We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, disappointing restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bridge Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walshford
Certificate of Excellence
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, disappointing restaurant”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had a one night stay here which included a five course set menu dinner. The hotel is in a good spot and great care has been taken with the outside with good parking and well maintained planting.
We were welcomed by a very efficient receptionist and guided to our room which was spacious, very well decorated and very clean.
Dinner was not quite what we had imagined it would be, although the pervading smell of boiled vegetables when we entered the dining area should have been a clue. The food was quite average and was made up of a strange combination of courses. The most disappointing part was the fact that the main course was a carvery!. Had we known this been made clear at the time of booking we would not have chosen this as a place to stay. There were no alternatives, so unless you wanted what turned out to be a large bowl of tomato soup with bacon, you lost out. It has to be said that Stan, who waited on our table was most pleasant and did his best to make sure we enjoyed our dinner. There was another member of staff who after taking our order stuck her pen back into her plait , not quite what would be expected! All in all we were glad when it was all over.
Breakfast the next morning was a better experience with a good choice of hot and cold options.
Overall I would say book on a bed and breakfast basis and you will get a decent stay but unless changes are made to the dining option I would avoid eating there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Many thanks for your constructive comments; I am pleased to understand that overall you had an enjoyable visit. I was rather surprised to understand that you did not enjoy your experience in our restaurant as usually we do get very very good comments about our food. I am sorry about any misunderstanding about your expectations with regards to the menu you dinned from, this is very clear on the booking confirmation; however we do offer an a la carte menu which is available with a supplement for guests you wish to have a further choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    387
    180
    75
    42
See reviews for
310
603
25
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I had an amazing day and over night stay at the Bridge when I went there for a conference. My friend and I had 3 hours in the lovely spa. we had a couple of treatments and tried all the facilities, it was a very special place and we were both completely relaxed and stress free afterwards, the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We then ate in the restaurant and the food and service was excellent, the room was comfortable and spotlessly clean with all the added benefits of little extras such as toiletries. Breakfast in the morning was again excellent. I cant fault any of the facilities, I would definitely go again its a fantastic place to go, with the pressures of a stressful job it was just the place to revitalise and relax, we both came away calm and relaxed.
A very happy customer from Gateshead

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
We are so very proud of our new Courtyard Spa, I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

What a amazing day was had by all. The outdoor hot tub was clean and relaxing in a great spot. The sauna and steam rooms very well kept. Changing areas and showers perfect. Plenty of products about if you forgot yours. All the facilities here have improved since my last visit. The treatment rooms were warm relaxing and inviting. On arrival we were treated to a tour around by Laura who couldn't do enough for us. Really enjoyed the chocolate mud experiance. We plan to return again soon. The staff were all very courteous and very well presented. Thanks for making this special.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you so very much for your kind comments; we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were so very lucky, it as my son & his brides wedding 24/4/2014 & the sun shone all day!
From the moment we arrived we had a wonderful time.
The Bride, her sisters & mum stayed the night before & had had a lovely time using the spa facilities.
The day was everything we expected it to be. The breakfast room looked amazing before we all descended into it & the civil ceremony itself was so special & such a happy occasion ( except of course for my lovely granddaughter, Megan, 10,being so overwhelmed with her speech for mum & dad, she couldn't stop crying, not many dry-eyes then - even the grown men!). It couldn't have gone any better.
The wedding breakfast itself was really lovely, many people afterwards commented on how nice it was, there were a lot of young men there with hearty appetites & there was more than enough for all of them. The wedding co-ordinators did an amazing job, as did the young foreign man behind the bar. All the children were well looked after, especially the 3 year old who fell & needed hospital treatment, the staff were very caring & concerned & even offered to pay the taxi back from hospital. All in all it as an absolutely perfect day throughout thanks to all the staff who attended. Only gripe, the bride has told me, was that the disco was booked until 1 o'clock but packed up at 12 instead, a bit naughty. Also her sisters & some of the guests were not given the discount rate for the nights stay, but maybe that will be rectified.
Our room was cosy but a little small, but hey, we didn't intend spending much time in there anyway. All in all a perfect day that none of us wanted to end & a day we would all like to celebrate again in a heartbeat. Thank You!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
It is such a pleasure to receive such kind comments; thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have just had our wedding reception (3/5/14) at The Bridge,my bridesmaids, parents and i stayed the night before the big day, the staff were extremeley accomadating when we asked for a easier access room for mum and dad as there were too many steps for him, they were moved in minutes. The manager of the restaraunt ( sorry but i cant remember his name) was very friendly and chatty and made us all feel at home for our evening meal. The day of the wedding went without any hiccups and the staff who ran the evening reception were outstanding, a special mention to a lady called Jackie who we think was in charge of the evening, she was fab, nothing was too much trouble and she bent over backwards to help us, she genuinely cared about our big day. The rooms were fab. We will definatly be staying again and will highly recommend the hotel and its staff. AMAZING DAY !!!

Room Tip: pay extra for a exculusive room ( bridle suite etc) as they are quieter when there is a party on in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
I am so delighted that your special day was so wonderful, thank you so very much for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My friends and I had another repeat trip to the spa at the Bridge. Previously, we have enjoyed an overnight stay with dinner, bed and breakfast. We find it good value and an ideal place to meet, catch up and have a getaway break. The Murder mystery event nights are good fun and highly recommended. We also managed to find a local walk by the river.
The site is handy to find with ample parking. The food is great and there's always a warm welcome from the staff.
I bet it's also great for a Sunday lunch, beauty treatments and functions.
We will certainly be booking again, as the Bridge Inn is an all round enjoyable place to stay.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was quiet, clean, comfy, welcoming and accessible on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
I am so pleased that you enjoy your regular visits to The Bridge so much; we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had an excellent one night spa break, which included 3 hours in the spa, a 5 course evening meal and breakfast. The food and service were excellent and the staff were very attentive and helpful. The hotel is very conveniently located and a bit different from many of the "formula" hotels. It's definitely worth a visit and for sheer value for money takes some beating.

Room Tip: Probably worth paying a small supplement for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments; we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walshford
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Wetherby
Days Inn Wetherby
#1 of 3 in Wetherby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Wetherby
Mercure Wetherby
#3 of 3 in Wetherby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
5.0 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Collingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
12.7 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridge Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Hotel and Spa

Property: The Bridge Hotel and Spa
Address: Wetherby | North Yorkshire, Walshford, Wetherby LS22 5HS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wetherby > Walshford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walshford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bridge Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bridge is a four star property, in the heart of Yorkshire. This unique independently owned hotel is renowned throughout the area for first class levels of 'Yorkshire Hospitality' and comfort. It is the perfect base for both leisure and business guests and has been recently refurbished throughout to the standard you would expect a First Class Venue to be. Our Spa is the ultimate place to relax and spoil yourself. Unwind in the relaxation lounge after experiencing our thermal suite with Japanese Foot Spas, Mentholyptus Sauna, Aromatherapy Crystal Steam Room and Sensation and Ice Experience Showers, followed by a relaxing soak in our Cedar Wood Hot Tub. The Spa also features treatment rooms, nail bar and make-up area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Bridge Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bridge Hotel Wetherby
Bridge Hotel Wetherby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing