We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandma's birthday afternoon tea.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bridge Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walshford
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Grandma's birthday afternoon tea.”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

After a fabulous spa day with mum and i, we decided to take grandma and my 3 daughters for afternoon tea/ bar food today. Excellent service.. Excellent food.. Excellent price and really nothing more to say! Thank you to the bar man and waitress for being very friendly and welcoming yet again. Perfect afternoon. Thank you. Victoria.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriafnaismith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
I am so delighted that you enjoyed your afternoon tea so much; we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    376
    178
    75
    42
See reviews for
303
593
23
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Bridge overnight after an afternoon in the spa. The spa was very relaxing and the facial for my wife and back and neck massage for myself were excellent. Although the facility is not huge we enjoyed the experience very much. Later in the day we had the Rassul mud treatment which was quite an event!
We stayed in the Elliot Suite which had a sitting room and a jacuzzi bath. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep.
In the restaurant, the food was lovely and the service was excellent. My only complaint is that the restaurant was a little too hot even though the doors were open. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Elliot Suite which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevewild20014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing your spa break with us; I am so pleased that you had such an enjoyable visit. Indeed the rasuel in the spa is wonderful; I am glad you agree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights, the first night our experience was not good, reassured this was a temporary 'hic-up', so stayed for the next day and night. This met and exceeded all our expectations. Service excellent, food amazing, room basic but still luxurious. Time in the spa was relaxing on second day by the evening felt extremely chilled and relaxed. Our comments were welcomed and listened too, thank you to Fran, Lynn and the restaurant manager for listening and making this a wonderful break. Would totally recommend this hotel, restaurant and spa. Close by to my husbands conference and lovely setting for me to relax in during the day. Good for couples or business.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jengar3126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments, I am so pleased that you left us enjoying your visit. I was a pleasure to meet you during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel seems to have been left a bit off the main track since the A1 was rerouted, but the advantage is that there is little noise of passing traffic on the motorway which is far enough away now.
The hotel is popular for weddings etc and seems well equipped to hold such events. Those visiting independently may choose to enquire to avoid these events if possible, as certain areas of the hotel are then taken over/ out of bounds to the normal guest.
The bedroom we had was medium/smallish, but equipped to a good standard, with a nice bathroom, comfortable bed/ bedding, lighting etc. It was located fairly near reception, with a wedding function still underway as we went to bed, but in truth we weren't much disturbed by it.
Breakfast was buffet style with a good selection to a good standard.
Staff friendly and helpful enough.
Pricing on the high side of reasonable for the situation/ facilities/ decor offered.
I would imagine that one problem the hotel has might be finding guests who have a reason to be in the middle of nowhere overnight if not for a function.
WiFi was free, but although we were almost at reception, signal strength was weak and service sporadic.

Room Tip: Try to locate as far as possible away from function rooms, or be at the end of corridors which late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to revierw your visit. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. To be honest we feel that we have a great location, being a couple of miles from the motorway network, 20 mins from York, Harrogate, Leeds & Ripon. There is so much neably for both the leisure & business traveller.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed in above hotel, funky to get since A1 changed route, outside appearance ok, reception area ok, helpful staff, for USA travellers this hotel currently does not take Amex/Diners cards.
Room average condition, prob better value if $80 not the $140 charged.
Tip to cleaning manager, lights in corridors need dusting too!

Tea and coffee facilities in room, and a bath!

Did not eat in or breakfast, but hotel has a couple of restaurants, a spa etc.

Overall average, but pricy if on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. In order to keep out rates as low as we can, we do not accept Amex becasuse of the very high card charges, I am sorry if this caused you any difficulty. All of our rooms have tea & coffee facilities, with a selection of different teas, coffees & biscuits, these are also mentioned within the bedroom information folder in each room. Many thanks for your comments with regards to the lights, I will look into this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Nice and easy to find from the A1, good directions and signs. Plenty of parking but I entered the hotel from the car park via a door directly into the bar and found it hard to find the reception. If I had gone further into the car park you come to the main entrance right next to reception! Had a lunch and later an evening meal in bar. Breakfast was a self service hot/cold buffet with everything you would expect to find. Room was nice, clean and comfortable. Every member of staff I came into contact with, from receptionist, to bar, restaurant and facilities were friendly, polite and helpful. I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for choosing The Bridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We held our wedding day and evening reception here at the end of May and would highly recommend The Bridge, both as a wedding venue and for a normal stay.

Our special day went perfectly – the venue was decorated according to our instructions and the staff were very helpful and professional; they ensured that the day was stress-free and ran smoothly. We didn’t have to worry about anything and that helped us have a wonderful time and enjoy the occasion.

The wedding breakfast was great – the food was spot on and all of our guests commented on how much they enjoyed it.

The evening was also organised really well and everybody had a fantastic time. We had a wonderful hog roast which went down really well – we have found that evening food is often hardly touched at weddings but this wasn’t the case here! The DJ helped make it a great party – he played all of the songs and gave all of the dedications that we asked for, everyone had a brilliant time.

In terms of the hotel itself, we enjoyed visiting here in the run up to our wedding as well as on the day itself – we will make sure to return. The hotel bar is very comfortable (nice place to relax and have a drink) and the food has always been really good. All of our wedding guests enjoyed their stays here and had no complaints with the rooms. The breakfast the day afterwards was lovely too.

Finally, we would just like to thank all of the staff for making our special day so enjoyable, especially June (the wedding planner) who was a great help throughout all of the planning and John, who looked after us so well on the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t-rexx687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
I am so pleased that you felt we looked after you so well on your special day; thank you so much for taking the time to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walshford
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Wetherby
Days Inn Wetherby
#1 of 3 in Wetherby
1,778 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Wetherby
Mercure Wetherby
#3 of 3 in Wetherby
733 reviews
5.0 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Collingham
777 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa
Hazlewood Castle & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hazlewood
783 reviews
12.7 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridge Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Hotel and Spa

Property: The Bridge Hotel and Spa
Address: Wetherby | North Yorkshire, Walshford, Wetherby LS22 5HS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wetherby > Walshford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walshford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bridge Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bridge is a four star property, in the heart of Yorkshire. This unique independently owned hotel is renowned throughout the area for first class levels of 'Yorkshire Hospitality' and comfort. It is the perfect base for both leisure and business guests and has been recently refurbished throughout to the standard you would expect a First Class Venue to be. Our Spa is the ultimate place to relax and spoil yourself. Unwind in the relaxation lounge after experiencing our thermal suite with Japanese Foot Spas, Mentholyptus Sauna, Aromatherapy Crystal Steam Room and Sensation and Ice Experience Showers, followed by a relaxing soak in our Cedar Wood Hot Tub. The Spa also features treatment rooms, nail bar and make-up area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bridge Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bridge Hotel Wetherby
Bridge Hotel Wetherby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing