We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite spot on Malaysia trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Danum Valley Conservation Area
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Borneo Rainforest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Impossible to beat the setting. Deep in the primary rainforest, 2 hours away of from anything but the research centre. The sounds and smells of the forest were great. Although our actual wildlife treks started out relatively disappointing, the second day was fantastic, with a couple of up close and personal encounters with a mother orangutan and her child, as well as 2 adult males. Simply awesome. Just when we thought we wouldn't see any Pygmy elephants we saw them on our drive back out!

Night drive was amazing too, as we saw a civet cat a hundred feet up in a tree and watched a flying squirrel gliding a couple of hundred feet from tree to tree over our heads.

As for the hotel, the main lodge is stunning and airy and the rooms of good quality. We stayed in a standard and it was excellent.

Food was generally of high standard, with fresh made meals of all varieties, from western omelettes to laksa. However, on our last day we noted that a couple of our dinner rolls had mould on them...a victim of the ridiculously high humidity no doubt. Just need to keep an eye out.

The only real pain...literally and figuratively, were the leeches. Good god, on every one of our treks we could literally see them hanging off of countless bushes and leaves trying to catch on to any clothing they could. On the last day after it rained, my son and I literally pulled off 10 each from ourselves over the course of an hour trek. Definitely go with the leech socks and be attentive...they move quick once they're on you.

Great trip notwithstanding. The leeches are just part of the ambience!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ontheblackhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

488 - 494 of 882 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

All aspects of the rainforest lodge were excellent, food, rooms, staff - but for us the highlight were the guided walks. It was a joy to be in the forest with a guide who was so knowledgeable and clearly enjoyed what he was doing. We spent about 8 hours per day of the 4 days we were there out in the forest. I guess if forest waking isn't your thing then you might find this place a little dull - but then, why come?
Our only -extremely minor - niggle was that the margueritas weren't served in a martini glass so you got salt on your nose when you drank one. Considering this place is 2 hours down a logging track from anywhere I'd say that was forgiveable!
Outstanding - can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms with a view are nice if you want the hot tub and view but as we mostly used ours fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freddy_Fruitbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here for a few days on our honeymoon and had a fantastic time. The deluxe room was very comfortable and the bath on the balcony really made it. The food was brilliant and as it was my birthday during our stay they made me a birthday cake which was lovely! The walks were all great and of medium difficulty so very accessible. My birthday was the day we did the full trek and I couldn't have had a nicer day! The guides were polite, knowledgeable and helpful. The main building is gorgeous and there is a very serene atmosphere. We were also lucky enough to spot mother and baby Orangutan at very close range. All in all a very memorable trip!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank The_Bellroys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Book a delux room with the outdoor bath .the lodge was very upmarket and the food excellent. All the staff so polite and helpful .our guide Denny was the best and went out of his way to show us all the wildlife. They did run out of white wine ( the sky film crew had drunk it) so they offered us the prosecco at the same price so we were very happy.
Loved the buffet style food

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank digger186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We did Sapulut adventure and afterwards went to Danum Valley Borneo Rainforest Lodge. I would say that I liked Sapulut adventure more, because it was a real adventure. Borneo Rainforest Lodge was more about luxury and we got plenty of it. We were upgraded to deluxe chalets. And they are really very nice with beautiful river and jungle view and nice bathtub on the terrace. We took a hot bath late in the evening, surrounded by the sounds of the jungle. The whole territory of the lodge was beautiful. Food (3 times a day) was perfect.
Our guide Theo (very nice and professional guy) asked us if we have any special wishes and he did his best to fulfill them. We wanted to see some wildlife, especially orang-utans. Can't say that we were lucky. We saw orang-utans, but very far and high on the tree. We made a walk to the view point, fairy falls and jacuzzi pool, visited to the tree top canopy sky walk. Night drive was unsuccessful (one owl). We saw read leaf monkeys and some birds and very impressive flight of flying squirrel. Nature is really stunning. For us all trails are a little bit too comfortable and you feel like walking in the park, but not in the primary 150 million year old forest. The weather was just perfect. And I have wandered how people can find any leach on those planked trails. It is a good place to relax, but do not expect much of a wildlife.

Room Tip: Take deluxe room if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RimaVilnius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

From the moment we pulled in after the 2.5 hour drive we knew we were in for a special time. The BRL manages to effortlessly combine high class accommodation and service with a breathtaking nature experience. This in our view is a pretty special trick and this place does it very well. We stayed for 3 nights in a deluxe room over looking the river which is probably worth the premium over a standard room. The staff were very efficient and friendly and really looked after us. Some of the lodge staff are also training to become nature guides which is fantastic. The food was really good and the dinning area relaxed and atmospheric - just what you need after a long walk in 35C temperatures and 90% humidity. The nature side of things is very well organised. The groups are kept small and the quality of our guide Farah was exceptional. The animals and plants of the Primary Borneo rainforest sell themselves. Awe inspiring and jaw droppingly beautiful. This combined with the service and accommodation make this an unbeatable package. Raj and Ella - London

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Raj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The moment I found out about Danum Valley I wanted to visit. Borneo Rainforest Lodge is quite pricey, but basically the only accommodation option (except for the Field Center, which is primarily for researchers and very basic), and we considered if we can go, but were eventually happy that we did.

Making the reservation required a bit of effort, since not all emails were answered, but after our booking was confirmed everything went smoothly. We were picked up at our hotel in Lahad Datu promptly at 9 am, transferred to the office and from there we continued towards to lodge. The trip takes 2,5 hours, and is mainly on gravel roads, but during the ride you can spot some wildlife. Our friendly driver pointed out some pig-tailed macaque monkeys and gibbons for us. At the lodge we were warmly greeted, offered cold towels and welcome drinks, and got some information about the program. We were taken to our rooms, and found out that they were spacious and comfortable, with a nice terrace overlooking the river. There was also a big bathtub and a small sofa on the terrace. Then we met our guide, who asked us if we have any special wishes for the next few days. I told him that we would like to see orang-utans in the wild, and when we went for our afternoon walk, he told us that some had been spotted and took us there. Our guides were very professional and could provide us with a lot of information about the flora and fauna.

During our 3D/2N stay we made one longer walk to the view point, fairy falls and jacuzzi pool, one morning visit to the tree top canopy sky walk, which was beautiful, one night drive and one night drive, and two other shorter walks. We did see read leaf monkeys and orang-utans and some birds, like hornbills, as well, and on our way back to Lahad Datu even the pygmy elephant! During the night walks we could spot some frogs, leopard cats, mouse deers etc. However, the animals aren't the only reason to visit, the nature is just incredible, with the trees reaching sky high. The sound of the grass hoppers and birds, and sometimes the falling rain, make a perfect soundscape for a good nights sleep.

The food served at the lodge was simply amazing. They provide breakfast, lunch and dinner. There was always many varieties of fresh fruit available, salads, all kinds of meat, fish and vegetarian dishes available, as well as a chef who was making for example grilled food, burgers, omelettes and pasta on the spot. Everything was beautifully displayed as well and they always brought out more if something ended.

All in all, the experience was memorable, with the beautiful nature, some exciting wildlife and the comforts and treats of the lodge after a long day of trekking.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kahki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Borneo Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Rainforest Lodge

Address: Danum Valley Conservation Area 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Danum Valley Conservation Area
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Danum Valley Conservation Area
Price Range: £144 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Borneo Rainforest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A low density Jungle Lodge with 31 Twin Sharing Chalets located in the largest Conservation Area in Sabah which is home to 275 species of birds, 110 species of mammals & one of the oldest virgin rainforest in the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borneo Rainforest Hotel Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing