We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“authentic russian cuisine!”
Review of Russian Hut - CLOSED

Russian Hut
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Cuisines: European, Russian, Ukrainian, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Russian Hut - 1st Restaurant of Russian and Eastern European cuisine on the Island! Russian Hut - A Piece Of Russia in MAURITIUS! The name tells it ALL - this is THE ONLY place on the Island with the predominant spirit of Eastern Europe - mainly Russia and Ukriane. First Russian restaurant in Mauritius! "Russian Hut" is a great place to eat, combining an genuine atmosphere of Russian and Ukrainian traditional heart welcoming with excellent, interesting food and drinks. The mission is not only to have great tasting food, but have efficient and friendly service because customer satisfaction is paramount. Very nice and cosy outside terrace gives it a special addition. Russian, Ukrainian, Belorussian and other ex-USSR dishes are the base, but our MENU overall is very much European and infused for the local taste as well. We are designed for large companies and great venue for events. Very comfortable kids corner which give them maximum comfort (as well as for parents, LoL). Our MENU is very balanced with great variety to offer for both vegetarian and non-veg guests. From the typical Russian to European and Mauritian style, with fish, veg and/or seafood plates.
Tamarin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“authentic russian cuisine!”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Me and my little family absolutely loved the Russian Hut restaurant. I'm russian and i sooo missed my native cuisine here, on Mauritius. So, when i finally had a chance to get to Grand Baie, i was happy to pop in the HUT. The food was just what we, russian people, eat every day, the same goes for the drinks. The service was really good and the owners were always there to help and advice us on their specials. i was happy to introduce russian food to my husband, who is Dutch. And he fell in love with it, pelmeni are his favourites now. our little girl (who is less than two) had a great time there as well, the kids' corner kept her busy all the time :)) So, we are definitely will return there when we have a chance.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elvira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga_Russian_Hut, Owner at Russian Hut, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Elvira! Thank you so much for the kind words and the feedback. Looking forward to host you again and hope to see your little one in a Russian language class next year if you plan. So far she can just enjoy the kid’s corner and play :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    7
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Russian Hut - the only one in Mauritius”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We had a chance visiting Russian Hut not long after its opening. We were fascinated by the authentic Russian interior, delicious Eastern European dishes and, of course, vodka-based cocktails :-) The service is very friendly, we also enjoyed a live music evening (great singer!). This is definitely a must-see in Mauritius for all Europeans and everyone, who wants to experience Russia this far away.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VidasD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton L, Investor at Russian Hut, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Always a pleasure to hear the guests enjoyed the place that is designed for receiving positive emotions and good memories. Happy to see you any time again when you are back to this great Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Russian Hut = Russina Brilliance in Grand Baie!!”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I had the priviledge of visiting Grand Baie a week ago and stumbled upon the RUSSIAN HUT restaurant, Royal Road, Pointe Aux Canonniers (main road leading into Grand Baie). What an excellent suprise that visit was!! Stunning decor, authentic and excellently prepared Siberian cuisine (the Borsh is to die for!), top notch authentic Russian Vodka (the REAL thing, my favorite being Black Sea!!) Owners Anton and Olga Leshchenko really go out of their way to make you feel welcome, serve you personally and their attention to detail makes dining there a truely wonderful experience. Let Anton explain to you how to drink Vodka the right way - it's quite an education and you'll never consider buying anything else than the real thing again! The ground floor dining area is called St Peterburg and upstairs is called Moscow. Both areas have incredibly beautiful murals of said cities and one really feels that a little piece of Russia landed on the island. IT IS A MUST GO TO RESTAURANT and I will definately visit them more than once on my next trip to Mauritius. Mark Anthony, Cape Town, South Africa.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton L, Investor at Russian Hut, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Hope you had a safe trip to SA. Thank you very much for the kind words and come back! There are many tasty items on the menu which you have not yet tries and of course iced cold Russian vodka is always served!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Russian Hut also viewed

Pointe aux Canonniers, Grand Baie
Pointe aux Canonniers, Grand Baie
 
Pointe aux Canonniers, Grand Baie
Pointe aux Canonniers, Grand Baie
 
Pointe aux Canonniers, Grand Baie
Pointe aux Canonniers, Grand Baie
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing