We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dining experience”
Review of Harvest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harvest Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Reviewed 22 July 2014

After experiencing the worst service ever at another venue we found the cafe Pisa at the golden gate.
Waitresses are pleasant and know how to greet people even when they are busy.
Food is well priced and cooked. Fresh and tasty.
Very impressed with the kid friendly area.
This is by no means fine dining but it doesn't pretend to be and for a family meal after a days travel it's a great place!
Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Nichx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed three winter nights at the lodge. The beds were extremely comfortable and the shower was good and strong. There were plenty of power points for charging electronics and a kettle and tea/coffee/milk is provided. One eccentricity was that the hand basin is in the room rather than the bathroom, very odd. Day one we had a room service continental breakfast & it was very poor value (it's not included in the room price). White bread toast, weak coffee, tinned fruit, no-fat milk and packet cereals - dull and stingy. Day two we tried going over to the hotel restaurant, but it was no better. The flat white was super weak and tasteless, again poor value. Day three we went to the Tin Goose cafe in the shopping mall - it is superb! Good coffee at last.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed at the golden gate lodge in the middle of June. Went up for a wedding and we got back to our room about midnight. Had a really sore back so ran a bath. The water was cold, so cold we couldn't use it. Very disappointed. Had a shower in the morning and the water still wasn't hot. When we checked out the sulky girl behind the desk didn't want to know. She couldn't be bothered with us is the impression we got.
The bathroom sink is in the bedroom area, very odd and uncomfortable not doing your stuff in private.
I wouldn't recommend spending your money here as there are a lot of other places to stay in Cromwell.

Room Tip: Just go somewhere else instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceymains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenChristiansen, General Manager at Harvest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Tracey, Thank you for taking the time discuss your experience at the hotel. I look forward to having the opportunity to prove that we are the right place to spend your money.

Regards

Glen Christiansen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Quite a large motel by the side of Cromwell's somewhat unattractive town centre mall.

Room was clean and quite sizeable with a normal-sized double bed. The decor was quite 80s and really needs a good overhaul.

We were on a B&B package but most people seem to be on a pay-as-you-go basis, so pretty much everything had to be asked for behind the bar! Coffee and hot buffet okay, but not inspiring.
Dining rooms very canteen like.

Okay for shop stopover.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at the Golden Gate Lodge in early January and I was pleasantly surprised, as the last time we had been there I felt the rooms were a little tired. However they have obviously been done up since then. Our room was large and comfortable, and looked out onto beautifully kept gardens. (We were originally a little disappointed not to have a view of the golf course, but this was very attractive.) Only oddity about the room was the wash basin in the kitchen (presumably bathrooms too small to be added to easily) and for the second time recently we couldn't fit the kettle under the tap and had to fill it up with cups. I like having access to free newspapers and also appreciated that the staff took account of our wishes as regards reuse of towels (so often, despite us putting them where they could be reused we find there are new ones out).

The hotel is nicely situated, very close walk to the shopping precinct, and in the middle of Central Otago, so a good choice for exploring other towns or in our case going to the Outram races.

Our meal was very good indeed; I had a chicken breast served on lovely roasted summer vegetables, and my husband a well-cooked steak. They were very busy so there was a bit of a wait, but nothing to worry about. Breakfasts in hotels and shops are always relatively expensive, so we just had bakery bits from the nearby bakery.

A delightful stay, thanks. A little more expensive than some, but very roomy and enjoyable to be in.

Room Tip: I like being able to look at the golfers, but having the gardens outside was good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We only stayed one night at the hotel but the room was large with its own balcony with tables and chairs.The shower worked well and we slept well until there was a fire alarm in the morning(smoke from toaster I think)! So the fire alarms work well.
We had dinner in the restaurant and and I can recommend the blue cod, we all had small portions and as they were more than enough the large must be massive.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TIZYER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

As the only hotel in Cromwell this facility probably gets business by default.

We stayed one night for a function but should have known better.

When trying to check in found the reception area deserted. Eventually walked into the restaurant to try and locate someone which I did, but didn't really get any acknowledgement that they should have been in reception.

Vague directions given to room. Corridor was extremely hot and room smelt musty, perhaps because it was closed up on a hot day. Other establishments often anticipate this and open windows etc.

Bathroom was very small, basin etc was in the room rather than in the bathroom.

Bed was large but not particularly comfortable.

Walls are very thin as we were waken by the people next door having a matrimonial dispute!

Best option in Cromwell would be one of the many motels close by.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PJC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenChristiansen, General Manager at Harvest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Firstly thank you for writing on trip advisor, as a small country hotel our staff are often need assist through various departments, however this is not an excuse for a slip in standard or customer service.

The rooms do have full sound proofing and we apologise for other guests anti social behaviour.

Unfortunately the design of the room is an interesting one in regards to the location of the hand basin, it seems to be a split decision and comes to personal preference.

We believe we are the best choice in Cromwell for accommodation and dining.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cromwell hotels
4.3 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carrick Lodge Motel
Carrick Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Cromwell
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Dunstan Motel
Lake Dunstan Motel
#5 of 9 in Cromwell
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cromwell Top 10 Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Colonial Manor Motel
Colonial Manor Motel
#4 of 9 in Cromwell
129 reviews
0.8 mi away
Central Gateway Motel
Central Gateway Motel
#6 of 9 in Cromwell
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Hotel

Address: Barry Avenue | Central Otago, Cromwell 9342, New Zealand (Formerly Golden Gate Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Cromwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range: £76 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harvest Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Harvest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing