We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful.”
Review of Beach Crab Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Crab Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pangani
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I've been here a few times and have already planned to come again. You can camp if you bring your own tent for peanuts or the tents are les than USD 20 pppn. And when I say tent - I really mean a proper walled, roofed building with electicrity, lighting, a safe and a mossie net. I've stayed in the bandas too and they're a more luxury version of the tent but with the awesomeness that is a hot shower. The breakfast is delicious, in fact all the food is delicious. One night we gathered wood on the beach and built a bonfire and it was wonderful to stargaze - I saw 3 shooting stars. The snorkelling trip to Maziwe Marine Reserve is worth the money - so beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

We camped for $6 pppn. The camp-site is right on the beach under ample shade, with beautiful sunrises in the mornings. The ablution is clean, but showers are salt water. I would recommend taking fresh water along for drinking and rinsing. Also take along insect repellent (coils work best) for mosquitos at dusk and sand fleas.

We made our own breakfast and lunch (no barbecue facilities though) and had a delicious three course dinner at night at $15 pp. The restaurant setting is beautiful with a nice vibe.

The beach is beautiful and one can walk for kilometers on white sand. There is a lot of seaweed wash-up, but I think it adds charm. It is advisable not to walk in skimpy clothes when passing local villages, especially during Ramadan, as locals might find it offensive.

All in all definitely worth a visit!

Room Tip: Regarding camping - there is enough shade to go camp anywhere on the site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EsmeHarris2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is a place to totally escape the rat race , kick of your shoes , go walking , take part in water sports ., do nothing , eat well , sleep comfortably and most of all RELAX .

I spent two separate one night stays in this lovely place and would have loved to stay longer.

The owners and staff are friendly and helpful .

Breakfast is huge ..and they served some of the best coffee and food i have had in my whole trip to Tanzania.

Stayed in beach bungalow 3 and 4 .

Only one very small point..the water pressure to the shower room in both bungalows was almost non existent ..Fix that and things are perfect.

Shall add photos later.

The prices are not cheap but offer good value for money .

Access is via rough road from Tanga to Pangani .

I shall be back in 2015 .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PENANGMARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Despite being stung by a scorpion right in front of the resort, I can't recommend this place highly enough. Firstly, I have to start with probably the best breakfasts I have ever had (including homemade bread rolls & jams) the charming staff and owners, the peace & quiet, the reasonable prices and the superb & innovative dinners. The rooms are lovely, and even if the showers are poor and lack of WiFi surprising, they are minor issues in a resort that is doing everything right, day after day. My advice - do not miss the chance to stay in this place.

Room Tip: The pricier cottages are worth paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sodafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Absolutely happy to stay in such a friendly hotel, located so close to the beautiful Indian Ocean :-) The staff is very polite and the cuisine more than excellent with a lot of variations of food. There are many opportunities to do at the beach crab resort: like snorkel trip, Masai walk, bush walk and my favorite was to see some turtles hatching … so cute !
It's a very friendly and nice family who owns this resort, they even offer voluntary work besides their 35 local employees, which all seem to be happy with the chance Alex & Sonja give to them. There is nothing more to say than I was totally lost in African paradise for a few days.
I felt very safe at beach crab: they have night watchers and two african dogs protecting all guests.
Absolutely a place to go !

Room Tip: Coconut bungalow 7 is the most beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

When you arrive and park there are two large German bred dogs enclosed in a fence where the German family lives…they are loud and aggressive. I have lived and travelled in Africa for 5 years and have never dealt with such rude inflexible owners of an establishment. It is inexpensive, but you pay..only heavily salted shows and water…and mediocre food..everything is about cutting costs here..also there are sea urchins in the water in on their beach…one more downside..If you want flexibility I suggest you go down the road to Emayani Beach Club. They pay their staff who are very kind and hospitable. Beach Crab uses primarily young volunteers to do their work from Germany. Thus, not supporting the economy and job growth in Tanzania.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Elizabeth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex B, Inhaber at Beach Crab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Elisabeth from Nairobi, thank you for your surprising comment. It is interesting that you judge that we are rude and inflexible as we did not meet personally. Furthermore it is interesting that you express your obvious aversion to us and our place on Tripadvisor as you did not stay here over night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

An absolutely wonderful relaxing experience. The staff were really helpful and friendly, the "tents" were more like bungalows, and they were really nice too. The food was good, and the kitchen staff were nice. The snorkling was also fun, maybe a little expensive, but you get to visit a beautiful reef off a tiny sandbar that feels very untouched.

Its a short walk down the beach from a very small town- Ushongo- but otherwise there isnt much in the area. Getting out there from Tanga took about 3 hours (but our bus made a TON of stops, and then the ferry takes some time also). Once you're there it seems much better/easier/more relaxing to stay at the camp- especially because the food is great and reasonably priced and the beach is absolutely beautiful. A really great relaxing vacation spot!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twendesasa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangani
18.9 mi away
Peponi Beach Resort
Peponi Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Tanga
162 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Tides Lodge
The Tides Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pangani
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nyinda Respective Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Drifters Lodge
Drifters Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pangani
26 reviews
5.8 mi away
Pangani Cliffs Lodge
Pangani Cliffs Lodge
#5 of 11 in Pangani
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Emayani Beach Lodge
Emayani Beach Lodge
#4 of 11 in Pangani
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Crab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Crab Resort

Address: Ushongo Beach, Pangani, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Tanga Region > Pangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pangani
Price Range: £30 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Beach Crab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Crab Hotel Tanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing