for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Organs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oroua Downs, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Large rooms, comfortable bed. Washbasin not in bathroom - that's odd.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMB27958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I would highly recommend the Golden Gate Lodge for your Wedding. I got married in the beautifully maintained court yard outside of the conference centre and also had my reception at the Conference centre. We all had the best day EVER and this mainly comes down the exceptional staff who helped plan our special day. Karen and her team made my wedding day the most memorable day ever, the day was so relaxing and the word stress did not even come into it. I wish I could do it all over again. The conference did not even look like a conference room after all the beautiful chiffon coverings went up all around the walls and ceilings...it looked like a wedding venue! The rooms we had were very clean, comfortable and spacious and all with balconies or courtyards. The reception/bar/kitchen (all staff) we so very friendly and accommodating. Glen and his team run a fantastic business, if anyone is looking for somewhere to have your wedding service and wedding reception all in the one place, this is the place to go. The majority of our guest stayed at the Golden Gate also, therefore no one has to drive anywhere...convenience at your door step!!!! Once again, thanks to Glen, Karen and team, you truly have made my wedding day a memorable one....cheers

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycouple121111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobram, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This is a really nice motel with fantastic views of the mountains from the front rooms.
The rooms are large but very cosy and nice
Dinning room was great with good meals.
The one down is that the upkeep was not as good as it could be with the carpets in the halls really tatty, but the service and freindly people more than made up for that.

Room Tip: get a front room, we had the down stairs but a balcony room woud be ok as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reginaldconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cromwell hotels
4.2 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carrick Lodge Motel
Carrick Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Cromwell
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colonial Manor Motel
Colonial Manor Motel
#3 of 9 in Cromwell
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell
0.7 mi away
Anderson Park Motel
Anderson Park Motel
#6 of 9 in Cromwell
29 reviews
0.4 mi away
Firewood Creek House
Firewood Creek House
#1 of 10 in Cromwell
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Hotel

Property: Harvest Hotel
Address: Barry Avenue | Central Otago, Cromwell 9342, New Zealand (Formerly Golden Gate Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Cromwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harvest Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Harvest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing