We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”
Review of Russian Hut - CLOSED

Russian Hut
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Cuisines: European, Russian, Ukrainian, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Russian Hut - 1st Restaurant of Russian and Eastern European cuisine on the Island! Russian Hut - A Piece Of Russia in MAURITIUS! The name tells it ALL - this is THE ONLY place on the Island with the predominant spirit of Eastern Europe - mainly Russia and Ukriane. First Russian restaurant in Mauritius! "Russian Hut" is a great place to eat, combining an genuine atmosphere of Russian and Ukrainian traditional heart welcoming with excellent, interesting food and drinks. The mission is not only to have great tasting food, but have efficient and friendly service because customer satisfaction is paramount. Very nice and cosy outside terrace gives it a special addition. Russian, Ukrainian, Belorussian and other ex-USSR dishes are the base, but our MENU overall is very much European and infused for the local taste as well. We are designed for large companies and great venue for events. Very comfortable kids corner which give them maximum comfort (as well as for parents, LoL). Our MENU is very balanced with great variety to offer for both vegetarian and non-veg guests. From the typical Russian to European and Mauritian style, with fish, veg and/or seafood plates.
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The food, while different is nothing special. The RODENT that RAN ACROSS THE FLOOR while our wiatress was taking our order also didn't help. When we mentioned it, describing it as a mouse, we were told that it was a shrew (still a rodent I think).

When we asked about the 600 rupee special for three courses that was advertised on the entry way board, the waitress had to check to see if it was still "available". We had 4 cocktails and a cup of coffee as well.

The bill came to over 3100 rupees including a service charge (which was not mentioned on the menu or anywhere else. EXPENSIVE compared to other restuarant jewels on this beautiful island.

I think we will stick with the creole food from now on!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga_Russian_Hut, Владелец at Russian Hut, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Carrane

As promissed I investigated with the Team everything for the night you have being to Russian Hut.
You did saw a shrew, which ran from the outside through the terrace exit. Sorry that this shocked you. We have all the best sanitary precaustions and beyond inside the restaurant but as the door was opened to the terrace this allowed shrew to quickly ran inside for a short period of time. Our restaurant is pets friendly with the outside terrace, thus outside we are very careful with the poison and solutions which might hurt bigger animals.

On the pricing, we do not have any other extra charges than VAT, which is 15% standard and mentioned in the menu. All our drinks prices include VAT. I was glad to hear that you liked cocktails a lot, which is a very simple secret that is not a secret any more - we only serve pure organic Russian and Ukrainian vodkas and all the vodka based cocktails taste differently and the prices for cocktail menu are very competitive.

Unfortunately, the advertisment outside was done for the specialty to be started from the weekend and it was the night before the special menu thus the waitress had to double check with the kitchen.

We wish you best stay in Mauritius and you are more than welcome as I mentioned to stop by any time for a cocktail, shot of good vodka or in combination with good dinner to have with both.

Best regards,
Olga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

Me and my little family absolutely loved the Russian Hut restaurant. I'm russian and i sooo missed my native cuisine here, on Mauritius. So, when i finally had a chance to get to Grand Baie, i was happy to pop in the HUT. The food was just what we, russian people, eat every day, the same goes for the drinks. The service was really good and the owners were always there to help and advice us on their specials. i was happy to introduce russian food to my husband, who is Dutch. And he fell in love with it, pelmeni are his favourites now. our little girl (who is less than two) had a great time there as well, the kids' corner kept her busy all the time :)) So, we are definitely will return there when we have a chance.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Elvira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga_Russian_Hut, Owner at Russian Hut, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear Elvira! Thank you so much for the kind words and the feedback. Looking forward to host you again and hope to see your little one in a Russian language class next year if you plan. So far she can just enjoy the kid’s corner and play :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We had a chance visiting Russian Hut not long after its opening. We were fascinated by the authentic Russian interior, delicious Eastern European dishes and, of course, vodka-based cocktails :-) The service is very friendly, we also enjoyed a live music evening (great singer!). This is definitely a must-see in Mauritius for all Europeans and everyone, who wants to experience Russia this far away.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank VidasD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton L, Investor at Russian Hut, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Always a pleasure to hear the guests enjoyed the place that is designed for receiving positive emotions and good memories. Happy to see you any time again when you are back to this great Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I had the priviledge of visiting Grand Baie a week ago and stumbled upon the RUSSIAN HUT restaurant, Royal Road, Pointe Aux Canonniers (main road leading into Grand Baie). What an excellent suprise that visit was!! Stunning decor, authentic and excellently prepared Siberian cuisine (the Borsh is to die for!), top notch authentic Russian Vodka (the REAL thing, my favorite being Black Sea!!) Owners Anton and Olga Leshchenko really go out of their way to make you feel welcome, serve you personally and their attention to detail makes dining there a truely wonderful experience. Let Anton explain to you how to drink Vodka the right way - it's quite an education and you'll never consider buying anything else than the real thing again! The ground floor dining area is called St Peterburg and upstairs is called Moscow. Both areas have incredibly beautiful murals of said cities and one really feels that a little piece of Russia landed on the island. IT IS A MUST GO TO RESTAURANT and I will definately visit them more than once on my next trip to Mauritius. Mark Anthony, Cape Town, South Africa.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton L, Investor at Russian Hut, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Hope you had a safe trip to SA. Thank you very much for the kind words and come back! There are many tasty items on the menu which you have not yet tries and of course iced cold Russian vodka is always served!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

1  Thank Maud1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Russian Hut also viewed

Pointe aux Canonniers, Grand Baie
Pointe aux Canonniers, Grand Baie
 
Pointe aux Canonniers, Grand Baie
Pointe aux Canonniers, Grand Baie
 
Pointe aux Canonniers, Grand Baie
Pointe aux Canonniers, Grand Baie
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing