We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Mauritius”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A hotel is really good. Moreover Kevin from the reception desk is the best. Very talkative and nice. You can always count for his help. Also animation team is very good. They keep entertaining us all day. Specially one of them.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConnieClaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

641 - 647 of 3,792 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

We went there last weekend with some friends to relax and cool down. The atmosphere there is so peaceful that it makes you forget about the rest of the world. The food is excellent and there is a variety of dishes offered. We spent most of our time by the pool chillaxing under the sun. The Staffs are very friendly and helpful, however the rooms need to be modernised. Will definitely go back mostly for the food and peaceful atmosphere! :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Venida V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

very good hotel to stay . it was not my first trip there. ALWAYS well received. Fantastic places with good atmosphere. Good quality foods. Friendly staff and all workers. Will return again without doubt.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jean marie y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Le Cannonier is situated on a peninsula, giving access to different beaches. The resort reminds one of an era way back in history. Expansive outdoor areas gives you the freedom to spend hours outdoors, sunning, swimming and walking. The rooms are beginning to look a bit tired, yet they are comfortable.
Hotel staff are friendly and obliging. As we we were there to celebrate a 60th birthday, management allowed us to use a restaurant that was usually closed on a Monday(day of the birthday.

Eleven of us spent a week there on full board. Great, varied menu - the chef met the vegetarians in our party and designed personal menus for them. Much of our time was spent eating, chatting and drinking. Unlimited house wines, beer and local spirits (for both lunch and dinner are part of the package. Outside the meal hours, the drinks above, including cocktails are available from 10 am onwards.

No wifi in the rooms but wifi is available in hotspots in the public areas.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are great. Choose one on the ground floor so that you can walk out from your rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 45Satisfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

It was fantastic. Had a great time over there to celebrate my sister's birthday. Friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful Cuisine. Great Location. Helpful coaches for archery and water sports. We will definitely spend our next holidays over there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sameya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

It wasa great place to meet good friends from all over the world. The spread they put up for New years eve was just spectacular. A beautiful place, bjt our air con didn't work, and yoh need it in Mauritius. Once again, the day on the ocean was spectacular

Room Tip: It's the luck of tbe draw. But you can ask to be moved
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TaschKretzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Having scanned literally every review for Le Canonnier before we went, I felt I had to leave our impression of the place.

Amazing, fantastic, paradise! We were a group of 2 adults and 2 teenagers (aged 15 and 16). Le Canonnier is out of this world. We ate at all the restaurants during our 15 days here and the food was fantastic. ALL staff were soooo attentive and made you feel so special and that nothing was too much trouble - we really felt like royalty!

We had booked a garden facing family room but were upgraded on arrival to 2 sea view rooms next door to each other, so the girls had their own space but knew we were only next door. This was brilliant and the view was magnificient. The girls were off every day doing water sports, archery or tennis and also sunbathing. We had our nice quiet 'morning spot' overlooking the sea just above the boathouse. Then for a pre-lunch coffee (or cocktail sometimes!) then our afternoon spot ranged from being by the pool, on one of the 3 beaches, in the bar or on one of the beautiful comfy sofas in what I like to think of as 'my terrace'.

The inhouse band were brilliant and we rarely heard the same song twice. The entertainment went on for about an hour while the band had a break and was really good. The waiters knew what we were drinking and brought drinks over for us automatically.

Literally this place was paradise and we are definitely saving up to return in a couple of years.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Tomo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe aux Canonniers
1.8 mi away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
5.8 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,934 reviews
2 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,898 reviews
1.7 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
24 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Royal Road, Pointe aux Canonniers, Grand Baie, Mauritius 30522 (Formerly Beachcomber Le Canonnier Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie > Pointe aux Canonniers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pointe aux Canonniers
Price Range: £157 - £519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trendy family resort in Mauritius One of the best family resorts in Mauritius, Le Canonnier stands proudly above the coastline on a historic peninsula. Le Canonnier enhances the authentic Mauritian atmosphere with commanding views over the northern islands and sparkling Indian Ocean, lush tropical gardens dotted with cascading pools and a string of secluded creeks. Bearing testimony to the island's historical past are ruins of a lighthouse and fortress blending seamlessly into the tropical gardens. A wide variety of land and water sports is on offer. A unique feature of the resort is its wellness centre built in the branches of a banyan tree where therapists soothe body and mind. The hotel is also known for its unique mini-club housed in an ancient lighthouse. Guests can select the optional "Beachcomber All-Inclusive Package" which covers most food and drinks for complete peace of mind during their holidays in Mauritius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Canonnier Hotel Pointe Aux Cannoniers
Le Canonnier Pointe Aux Cannoniers
Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa Mauritius/Pointe Aux Canonniers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing