We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carrick Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carrick Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Certificate of Excellence
Wellesley, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Just returned from spending Christmas and New Years in Cromwell New Zealand. This is the without a doubt the place to stay. I had a beautiful executive room. The room was ready for me early in the morning, spotlessly clean and large.

The owners are super friendly and helpful. This is an ideal place to stay as an alternative to the craziness of Queenstown. During spring, summer and fall you are right in the middle of the Central Otago winery area and during the winter ski fields are handy.

I have no hesitation in recommending this motel to anyone. Will stay there again on my next visit to New Zealand

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrick_9, Owner at Carrick Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
It is always a pleasure to meet people and part as old friends. We cherish the relationship side of hosting people from all walks of life and parts of the world. We gain inspiration from each person and enjoy their stories as they explore this area of Central Otago. Cromwell is the hub of the wheel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
46
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

Great hosts and fantastic clean, big and modern rooms. All rooms have a small kitchen facility and outside seating space. They are fully equipped and are very clean and comfortable. The owner was very knowledgeable about the area and was keen to give us suggestions for things to do and see in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amicaTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrick_9, Owner at Carrick Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
We love to showcase this particular part of New Zealand. Often travellers are limited in time and we make sure that personal interest and unusual places of interest are included in our guests itineraries - whether while they are in Central Otago or as they travel to other places. There is such a lot of variety in this area and there are "not to be missed" opportunities for all guests. Enjoying the experience, creating a relationship with the environment and people who come our way is always exciting. A pleasure to have been part of your journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We spent just one night at the Carrick but the friendliness of the hosts, cleanliness and comfort of the unit had us wishing we were staying longer. The unit outlook over a greenfield/park was lovely and relaxing after what had been a very busy day. Would have no hesitation in recommending Carrick Lodge - and as another reviewer said - you got real milk not UHT!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raewyn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrick_9, Manager at Carrick Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Thankyou Raewyn for your encouraging comments. We believe that the "taste" and "Flavour" of the experience is as important as the journey. Next time - spend a longer time at Cromwell as we can suggest some great places to visit in the Central Otago Region.
Slow moments - Slow flavours - slow food.
Your Pace - Our Place.
Relax at Carrick Lodge Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Stayed many times, always great, clean, tidy new motels, owners even bring you muffins if your are here working late!

Best service in Cromwell by far.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turnbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrick_9, Owner at Carrick Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
It is always our pleasure to be of service to travellers whether working or enjoying what Central Otago has to offer. Modern and comfortable accommodation is a priority at Carrick Lodge and a fresh muffin is always a bonus. Thankyou for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Fantastic and very affordable place to stay. We definitely recommend Carrick Lodge to anyone travelling through. The units are lovely, spacious and clean. Everything you need is right there and is centrally located to the town facilities. Thank you for a great stay (we'll be back!!).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKS246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrick_9, Manager at Carrick Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Looking forward to hosting you again in the future. Enjoy the pleasures of "small Town New Zealand" in Cromwell, while being close enough to visit the iconic Tourist spots. Recalibrate your life within this unique landscape. Thankyou for your words of encouragement for our staff. We make a point of involving them in this level of feedback. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruakaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed at the Carrick as a base for exploring this area, Queenstown, Wanaka and Arrowtown and it was perfect. The unit was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We even got to sit outside and have a wine altho we were watching the sun on the snow!! The hosts were friendly and accommodating. Easy walking across the road to find dinner. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank capesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrick_9, Manager at Carrick Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
It is a pleasure - being of service to people while they are on holiday. People are smiling, relaxed, happy and enjoying the experiences that Central Otago has to offer. Life is becoming so digitised. Reconnect with the Natural Beauty of this area and enjoy the "moments of the journey".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our night at Carrick Lodge Motel in March, and would definitely recommend it to other travelers. The hosts Rob and Jean were so friendly and helpful and the accommodation simply perfect. The units are well appointed & very spacious, tastefully decorated and immaculately clean and tidy. Very comfortable place to stay. Would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrick_9, Owner at Carrick Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Hi Jill
We appreciate your comments and acknowledge that we enjoy providing a special stay for all our guests whether travellers or corporates. Your comments are great feedback for our staff who support us in this vision. Come again.
Kind regards
Rob & Joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cromwell hotels
4.3 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harvest Hotel
Harvest Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cromwell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colonial Manor Motel
Colonial Manor Motel
#3 of 9 in Cromwell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell
0.7 mi away
Central Gateway Motel
Central Gateway Motel
#7 of 9 in Cromwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Dunstan Motel
Lake Dunstan Motel
#5 of 9 in Cromwell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrick Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrick Lodge Motel

Property: Carrick Lodge Motel
Address: 10 Barry Avenue, Cromwell 9310, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Cromwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carrick Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrick Lodge Motel is Cromwells Premier Accommodation annd offers a selection of Room Types to the discerning guest, from Spa-bath Executive Suites to Deluxe Units and Studio's, some with Access Facilities for varying disabilities. 90% of our suites are ground floor with extensive views. All units have modern cooking facilities, with dining table and large soft arm chairs in which to relax and unwind. Carrick Lodge has been constructed with the guest requirement for privacy and quietness in mind. Be Calm, Quiet and Relaxed at Carrick Lodge Motel which is directly opposite the Mall for all Shopping, Cafes, Restaurants and Bars. Enjoy the Unique Flavour of Central Otago at Carrick Lodge Motel. Relax and Unwrap your Senses.Central Otago Never Fails to Impress. A"Must See" for the traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Carrick Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrick Hotel Cromwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing