We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Danum Valley Conservation Area
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Borneo Rainforest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Saltaire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was the highlight of our trip to Borneo. The lodge itself was great (we weren't bothered by the lack of air con - it was amazing how they have these lodges set up to keep cool without it - and it's surely better to acclimatise and reduce carbon emissions at the same time?). Our guide Azmil was fantastic, really knowledgeable and fun to spend time with. We saw Orang utans on 4 separate occasions while we were here. The guides have a great system where they will alert each other to what they have spotted so they can lead you there. We saw an amazing array of animals (a sleeping flying lemur and incredibly well camouflaged horned toad to name two that we would have completely missed without Azmil pointing them out!), and possibly got growled at by a clouded leopard on the night walk...

This lodge is more expensive than some of the others, but if you're going all the way to Borneo you will really miss out if you don't go for it - it was worth every penny for the experience and the memories. We booked our tour through Borneo Adventure who were really helpful and efficient.

We were also impressed by the quality and range of food on the buffet here - we were a bit worried about what the standard would be but we were very impressed - plenty of local food to try, but also a whole range of cuisines from other parts of the world if you preferred.

If you're thinking of going - just do it, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    126
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
133
460
53
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
259 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My Gosh I have never perspired so much yet appreciatsd what a rainforest jungle in its magnificence is really like. I know there is no air con but the eco part of their philosophy would demand that. The establishment was well designed .We had a deluxe cabin with a bath on the balcony overlooking the river and very industrious flocks of bee eaters. What a reward after a physically trying 4 hr trek.I soaked and marvelled at the birdlife which this place is famous for. The quality of the Camera eqjipment one sees with fellow guests is astounding.There is a formal quality about this lodge, there is the rule no footwear top level but this doesn't deter the many groups of bird watchers that can be observed in their own various formalities...a real education.
The staff were attentive and formal. Seeing female guides passionate about wildlufe Nd the future of the rainforest was a delight. They freely shared their knowledge. The treks, the canopy walk and the wildlife are the specialities. No pain without gain..I wouldn't missed it,

Room Tip: You can't beat a veranda with a large bath if you are a 'soaker'
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marshfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I know I'm repeating others but the Borneo Rainforest Lodge doesn't have air-conditioning and this is a compromise you will need to make. Everywhere else we stayed had air conditioning and it's surprising somewhere so hot and humid doesn't. I struggled to sleep for the two nights we were there as it was too hot and humid in the room and there is nothing you can do about it.
You have to have all the windows and doors shut or the room fills with insects.

My recommendation is to take one of the deluxe river view rooms with the "hot tub". I know it sounds crazy but you can then fill it with cold water and re-adjust your body temperature after walking activities. Once you've done this the humidity doesn't feel too bad for a while but there is no air-conditioned area for relaxation. You eat outside so your whole experience will be very hot and humid - when you've walked up to the "View Point" and back what you really want is a nice cool room to relax in, what you've got is a super hot room.

That being said the activities were great. The wildlife is usually high up in the canopy so probably worth taking binoculars (we did). You're pretty assured of seeing an Orang Utan as there are so many researchers of Orang Utans they can let the lodge know when they have one nearby and accessible. You really are staying in the rainforest so activities and mainly for the fit and active. We did three walks over the two night stay and were weary after the "View Point" walk, mainly due to the heat and humidity.

There were people staying there who were quite elderly or with very young children and I'm not sure what activities they could participate in - you really need to be walking on the trails away from the lodge into the rainforest for most animal sightings.

The trip to / from the lodge is a long two and a half hours on gravel roads though on the way back we did see two baby leopard cubs playing in the middle of the road.

Animal sightings were good: Flying Squirrels, Red Leaf Monkeys, Orang Utan, Gibbon
Bird Sightings were poor: We'd just come from Kimbutangan River and there's no comparison.

Room Tip: Would I recommend it? Yes but it really is a challenge for the North European to enjoy the const...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MycroftAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We did a 3D2N stay in a deluxe villa and had an amazing time. It is definitely a journey to get there, but was well worth it. The location, the rooms and the staff were incredible. Our guide was friendly, enthusiastic and knowledgeable and managed to find the animals we were keen on seeing. The two things that stuck with us after the trip were the setting and the staff. The location is truly beautiful and the staff were incredibly friendly and prepared amazing food for every meal. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed every minute of our stay. We did, of course, a variety of hikes and enjoyed the bird knowledge of our guide. The outdoors tub on the deck is a very nice touch. The food is outstanding and to find this type of pampering here was unexpected but very, very welcome.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LovetotravelAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limpsfield
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Not wishing to repeat things from other reviews but here are some tips
Have a deluxe room. You need the cold tub after a walk

Leech sock are unnecessary. Ordinary socks tucked into trousers did just as well. Easy to pull them off.

We had a private guide as we didn't want to walk up the hill to the view point but take more time to watch the wildlife especially Orang-utans, Gibbons and monkeys. There is much to see walking on the flat and with the humidity it is easier.

Take a good pair of binoculars. More important than a camera.

Food was excellent and drinks at reasonable prices.

We had a great time and saw so much including a cat leopard, orang-utans, monkeys of many types, squirrels, hornbills, eagles, and a host of other things.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank limpsfieldloafers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

During the four day, three night stay in this tremendous place I expected to want to be out searching for flora and fauna every minute of the day. What I didn't expect was the quality of the accommodation which made relaxing on the porch, looking out towards the river and forest plus listening to the amazing sounds so appealing. I stayed in Deluxe room number 9 facing the river. It was perfect in every way (do remember you are not in a City though). I awoke to the sounds of Gibbons protecting their territories, watched bee eaters all day long and saw and heard the Hornbills off to roost as the sun set. The guided walks were excellent. I saw a family of orang-utans but my personal favourite was flying squirrels soaring strait at us as we stood on the top of the tree-top walkway. The quality, quantity and variety of the food is excellent (I am vegetarian). It's an expensive option to stay here but the memory lives on.

Room Tip: They are more expensive but I would recommend the Deluxe room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danum Valley Conservation Area
82.7 mi away
Selingan Turtle Island
Selingan Turtle Island
#1 of 1 in Pulau Selingan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kinabatangan Sunshine Lodge
0.0 mi away
Proboscis Lodge Bukit Melapi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Rainforest Lodge

Property: Borneo Rainforest Lodge
Address: Danum Valley Conservation Area 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Danum Valley Conservation Area
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Danum Valley Conservation Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Borneo Rainforest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A low density Jungle Lodge with 31 Twin Sharing Chalets located in the largest Conservation Area in Sabah which is home to 275 species of birds, 110 species of mammals & one of the oldest virgin rainforest in the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borneo Rainforest Hotel Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing