We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation. Definitely recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carrick Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our night at Carrick Lodge Motel in March, and would definitely recommend it to other travelers. The hosts Rob and Jean were so friendly and helpful and the accommodation simply perfect. The units are well appointed & very spacious, tastefully decorated and immaculately clean and tidy. Very comfortable place to stay. Would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrick_9, Owner at Carrick Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Hi Jill
We appreciate your comments and acknowledge that we enjoy providing a special stay for all our guests whether travellers or corporates. Your comments are great feedback for our staff who support us in this vision. Come again.
Kind regards
Rob & Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

Carrick Lodge, Cromwell was a fantastic base for our recent summer break. Hosts Rob & Joan were brilliant with information and helpful with our 1 year old. We stayed in a studio unit which was very tidy and had a well stocked kitchen with utensils to do some cooking. The location is very convenient to the mall and golf club and just a stones through from water spots and a great family park. Would definitely recommend this establishment to others considering a stay in Central Otago.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHCCHICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrick_9, Owner at Carrick Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Hi ChcChick
Thankyou for your Review of Carrick Lodge Motel. We thoroughly enjoy working with our guests to ensure their stay is the Best, and to discover what their particular interests are. In this way we can offer them particular points of interest which they may otherwise miss. Cromwell has much to offer - individuals as well as families with small children. Best Wishes. R & J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

If only their was more Fabulous accommodation like Carrick lodge in New Zealand backpacking would be a breeze. The self contained room is a great size & absolutely spotless I could not find one fault. Most comfy bed ever. You have everything you need from coffee/tea making facilities (they even supply you with proper milk not the UHT crap.. Which as we were recovering from jet lag & love our tea cheered us up immensely!) to sky sports to every kitchen appliance you could possibly need. The location is ideal you are directly across the street from the supermarket, cafe, banks etc. But more importantly the liquor store is right next door. Joan & Rob have thought of all the little luxuries you need when you are away from home but are unable to fit into your rug sack. So far the best motel we have come across. I encourage people to check in to Carrick lodge.

Room Tip: If only their was more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrick_9, Owner at Carrick Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thankyou Joyce for your comments. We often get feedback about the Comfortable beds. Thankyou for your endorsements. We take pride in being able to provide a quality stay for guests. Regards R & J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We travel to Cromwell monthly for business and can't say enough about the warm hospitality and excellent accommodation at Carrick Lodge. Rob & Joan go the extra mile to ensure we are well looked after each and every time, and there isn't a better accommodation or more convenient location in Cromwell. The rooms are spacious with up-to-date decor, plenty of windows and great views of the surrounding hills and all the amenities that make a home away from home - fully equipped kitchen, comfortable dining table and chairs, spacious and modern bathroom and very comfortable beds. With Wanaka and Queenstown only 45 mins away, Cromwell is a great central base for corporate travellers, as well as those touring Central Otago for the skifields and the wine country. Carrick Lodge does not disappoint.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrick_9, Owner at Carrick Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Hi Jan
Many thanks for your kind comments. "A home away from home" is the experience we work hard to develop for our corporate travellers and we are delighted you feel that way. It is always a pleasure to host the two of you on your regular visits to this area. We are fortunate to have a unique positionto offer the corporate travellers as Cromwell is central to so many towns and businesses.
Kind Regards
R & J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We found the Carrick really marvellous. Rob was very hospitable and even lent us a DVD about the history of the flooding of the original town for a dam - very interesting and informative. Our room was self contained, large, comfortable and beautifully furnished - a cut above the usual motel (several cuts actually). We also had an outdoor area with lovely views to snow-capped mountains. The area is very scenic (as is the whole of the SI !) with lots of wine growing and with such lovely accommodation, we were really disappointed that we could only stay one night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ngarita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrick_9, Owner at Carrick Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Hi Ngarita
The Historical presence of this place never fails to inspire me - perhaps it is the "Gold fever" within, the high rocky Mountains or the fact that these early pioneers of Cromwell had so much to do with the shaping of our young country. It is fantastic that you have been able to gain so much about this unique area after only one day. Thankyou for your generous comments about Carrick Lodge Motel.
We work hard to maintain high standards.
Regards
R & J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We were offered excellent off season rates by the friendly staff in reception who gave us an excellent recommendation for a lunch venue (Mt Difficulty Winery). The rooms were very clean and roomy.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClubMedFan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

We were really happy when we arrived at this hotel with both it's location and the hotel itself. It was meant to be a one night stopover on our way to the Milford but if we had had the time we could have stayed a couple of days. Cromwell is a beautiful spot surrounded by water, wineries, restaurants and history. Our hosts were warm and the little touches they offered such as makeup remover clothes, fresh towels after we went out for dinner, choice of milk for coffee togetherwith plunger coffee were nice. We also had a great meal up at the Golden Gate pub with a selection of local wines. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwayswanttotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cromwell hotels
4.4 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colonial Manor Motel
Colonial Manor Motel
#4 of 9 in Cromwell
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake Dunstan Motel
Lake Dunstan Motel
#5 of 9 in Cromwell
79 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cromwell Top 10 Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Cromwell Motel
Cromwell Motel
#9 of 9 in Cromwell
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrick Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrick Lodge Motel

Address: 10 Barry Avenue, Cromwell 9310, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Cromwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range: £71 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carrick Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrick Lodge Motel is Cromwells Premier Accommodation annd offers a selection of Room Types to the discerning guest, from Spa-bath Executive Suites to Deluxe Units and Studio's, some with Access Facilities for varying disabilities. 90% of our suites are ground floor with extensive views. All units have modern cooking facilities, with dining table and large soft arm chairs in which to relax and unwind. Carrick Lodge has been constructed with the guest requirement for privacy and quietness in mind. Be Calm, Quiet and Relaxed at Carrick Lodge Motel which is directly opposite the Mall for all Shopping, Cafes, Restaurants and Bars. Enjoy the Unique Flavour of Central Otago at Carrick Lodge Motel. Relax and Unwrap your Senses.Central Otago Never Fails to Impress. A"Must See" for the traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carrick Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrick Hotel Cromwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing